Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,100 ratings
3,946 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 3,952 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By John P

Dec 27, 2017

This course not only talks about the technical aspects of helping others who are suffering from their loss, but also provides videos of good and bad examples in a real scene. Meanwhile, on a general point of view, it is also a good introduction to talking with others, especially with the ideas of reflective listening and paraphrasing

By Luis M

Jul 20, 2021

Excelente curso. Los temáticas, los tópicos, las experiencias reales, el lenguaje académico, las técnicas de ayuda primarias en momentos de crisis, resultan valiosos y oportunos en situaciones en las que cotidianamente observamos y a las que tenemos que enfrentarnos, para ayudar al ser humano. Felicitaciones. Mi inmensa gratitud.

By ZAFEIRIA M

Jul 29, 2020

This was a very well-organised course, which I believe is very useful and cvan be easily met by anyone and not only health care professionals. Everything was well explained and the materials made it even easier and more "fun" to understand the concepts and get some idea of how it is in a real life scenario. I highly recommend it!

By Lauren C

Jun 15, 2020

A really informative course that I'd recommend to everyone and anyone looking to improve their communication skills. The things you cover in this course can benefit your everyday interactions, not just in times of emergency. Thank you to Mr Everly for a very interesting, informative course. I thoroughly enjoyed learning with you!

By Rose B

Jan 23, 2018

This course boosts your emotional intelligence! I feel (and wish to be) more attentive to people's needs, more confident to listen, communicate effectively and provide more adequate support. RAPID model is a really useful tool. Enroll whether you work with people under great distress or not, this course is a gift to all of us. :)

By Farhana Y

Oct 17, 2020

An outstanding method of explaining on how to deal with distress. I think this course should be recommended to those suffering mild anxiety or stress disorders as it helps to build resiliency by relating some of the situations. It felt like a wonderful journey escaping from the darkness and cage in yourself! Thanks a million!!!

By Udbhav S

Jul 5, 2020

It was an extremely informative course. While people may feel this is a waste of time as it does not advance their professional careers, I feel it is an important life skill, especially the part about active and receptive listening, that everyone must have. I strongly recommend taking this course no matter what field you are in.

By Elizabeth J

Oct 15, 2020

A lot of instructors can be really boring to watch which distracts from the learning aspect of things. But the material was really interesting and was presented really well. Having videos showing what to do and what not to do was awesome. I learn by seeing and listening along with doing so this course worked out really well.

By Edmar T

Feb 15, 2021

This course is excellent! Very straightfoward, clear and instructive, with a focus really on the practice of PFA.

I'm in the last year of psychology, in training for becoming a therapist while the pandemic is in course, and it certainly is going to help me attend to people in acute distress, whether because of disasters or not.

By Jorge V G P

Sep 28, 2020

The concept is really simple, relatable and important. The delivery of topics were really clear and I appreciate the video. The video enhanced my understanding of the concept really well. Dr Everly is very professional and passionate in his approach on the topic. I'm looking forward for more similar topics to learn. Good luck!

By Manuela S

Aug 9, 2020

Excelente! Muy completo, especifico y detallado, una buena combinacion de la modalidad teorico-practico. Incluso para algunos que nos desarrollamos en el campo de las emergencias desde hace un tiempo, aporta de manera bastante significativa en cuanto a procedimientos mas eficaces para proceder, agradecida con esta oportunidad.

By Kenneth C

Jun 10, 2020

Having gotten a psychology degree seven years ago now, it's always refreshing to get both a refresher on that knowledge and to find a very practical application for all of that prior learning. The lectures are very explanatory, and the use of a simulation is very helpful to see how these concepts and this model can be applied.

By Fabiola C S

Aug 9, 2019

El curso me encanto. Me pareció muy útil para conocer el metodo Rapid. Mi parte favorita fueron los videos ya que me ayudaban a comprender la importancia de generar confianza y indagar sobre las emociones de la persona. Asimismo, me gustó conocer el proceso de triaje psicológico. No obstante no se como recibir mi certificado.

By Mohammad A

Jul 21, 2020

Finding exactly what you looking for is definitely interesting that what I do find through this course because I am always keen to help but to do it by the professional way that is the difference. everything is a perfect time, material, discussion forum. Thank you so much, Dr George Everly, we really appreciate your effort.

By Shivangi K

Oct 27, 2018

I think this course is ideal to learn about the basics on psychological first aid. RAPID is a neat model that helps individuals gauge in the best way possible how to help survivors of trauma in a meaningful and efficient manner. I am glad I took this course, even though I am a psychologist myself, this was a good refresher.

By Sandy G

Aug 24, 2020

I loved this course so much. It was so good I could not stop watching and listening so I finished the course within a day.

Psychological First Aid is a course everyone should take, especially given the fact that we currently live through a world wide pandemic which causes so many people to experience Psychological distress.

By Rishabh J

May 4, 2020

I haven't written a 5 Star review for any of the other courses I have taken, and I have undertaken quite a few. If that doesn't motivate you enough to learn more about PFA models like RAPID, from whatever source, then I don't know what would. This is a great resource to get started, and I'd definitely recommend it. Cheers!

By Martin W M F

Jul 31, 2019

The course is extremely clear in deconstructing the single parts of the RAPID-model and explaining them step by step. The instructor, Prof. Everly, has a wonderful style: calm, humble and with some very good advises hidden in each video. PFA is a useful sphere in disaster situations that everyone should at least encounter.

By Yi Z (

Jun 16, 2017

It's a great course! The RAPID model introduced by Dr. Everly is a very practical step-by-step guidance to provide the basic psychological intervention in a crisis situation. Very easy to learn and practice. PFA is a great personal skill to have which can not just help people in need but also enhance personal resilience.

By Teri S

Mar 11, 2021

This was a very informative course and learned lots and know that PFA is so important to aid individuals right after a traumatic event, so that they have someone to talk to. This helps them start to get support as soon as possible and any further supports set in place if needed. Really helps with Mental Health as well.

By Deepak K N

May 3, 2020

Hello i am Deepak, first of all thanks to sir George for this great course ! simple techniques, wonderful simulation and easy understandable explanation make this course fun and exciting ! As Sir told us that it is an intervention not a therapy or treatment ! So it is our duty to help people who are at risk ! Thank you !

By Ayudia S

May 2, 2020

It helped me a lot in understanding how to perform assessment, prioritisation, intervention, and disposition. Although in a sense the steps are actually similar with providing physical first aid's, the difference is that with psychological first aid you have to able to be present as a support instead of being the 'fixer'

By M. K

May 1, 2020

It has been an amazing journey to learn psychological first aid. It looks simple and yet it is very complex process and our course instructor taught us with ease. I really liked role play, it helped me learn more in real life and practical scenario. Thank you for amazing course that will help many souls around the globe.

By Teresa W N

Apr 23, 2020

The course was very relevant to my work. I have been teaching PFA in the past and I learned new things in the presentation. The simulations were great. I will add that to my trainings. The instructor is very efficient and able to capture the reader`s attention. I enjoyed the whole experience immensely. Thank you indeed.

By DR O H Z

May 29, 2020

why expensive certificate since i am working in primary mental health care in p h c c and i am working

in confrontation of covid 19 and iam trying to establish psychological first aid (P F A force)in my p h cc and it is very important to help for certificate to be free in this time

sincerely

DR OMAR HAMOUDY ZARZAR