Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
10,554 ratings
2,047 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

OU

Mar 27, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

DS

Nov 20, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

Filter by:

1626 - 1650 of 2,025 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Peppino P

Feb 28, 2017

Nice basic course of project management, with basic to medium level information. Good introduction to the subject if you follow the whole specialization.

By KAGGA S

May 22, 2016

the course was nice and clear in all ways through to the end and the videos really give you a clearer picture of what is to be covered.

I was so grateful.

By Moncef S

Nov 01, 2016

lack of organization, most of the course is readings, lack of case studies, acceptable in general, one of the rare courses in project management anyway

By Dan B

May 31, 2018

I would give it 5 stars but I had an issue with the final exam and had to take it 5 times before it stopped throwing errors. Otherwise a great course.

By Patricia S O

Apr 12, 2020

Good as a touchbase course on Project management. Too much time spend on conflicto resolution vs other skills Sucha as managing costs or deliveravles

By Aline P T G

Oct 06, 2019

The only comment I have is regarding the week 4. I've got confused sometimes. I read, read again but I think need more examples to understand better.

By Shaun C

Apr 18, 2020

the power point slide buttons are slightly off so you have to pay attention to when clicking the interactive lessons. Otherwise a great intro course

By Amit Y

Apr 07, 2018

Loved the learning and tools described and clear definitions of the scenarios arising and their respective handling. Very helpful for any manager.

By Matthew K

Jun 02, 2016

Naturally, I found this section more difficult than the previous courses. I still suggested this to other coworkers, subordinates and supervisors.

By Hasan K

May 27, 2016

I like this coruse and I hope to allow downloading the lessons "PDF" for the students to get more benefits and to save these lessons as References

By Jose R L

May 16, 2016

Very interesting approach to the Project Manager world. Even if you have already some experience this course allows you to have a different view.

By CHANDRA P

Apr 02, 2020

Easy to understand concepts on PROJECT MANAGEMENT. Best for all LEVEL of professionals who wish to enhance their knowledge on Project Management

By Carlos J B A

Jun 08, 2018

Es un gran curso. Me ha ayudado a mejorar mis conocimientos con respecto a planear proyectos para aplicarlos a mi vida personal y profesional.

By Marco G

Jul 31, 2017

I enjoyed the course, I like the lessons and the material. Easy to understand and good real life examples of what you face managing projects.

By Павел М

Aug 25, 2016

Thank interestny course, get for yourself a new required information, a mild form of lessons .Moya difficulty only in translation. Thank you.

By Marie-capucine B

Jul 16, 2019

Some terms are used before ever being defined. I wish there had been some exploration of the actual online platform and tools, such as Jira.

By Laura B

Sep 07, 2016

Well-structured lessons, comprehensively covers planning & initiation stages of project management. The quizzes felt a little easy at times!

By Enrique M C M

Jul 12, 2018

Very easy to understand the basic concepts and not at all dull. Bonus videos could be better quality and more structured, but they are good

By Ashna S N

May 12, 2020

Good Course for beginners. Easy case studies. But there should be more videos than reading content. Overall, would recommend this course.

By Jorge O

Nov 11, 2015

It's a very interesting course in order to get a overview about all processes involved in project management and how important they are.

By Francisco E F J

Apr 27, 2020

It is a good beginner course. However, I wish they had more and better exercises and quizzes to test our understanding of key concepts.

By Scott P

May 30, 2019

The course was great and informing. I would like to see when you answer something wrong on a quiz/final that it show you the correct an

By GIORGASHVILI,Paata

Feb 05, 2019

The course was quite interesting with some practical cases. Could be much productive if become more comprehensive. Thank you very much.

By Alhassan H

Oct 07, 2016

Great Course...Advise it for new people in project management world. Exercises could be better (putting scenarios or simulators...etc)

By Meenakshi B

Oct 16, 2016

I liked how the course focused on key concepts only, and kept out unnecessary information. The quizzes could have been more difficult.