Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,278 ratings
3,973 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

GT
Dec 19, 2019

Great structure and interactive format. Clear expectations and excellent materials. Subject was explained in an effective manner that was easily understood and applied. Very useful for any profession!

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 3,976 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Heidi W

Dec 20, 2017

This was a great introduction to psychological first aid. I think I have a very good understanding of what it is and a basic knowledge of what needs to be done. I don't feel confident that I can adequately do what the course has taught, but I also dont have a natural skill in this area. I'll need more practice.

By Judith

Dec 27, 2020

I recommend this course for anyone interested in supporting others through crises or traumatic events. Although I took this course for personal growth I do feel prepared to help people with this Psychological First Aid model. The instructor is knowledgeable, experienced, compassionate, and communicates clearly.

By Cassandre

Oct 13, 2020

Le cours est accessible aux personnes qui n'ont aucune formation en psychologie/psychiatrie/psychothérapie ou en santé publique Le cours apporte des informations précises, concises et claires. La durée du cours et des différents modules est idéale. Si vous maitrisez l'anglais, il sera facile de suivre ce cours.

By Sajjad H S

Jun 1, 2020

This is the first course I have completed on COURSERA. I am generally interested in the subject and registered out of curiosity, However, i watched the first video and George is so engaging and explained things in such calm manner that I couldn't wait to complete. I would love to do another course with George.

By SAKSHI C

May 14, 2020

This course has been very helpful in not only knowing how to deal with certain shock inducing situations but also in being better at listening and conversing in everyday lives. I have found myself applying the lessons learnt in this course in my general conversations as well. The course is concise and helpful.

By gomackay

Aug 16, 2018

So refreshing to find a practical compassionate approach based on solid scientific evidence that performs better in promoting resilience than other long term dependence-generating approaches.

Assoc Prf George Everly Jr is an inspiration to me and taught me as much about his approach watching as well as hearing!

By Julio A A R

Dec 24, 2020

After taking this course, I have no idea about how to apply an effective Active listening for First aids also how to care myself after provide pshychological support. However, this course provides the tools about how to handle since the beginning a inconvenience or disaster that could reassure those affected.

By Kipkem H

Jun 15, 2020

Glad to see from research and those with experience in the field that many times, the right word or presence at the right time can help a lot more than a "grand plan" later down the road. Excellent course for every one. Would be interesting how we could all apply this to the disaster of the COVID-19 pandemic.

By Heloisa V

Jun 6, 2018

Great course! Simple and clear explanations and examples. Personally, the simmulation videos helped me a lot! It was one of the things I liked most: being able to have a glimpse beyond theory. I think it is important to show examples as close to reality as possible, specially in a subject as practical as PFA.

By Trisha V

May 27, 2020

This course really helped me to know and understand the different methods in which one can help a person in any sort of crisis. being a psychology student this course was a new side of how to deal with a person who is acutely distressed. It was a really helpful course and i really enjoyed being a part of it.

By Keisha a

Apr 1, 2020

the simulations were excellent, the emotions were very well portrayed. I believe this course can help not only those dealing with the public but anyone that has a family or friend that may be battling an illness. This will help you gain a different protective and better understanding on how help others cope.

By Fatima A

Jan 14, 2021

I loved the course so much! I would love to take more courses in this topic. I appreciated the SO MANY examples and creative simulations and how everything was explained and portrayed in the lectures. Something I'd recommend is adding more reading assignments as I'm interested to read more about this topic!

By Brenda M B

May 9, 2020

This course is very informative. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to self improve especially during this pandemic. As the world maneuvers through the fall out of COVID-19 the need for PFA will be needed starting from the individual self to family and extending toward the greater community.

By Angelly E U L

Aug 24, 2020

Me gustó mucho la forma de explicar tan detalladamente cada uno de los pasos que hay que seguir para los primeros auxilios psicológicos, la calma, paciencia y sobre todo el cariño con el que quería que aprendiéramos, muchas gracias por brindarnos parte de sus conocimientos para poder hacer una buena labor.

By Folashade A

May 13, 2020

I learnt so much in this course. As someone who loves to help people in disaster and traumatic situations, and having little experience this course is all I need to know the basics of how to fuel my intervention passion. It worth every bit of my time and I am more enlightened! I am glad I took this course.

By Nima A

May 6, 2020

If like me, you have no background in this field then this course is for you! It introduces the basics in an understandable way with the help of several simulation videos. Also, you may find this short course useful in your daily life in case some sort of a traumatic event happens to a loved one of yours.

By Anna Z

Apr 9, 2017

This was my first organized class post B.A. and I found it to be a great class that was well organized with a knowledgeable instructor and would recommend it to others. I have dyslexia and ADD PI so these characteristics are important to me and I would be eager to take more classes from George. Thank you.

By Ursula C

Jun 10, 2020

It is a very valuable curse. It shows the general abilities a person should have to help through a disaster. It is not intended to specialize as therapist or psychologist, it is a very useful training for making a person who is going through a moment of disaster feel better or making an assertive referal.

By Danai P

Dec 1, 2020

It's a great course for helathcare workers, but also for volunteers and other professionals. Basically, it's for everyone who work with people in crisis and especially people in crisis after a disaster. The course material is easily understood. It contains organized slides and a very helpful stimulation.

By nourhan m m a

Apr 5, 2020

totally loved the material and the way the data was provided and getting involved by simulation was my favorite part. this will always push me to know more about handling the mental health of my patients and my community. the most important thing is that i am feeling prepared to help in the time of need.

By Vasumathi

May 7, 2020

This course was excellent, it has given me insight of how to look at a person who need psychological first aid in an objective way. Being a Yoga teacher we meet people with different needs all the time and the R.A.P.I.D model could be effectively used in our field work also. Thanks Doctor George Everly.

By Megan S

Jan 24, 2021

I am an independent learner who is just interested in learning new skills on Coursera, and have always been interested in crisis response and missions work. This course was just the right length, and thorough and concise. Overall, I would recommend to anyone interested in crisis response or psychology.

By Dane L

Dec 15, 2020

I've learned a very short time a lot of new things,

Most of them is very locigal , but the story behind and how you do these things is very interesting.

This course is a perfect addition for everyone who likes to communicate, like to be there for others or work in field where he responds to emergencys.

By Thalia R

Jun 15, 2020

En este curso he aprendido mas de lo que imaginaba, me ayudado ha comprender como se debería intervenir en una situación de vulnerabilidad, este curso es de gran importancia no solo para el psicólogo, sino para otras personas que se dedican a la salud publica, educadores, servidores de emergencia ,etc.

By Wareewan P

May 31, 2020

I always think, I am the one who help other (in term of psychological support) and I will always be ok with that! This course make me get back to myself and asked. Is that true? Dr. George make me realise that the first person I have to take care of is myself. Thank you to you. This course’s so helpful