Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
14,850 ratings
3,719 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG
Feb 9, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

Filter by:

3451 - 3475 of 3,693 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Leona S

Jul 12, 2020

understanding that the initial compassion and reflecting in the correct way can help and don't have to have years of training

By Alexandra D

Nov 17, 2019

I loved the course ! The only thing I would change is I would give more techniques (spend more time on the I of the RAPID).

By Maryanne A P

Mar 21, 2020

Very well structured. Provides valuable insights into how to provide psychological help in disaster and crisis situations.

By Juste E M

Nov 8, 2018

This course is very practical i started already to use it, thank to all those who made it possible. Juste Elysée MALANDILA

By Barbara D

Jun 17, 2020

Case vignettes were very helpful. I wish I had been able to get an answer to all questions from the Instructor or Mentor.

By Princess I

Aug 9, 2020

It will be really beneficial to learners if we are given more examples with various disasters and different characters.

By MARIVIC M

Jun 17, 2020

Repeating important topics over and over again makes it easier to understand. The simulation too was a very good help.

By Urvi S

Jul 15, 2020

It was a really interesting course and I actually learnt a lot about how to approach and talk to a person in distress.

By Katie M

May 20, 2020

I found this course very informative and enjoyed it. Hoping to be able to help in anyway I can in this field thank you

By Keera N

Sep 3, 2019

Really well done!! The simulations were a bit stilted but did show the basic techniques to use! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

By Ravindranath. B K

May 29, 2019

Good Course to understand how to be human in this World. And empathy and intimacy has been expressed in very manner.

By Cherry D T

Feb 15, 2021

The simulations really showed the right thing to do and the things to avoid when doing a psychological first aid.

By Eléonore I

Apr 16, 2020

This course is well structured and useful. It was my first online course and it made me want to try more! Thanks

By Maria C B

Jun 30, 2020

El curso es excelente. La dificultad se me presentó con las evaluaciones ya que no tienen traducción disponible

By MD I

Apr 19, 2020

I want to thank coursera and john hopkins university to provide this valuable course.It is such a nice course .

By S. A J

Apr 10, 2021

The information is basic but the instructor is fantastic. As an entry-level course this one is of great value.

By Mariana S A R

Jun 15, 2020

Muy buen curso, aunque siento que faltó profundizar sobre lo que pasa internamente en la mente de las personas

By Viktorija Z

May 23, 2020

Lovely course and I'm glad I took it. The only improvement would be to relate the quizes more to the lectures.

By Angela G

May 19, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I would like to have seen more interviews or situations with a chance to triage

By ABDURRAHMAN A

Sep 5, 2020

It has been a rewarding experience taking this course- very well presented and straight to the point. Thanks

By Mohamed-Ali A

Aug 3, 2017

Interesting to see how psychology is taught differently in different places (finished B.Honours 7 years ago)

By Jenishkumar O

Apr 24, 2020

This course is very thorough and informative as well as it guide practically what to do and what not to do.

By Anhony S

Mar 13, 2018

Certainly worth doing. I enjoyed the content. Found it easier to read through rather than watch the videos.

By Sivakumaran S

May 26, 2020

We need more explanation on paraphrasing, reframing and delay. It is hard to understand from the lecturer.

By Roseanne T

Jul 30, 2017

Excellent source. I enjoyed the simulations. I found some of the sections quite difficult to negotiate.