Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,954 ratings
3,794 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

DS
Nov 19, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

BS
Jul 5, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

Filter by:

3651 - 3675 of 3,765 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Simone K

Nov 18, 2015

Informative and clearly structured course. However, its content is aimed at professional project managers - useful but not exactly what I was looking for !

By Miguel D

Feb 25, 2020

I suggest update content media and incorporate material to create a toolkit for students. Benchmark vs. Linkedin learn PM course which I consider great.

By Luciana

Oct 22, 2020

Good and diversified resources such as videos, lectures, etc.

Exams could be more challenging and the optional eventually readings included as e-books.

By Reeve C

Aug 19, 2020

Reading materials were detailed but can cause information overload if the presentations are to be presented alone without discussion of instructor

By Yoni D

May 6, 2017

Content is good and qualitative. But lack of real assignments beyond quiz, applying this knowledge to use case, and having peer reviews for it.

By Alice L

Mar 20, 2020

Please add exercise for a real-life project scenario that I can work on. This course has many pieces of information but no practice.

By Jonathan O

Apr 11, 2020

This is great. The manner in which so much details are compressed in a few lessons running over a short duration is impressive.

By Aghyad A

May 18, 2020

It is a good course for beginners. The exercises that include imagining could be changed with something else more proactive.

By Paolo L

Jun 8, 2016

Pros: Very clear explanations, useful slides for PMP preparation.

Cons: Very easy questions and exams. Not challenging at all

By Daniel R G

Jul 10, 2020

El material dado es claro y de alta calidad. Sin embargo los videos y los casos de estudio podrían ser mayores y mejores

By Muhammad F

Sep 6, 2020

This course enhanced my knowledge about initiating a project and how to plan it and get success in your projects

By I K

May 12, 2019

Although I understand it was a beginners course, it was far too easy. I finished the entire course in 3/4 hours.

By Ran F

Feb 5, 2018

Good course for novices. Not enough new stuff for people have some experience in projects, formally, informally.

By Lauren N

Apr 6, 2016

I would have liked to had more relevant examples of how to apply the concepts learned to real life scenarios.

By Deniss �

Jan 20, 2021

project should be changed tosuch what explain strongly HOW to write for example DOCUMENTS and how to govern.

By Dikshant P

May 1, 2020

Course can be further detailed and digged dipper to understand the concepts explained in the video lectures.

By Tanvi S

May 4, 2020

The exercises should have examples which we can solve because as students we don't have many to work with.

By Jingzhou ( L

Mar 26, 2020

The pattern of the course was too repetitive. There was not detailed feedback on the questions of the quiz.

By Filipa M

Dec 19, 2019

It is a very good introduction to Project Management, but very simple. I would say only for very begginers.

By Hanna P

Jan 16, 2016

test questions far too easy

slide show lessons not well structured and too focussed on repetetive concepts

By Lorenzo M F F

Jun 17, 2020

The lessons were really informative, however, I wish the structure of the lessons were more organized

By Stephanie G

Apr 3, 2020

If you're right brained it's very hard to get and stay into. That said, the information was helpful.

By Aadib K

Jun 16, 2017

Video lectures contains too many definitions requiring too much to pause while viewing the video.

By Tathagat K

Sep 8, 2020

The conecepts are difficult to understand because of the difficult language used in the course.

By Rushi

Jul 3, 2020

It helps get your feet wet. Also, I like the professor. She's enthusiastic about the material.