Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,234 ratings
3,963 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

Filter by:

3726 - 3750 of 3,967 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Mohamed-Ali A

Aug 3, 2017

Interesting to see how psychology is taught differently in different places (finished B.Honours 7 years ago)

By Jenish

Apr 24, 2020

This course is very thorough and informative as well as it guide practically what to do and what not to do.

By Anhony S

Mar 13, 2018

Certainly worth doing. I enjoyed the content. Found it easier to read through rather than watch the videos.

By Sivakumaran S

May 26, 2020

We need more explanation on paraphrasing, reframing and delay. It is hard to understand from the lecturer.

By Roseanne T

Jul 30, 2017

Excellent source. I enjoyed the simulations. I found some of the sections quite difficult to negotiate.

By Samikshaa N

Nov 25, 2020

Great course for beginners, people who would like to work in crisis and clients would benefit from this.

By Thomas P

Apr 17, 2020

Clear and concise introduction to the treatment of acute psychological distress in the face of disasters

By Kerri S

Apr 2, 2020

This course provides very clear content and uses excellent video examples to illustrate the information.

By Dolendra S

Apr 7, 2020

Very effective, thank you to tutor for classes, that was informative and will be useful in some context

By Breana M R

Aug 19, 2018

Great information especially for someone in EMS. Many useful tools which even a lay person can utilize.

By Paul

Jan 24, 2016

A good overview of this important subject which I hope to use in my physical risk management workplace.

By Aurea O

Jun 1, 2021

This is a quick course, with some good basic information. The quizzes are in need of some corrections.

By Rizaldy F F

Jul 14, 2021

I​ gave Fun but Challenged in this training. Continue providing significant modules like PFA. Thanks.

By Francisco F P

Oct 17, 2020

Great introductory course on PFA. It would be great to have a more advanced coure to deepen studies.

By rain r

Oct 14, 2020

I really enjoyed it. Everything was simple and well explained. It was quite easy and basic though.

By Julian D

Aug 4, 2020

un curso bastante bueno, y con los videos de simulacion lo hizo mas didactico y facil de aprender

By Samata L

May 28, 2020

i literally enjoyed the course. Thanks John Hopkins University for providing and I liked it alot.

By Anand M N

Jul 12, 2021

Useful course for basic understanding of PFA... Wish the Certificate had the John Hopkins logo!

By Erica B

Jul 28, 2020

Very good course. Thank you for having it. I will hopefully be able to help others when needed.

By Daniel G L

Jan 12, 2021

Good Information; the videos were a bit "old fashioned" and "stale" but the content itself was

By Amelia T

Jun 8, 2020

Was not what I was expecting the course to be about but was still a good way to spend my time.

By Vadzim B

May 9, 2020

A short applied and useful course. Needs a better translate to Russian and translate of tests.

By Ronnie D L

Nov 6, 2020

The education does not answer contradicting personal issues where the PFA hierachy may fail.

By Annisa T R

May 16, 2020

such an interesting class! The materials are helpful and can be applied to our everyday life