Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
15,195 ratings
2,932 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

BS

Jul 06, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

OU

Mar 27, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

Filter by:

2326 - 2350 of 2,897 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By amit m

May 20, 2016

A very brief and compact course. I would really like it more if even the tools and techniques are introduced in between inputs and outputs. otherwise course was very useful for beginners like me.

Thank you

By Arsalan

Jul 31, 2020

It was a good course to initiate the project planning and management but needs more work on the exercise and final exam. As all of the final exam questions were already done in the individual weekly exam.

By Stephen R

Oct 12, 2015

This course was tremendously helpful for someone who, like myself, may have a background in planning but was never taught a formal approach to it. It really was a pleasant surprise to find this course.

By ANIMESH A

May 31, 2020

Superb way of explaining, courses materials are concise and to the point and the panelist videos are also awesome-It would be more better though if you add a hands on project with this also at the end

By Doug S

Jan 22, 2017

I think out of all the options for learning about project management and eventually to pass the PMI, this ranks near the top. There is certainly room for improvement, but overall a reasonable approach.

By DUSHIME J

Oct 25, 2016

I really got hooked throughout this course. I loved the idea of expert panelist at the end of course. I have much confidence to apply this knowledge in the real world. Looking forward to other courses!

By Mudassir G

Feb 25, 2017

Great course. Teaches you a lot of new things related to Project management. Only issue I faced was the flow and how it fits together. A quick summary of all week courses in the end goes extra mile.

By CHETAN P

Aug 02, 2020

It was great way to start the journey to the Certification. The videos were very good. I feel the reading requires more depth and probably more case studies for better understanding of the subject.

By Ingerid M

May 19, 2020

Would have liked to have known about the additional books required to buy to fully understand the course. The instructor never really gives an overview and the flash lessons should be downloadable.

By snigdha j

May 02, 2016

The syllabus is carefully structured. Well defined topics and the content is very well written and easy to understand. As a beginner I had absolutely no problem whatsoever in completing the course.

By Graeme R

Jul 14, 2017

Great initiation into what is a project and getting started with your project. Great learning environment and presentation providing a good quantity of information without overloading the learner.

By Jean-Baptiste M

Jun 23, 2018

Interesting overview of the start of a project. Shorter thanks i expected. All the material can be covered in a week.Video content is good and clear. Written content could be more user friendly.

By Sakif A

Apr 26, 2020

The course content gave me a good idea on project management. I think it would have been great if the reading materials were not so much definition based and had more example and visual content

By Chinmay R

Apr 18, 2020

Course was very informative and case study section was helpful. But I would like to see more of questions in case study section because it actually test your knowledge with real time situations

By Aayush S

Jul 16, 2020

The course is very structured. It has started with basics and helped me to understand the content by taking real-time case scenarios. However, the quality of case studies should be improved.

By Margo P

Jan 21, 2019

Very informative. The professor is knowledgeable and relatable, and easy to listen to. The structure of the course supports all learning modalities and is effective if you put in the effort.

By Deen M K S

Jun 24, 2020

I think , you need to take more quiz and exercises in your course outlet, otherwise it showed bulk of garbages( sorry to say )..please add some more quiz tests in our course. Thank you MAM.

By Divyanshu G

May 14, 2020

The course is good for a start in the Project Management field. It has covered various terms and techniques required by a Project Manager to Plan, Execute and Close the project efficiently.

By David L

Aug 01, 2018

Great course! It would be even better if lecture and study could be blended a bit more (occasionally felt like the material was just covered twice), but overall good content delivered well.

By Giovanni Z

Aug 28, 2016

Very interesting and well organized. Sometime it's pretendet to have the pmbok that should not be essential for the book. In geleral there is a week connection between lectures and classes.

By Paul H

Jul 18, 2020

Fantastic course, very interesting. Useful even if you are not looking to become a full time project manager and just are simply involved in projects and would like a better understanding

By Vanessa A

Apr 27, 2020

Good planning and execution of this course...a little dry, and too much repetition for me, but I can see where that helps to reinforce learning for various learners and their styles.

By Mohamed A

Nov 02, 2016

its have a lot of very useful information including the bonus videos, but the way we are examined could be more challenging and the discussion forum would have been very interesting

By Polina D

Apr 17, 2020

I liked the course - it's detailed, short and provide a lot of information.

The only thing I did not like is the final exam that include all the same questions as from other quizes.

By Luis P

Jul 05, 2017

pretty good, maybe it would be better if the supplemental materials were provided, or instead they added more richness to the course material rather than leaving optional readings.