Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,100 ratings
3,946 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

3626 - 3650 of 3,954 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By IMAM A

Jul 16, 2020

Very good course, everything that is explained is useful and easy for ordinary people to understand. help to be more professional in becoming a PFA Volunteer. highly recommended!!

By carlo c

Mar 30, 2020

Ottimo corso, non avendo molta dimestichezza con la lingua inglese ho avuto qualche difficoltà con la traduzione.

mi piacerebbe che il corso avesse unatraduzione anche in italiano

By Umut B Y

Apr 13, 2019

It was a very nice course. I shows fundamentals quite clearly and uses examples also George looks quite compassionate and caring which I think this really means something to him

By Luís F B B S

Apr 27, 2020

Acredito que o curso seja extremamente útil, mas o fato das aulas expositivas serem dadas em slides fez com que algumas partes fossem um pouco monótonas, embora bem relevantes.

By Hashem A

Apr 3, 2020

The course is informative and comprehensive. The material may be a little dry; nonetheless, I recommend this course for anyone to expand their horizon for when disasters occur.

By Fiona H

May 5, 2020

Very interesting and indepth course. I did find accessing the Forum discussions a tad puzzling and getting back to the course was not always easy but overall well presented.

By Jacob P

Jul 30, 2020

I really enjoyed the class and how it was easily broken down into 5 steps, RAPID. However, I would have liked some more examples/simulation videos of how to 'do it right.'

By Terra H

Apr 26, 2020

A good course to learn the basics of PFA.

I would have liked a response the answers to the triage practice in the forum. Otherwise, the course was engaging and interesting.

By SOPHIA L

Dec 17, 2020

Useful information and techniques on how to help and talk to victims. Can use the same technique in our daily situation, always good to have compassion and understanding.

By Rosemae A

Nov 22, 2020

A very nice course. This course gives you a brief but concise idea on how to apply psychological first aid. It is very helpful when you want an insight in giving PFA.

By Jacinthe M

Apr 8, 2017

Great course, learn a lot about how to listen and correctly ask questions. Using RAPID model is a good way to help people in need during a disaster. :) Thank you!

By Coco R

Feb 19, 2016

The PowerPoint slides are informative yet lengthy and boring at times. I hope Coursera can do something to make the lecture more interactive and less monotonous.

By Smon S

May 3, 2020

Apart from the simulation video. The content is only the powerpoint slide with professor Audio Description, so it is a bit flat. But the course is very useful.

By Shagun k

May 11, 2020

i want to thank coursers and the experts for putting such a great content.I liked it alot amd looking forward to use them in my carreer of being a psychologist

By Lee g m

Sep 4, 2020

As some of the quiz questions are not very clear to me due to my own misinterpretation leading me to fail the quiz. But good that allow particpants to retry

By Madel T

Nov 21, 2016

I like the course it is very informative and all those skills are simple and easy and these things can be able to cope up by those who are in need of help!

By Gabriela D Y P

Aug 4, 2020

I really liked this course, the information is very useful, accurate and concise. I'm glad I took it and can apply it in the situations that require it.

By Jessica L

Jul 31, 2020

Easy and fairly informative. I wish they showed more examples with different situations, instead of repeating the same situation throughout the course.

By Wanda G

May 13, 2021

This course was very informative and I learned alot. It wasn't quite what I was looking for but was still very helpful.

I will check out other courses.

By Jennifer P

Mar 14, 2021

I enjoyed this course. I think it would be good for many medical professionals, education administrators, and first responders to take and understand.

By Felicia A

Feb 10, 2021

After taking this course I am able to understand RAPID, simply an acronym, and techniques steps required to effectively attend to disaster situations.

By Adriana A J

Oct 9, 2017

It's very useful for non-psychologist and it helps you learn more about psychological triage and useful interventions in acute psychological distress

By Ndulaka S C

Apr 8, 2020

I feel very happy for this opportunity though a free certificate is also a welcome development. Thanks for the knowledge & hoping to impact with it.

By Emily J K

Nov 6, 2019

lecturer talks and intonation is a little bit slow, and the slides were not very interactive. although i like the simulation practice. very useful.

By Himeur M

Sep 28, 2020

This course helped me to have a better idea and understanding on how to give psychological first aid as well as get better at listening to others.