Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
15,873 ratings
3,903 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

Filter by:

3551 - 3575 of 3,893 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Teresa V A

May 3, 2020

The formats of the material (videos and slides) are not the most user friendly and engaging - they could be updates. But the content is very useful, even for someone with no medical relation at all

By Joelle A

Jun 15, 2021

Great course! It does not take a lot of time and explains the basics of the RAPID PFA model. Maybe in the future more modules could be added or there could be a more profound review of the topic.

By Pablo S S

Jan 3, 2017

A great course for anybody working outside the field of mental health, and interested in psychological first aid. Too basic for psychologist or mental health workers, but wonderfully summarised.

By Pei-Hsuan L

Apr 30, 2020

The instructor was excellent, but the video lectures and simulations would've been perfect if there were more pop up questions, just to engage the students a bit more on the do's and don'ts :)

By Patricia G

Jul 5, 2020

The lectures are straight to the point.

I wish there are more examples or case studies of actual events for better understanding of how to make use of the guidelines in a real world scenario.

By Smruthy N

Mar 16, 2018

An interesting, easy to understand and hands-on approach to dealing with acute trauma. As a trauma counsellor, I am sure I will use the skills I learnt during the course while dealing with cl

By Kaylyn D

May 21, 2020

I have learned how immediate psychological intervention may really count during times of disasters and pandemic. It has personally helped me deal with the stresses that this COVID pandemic.

By Vania k

Jun 16, 2021

Muito didático.

Sugestão: Fornecer material como apostila, por exemplo

Crítica: No certificado não sai o número de horas, que inviabiliza estudantes creditarem como Atividade Complementar

By Amanda Y H F

Apr 13, 2018

Brilliantly paced and narrated. I was hoping to get an overview of other exisiting PFA models/frameworks in the field though. Nonetheless, contents were highly relevant and informative.

By Suparna S

Jun 25, 2020

The course was concise and perfectly structured. would have been even better if there were more information on reciprocating with people who are unwilling to speak to or not compliant.

By CELINE C C Y

Aug 7, 2020

A very interesting course explaining the RAPID model of PFA, with simulations that help to visualize the points and notes. Not only benefits the self, also the others. Worth learning!

By Debra W

May 3, 2020

I learned what I came for. There were a couple errors on the quizzes, and George's name is spelled wrong on the very last screen. If these details were corrected I'd give it 5 stars.

By CHARLIE S C H

Apr 9, 2020

Very concise preliminary introduction to PFA. Good video demonstration. Would like to suggest variation of questions in question bank to offset practice effect from multiple attempts.

By Maria A B P

Nov 14, 2020

I am satisfied with the psychological first aid course, because it provides very relevant information to act when necessary. Also, the modules are short and the information is clear.

By Andrew J L

Apr 2, 2018

Expertly taught and these skills extend far beyond just Psychological First Aid, you can also implement this knowledge into every day life. Well worth the time learning the material.

By Gehazi B

Apr 26, 2020

Concise but straight forward course to introductory PFA. It helped me differentiate PFA from Disaster & Emergency Psychology, as well as be informed about the important job of PFAs.

By S Y

Jun 30, 2017

Good for understanding the basics of PFA in disaster response. The ongoing challenge is to educate those in Emergency Response in its practical evidence based grounding and utility.

By Jade O

Apr 27, 2020

I found the course to be informative and easy to follow along to. Videos were usually short and sweet with questions and interactions between them which kept me focused. Thank you!

By IMAM A

Jul 16, 2020

Very good course, everything that is explained is useful and easy for ordinary people to understand. help to be more professional in becoming a PFA Volunteer. highly recommended!!

By carlo c

Mar 30, 2020

Ottimo corso, non avendo molta dimestichezza con la lingua inglese ho avuto qualche difficoltà con la traduzione.

mi piacerebbe che il corso avesse unatraduzione anche in italiano

By Umut B Y

Apr 13, 2019

It was a very nice course. I shows fundamentals quite clearly and uses examples also George looks quite compassionate and caring which I think this really means something to him

By Luís F B B S

Apr 27, 2020

Acredito que o curso seja extremamente útil, mas o fato das aulas expositivas serem dadas em slides fez com que algumas partes fossem um pouco monótonas, embora bem relevantes.

By Hashem A

Apr 3, 2020

The course is informative and comprehensive. The material may be a little dry; nonetheless, I recommend this course for anyone to expand their horizon for when disasters occur.

By Fiona H

May 5, 2020

Very interesting and indepth course. I did find accessing the Forum discussions a tad puzzling and getting back to the course was not always easy but overall well presented.

By Jacob P

Jul 30, 2020

I really enjoyed the class and how it was easily broken down into 5 steps, RAPID. However, I would have liked some more examples/simulation videos of how to 'do it right.'