Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,094 ratings
3,945 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG
Feb 9, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

3526 - 3550 of 3,945 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Serdar K

May 8, 2020

The techniques taught here came to me a little naive. They can work out very well in rich countries and where people live in solitude. But they will not work in poor countries where interpersonal support is already strong. We should rather apply monetary first aid in those countries. Nevertheless, I'll try to use these techniques in everyday life for fun.

By William H

Jun 28, 2016

A very basic but thorough introduction to the world of psychological first aid. The class includes a single sample intervention that is referenced at the end of every unit. The actors (including Dr. Everly himself!) seem very well-rehearsed, and this single encounter makes for an excellent template for how to apply the RAPID model in real life!

By John K P L C

Apr 8, 2020

An excellent course for gaining basic knowledge of Psychological First Aid. The vignettes were helpful, but in each one, the person in need already had most basic needs met. She even mentioned that dealing with the insurance company was easy. I wonder if there could have been a few other options where the person had more urgent needs.

By Denise K

Aug 3, 2020

I enjoyed this course and it has really been an essential eye-opener to global events. I now agree that Psychological crisis intervention is an important step towards achieving improved community resilience. I recommend this course to first responders, any medical personnel and anyone willing to learn how to help people in distress.

By Rob C

Dec 12, 2020

Some of the quiz questions were incorrect or misleading. Some misquoting what was said. One question included in the correct answer a word that was only in the transcript but not in the actual spoken content. One would not get that question right unless (s)he was lucky or went back and found the word used in the transcript.

By Bernard G

Apr 23, 2020

An excellent introduction to Psychological First Aid and the RAPID methodology for assisting people in distress. If the course were a bit more challenging i would rate it a 5. As is, still a worthwhile way for students to familiarize themselves with the subject if they have no previous exposure to the concept of PFA.

By Vanesa M G

Jul 20, 2017

Useful course for everyone interested in psychological resources. Simulations are practical views of helping and theory is accurate for emergency cases. I agree it is important to remember the difference between therapy and psychological first aid. In conclusion, an area of activity with many future perspectives.

By Stephen P

Sep 1, 2020

This is wonderful material. As someone who had CISM training 25 years ago I found that I "re-learned" things that I needed to remember. My only criticism is that some of the language might be a bit over the head of some folks who would really benefit from this training and would make great PFA workers.

By pam p

Sep 22, 2020

I found this course very informative. The course has given me confidence and skills to help assist others in the event of a disaster or following a traumatic event. I recommend that everyone take this course and help assist in their area, to help other people, if a disaster or traumatic event happens.

By Akanksha S

Jul 23, 2020

The course is indeed informative, helpful and interesting. It not only provide the learning for reaching out and helping distressed others but also self care at the time of crisis. The simulations were very helpful. Hope more simulations would add for self care as well. Thank you Dr. Everly and team.

By samhita p

May 30, 2020

a great course to start understanding the basic tenets of being in a helping profession!

The lectures and particularly the simulation videos where Dr George has shown the diffence between the right and the wrong approach were a favorite part of my learnings!

i enjoyed the course! thank you Dr Everly!

By Chantal B

Sep 6, 2020

Coming from a Psychologist, this course was really helpful. The only feedback that I would have it to update the examples. The Oakland Fires for example is almost 30 years ago. It would be nice to see an example of how effective this course is in the light of far more recent events. Well done guys!

By Alice M

May 27, 2020

This was my first course in coursera, and I loved it. The videos and all the materials are really good. Instructor covers up all the important topics. The simulations are really great. I think if the course went deeper into each topic I would rate it 5 stars, but it's still worth taking. Thanks!!

By Sharifah D S A H

Apr 4, 2020

Really professional, direct, engaging and helpful. I would recommend 10/10 to those who will be contributing to PFA during this pandemic. Would appreciate if they recommended some stress management techniques and relaxation techniques - otherwise to provide resources to them. Otherwise, wonderful!

By Raja P

May 30, 2021

Dr. Everly has been great at explaining the content of the course. The interventions aspect of the course is personally fulfilling and enjoyable. I believe, there will be a lot to learn while practically applying the technique, and wish there's a possibility to get guidance from Dr. Everly later.

By Vani S

Apr 14, 2020

Well i think this course is really good. it helps you open up your views about to help people in distress. Before i wasn't even aware of the fact that there is a proper guidance for the helping people going through distress. but now not only know about it also have a knowledge about it as well.

By Selene r i

Aug 2, 2020

I like the structure and examples right vs wrong. However, I miss a bit practical parts, like in peers for example doing a PFA m.yself.

And what I did not like was that the slides were just read out. That felt a bit disturbing fto be honest. For that, I could also read them myself.

Thanks still!

By Aleandra V

Feb 4, 2021

i recommend this course for first year psyc students or individuals who are not in the psychology/social worker field. Anyone with previous knowledge on this topic, i would not suggest to take this because the level of difficulty is so low. but great course, super simple to follow along!

By Hwa H

Mar 5, 2017

This course is a good way to start anyone on learning more about how to help others in distress. You don't need to be a trained clinician or mental health expert to learn about psychological first aid. I think it would benefit communities tremendously if more people can learn about PFA.

By Tonima S

Jul 20, 2020

It was a significant learning experience and i surely did learn some new set of skills that would be really helpful in advancing my psychological skill set. the course is relevant in its content, syllabus, study material, and moreover the resources and insight offered by George Everly.

By Karen N M V

Feb 22, 2017

An excellent course at the hands of Ph.D. George S. Everly, Jr. Intended for those who are in the area of ​​education and social care with no or little knowledge about mental education. I recommend it for those who think that it could support them to face humanitarian crises.

Thank you!

By Thiranon T

Jun 6, 2021

I like the content in this course but stm. the speaker speaks in the mono-tone and make me bored. But this class is really helpful and also you need to be fluent in your English skills that will make you learn everything correctly. (Many words that I don't know and make me curious)

By Anoosha S Z

Sep 27, 2020

The course was easy and simple to follow. The simulations were quite helpful. However. the lecture videos were not interesting, it was just text on the screen. If you're using videos to teach, maybe actually have someone speak or make a comprehensive video that is useful to watch.

By marie r

May 6, 2016

i learned some valuable skills during this course. it was useful for reflection - remembering to look after yourself as well as others is very important. i will definitely be able to use the information and skills along with my medical training in my daily working life. thanks.