Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
17,121 ratings
4,108 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG

Feb 9, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

KG

Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 4,125 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Shawn M

Jun 25, 2020

This is an excellent crash course in psychological first aid. It gives a great introduction to strategies to respond to the mental impact of trauma. This course gives a fantastic overview of Rapport/Reflective Listening, Assessment, Prioritization, Intervention, Disposition and follow-up (RAPID) with examples of how it's done in the moment. I recommend it!

By Nicole H

Aug 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this online course in Psychological First Aid. I think it was a really good introduction to PFA, and I would feel encouraged to take an in-person course in PFA or expand my skills with a more advanced level of PFA. I think PFA pairs well with Standard First Aid, and I feel more confident in knowing I have some level of training in both.

By K.O S

Jul 28, 2020

A little dry, honestly, but VERY informative and I enjoyed the subject matter enough that I didn't get bored. The instructor is phenomenal. I would have liked more visual aids outside of the Powerpoint slides; reading all that text while trying to listen to lectures was distracting, and ultimately both lecture and slides communicated the same information.

By Dr M A K

Jul 11, 2020

An applied comprehensive course which can be perfectly utilized to rehabilitate the psychologically traumetized subjects and ameliorate their psychosocial & occupational impairment with humanly possible promptitude & reasonable convenience. This course also fairly contributes towards MENTAL HEALTH FOR ALL. My sincere sincere wishes & warm regards to you,

By radhika g

Apr 19, 2020

I am a budding psychologist. This course helped me understand the ways of approaching people in distress. What to do/ say and what not to do/say to people during crisis. Not only that but also how to go with the conversation. In addition to this, taking care of myself as a mental health professional was discussed in this course. I really like this course.

By Katie B

Jun 30, 2021

T​his course was delivered in such an engaging and informative manner! I would encourage people to take this course, regardless if they have any mental health bakcground. As someone with a psychology degree I really appreciated all of the points brought up by Dr. Everly about crisis intervention versus psychotherapy. This course will be helpful for sure!

By Pia D

Nov 21, 2019

Very engaging course! I love how you are not only learning the theory behind the RAPID-model but also get a lot of examples throughout the simulations. I feel like I could learn a lot and although I am not working in the area where I would net to offer PFA, I am not afraid to take my knowledge in this course and be prepared in case someone needs my help.

By Esteban E G V

May 9, 2020

Excelente material y forma de enseñar. Los primeros auxilios psicológicos siempre han sido necesarios, pero con los acontecimientos de estos últimos meses provocados principalmente por el COVID-19, es necesario que todo el personal de salud sepa como aplicarlo, no solamente para precautelar la salud mental de sus pacientes, sino también de sus colegas.

By Angela R

Sep 14, 2017

I used to work on a suicide hotline and I wish that I knew then what I know now about talking to people encountering traumatic situations. This class has given me so many more tools to use when dealing with anyone who needs help, whether it is a trauma area or even a friend who was in Naples, Fla last weekend waiting for Irma to come ashore. Thank you!

By CPC076

Aug 10, 2020

I enjoyed the course to the full, as it added to my knowledge in this domain, it empowered my capabilities for I learnt major key points, as for when, how, and how much I could be resilient while helping others coping with moments of distress, and how to listen and handle those suffering loss, or post trauma due to catastrophes, crises or disasters.

By Alexander P R

May 11, 2020

Well packaged course with real material to learn. Personally, this information was a good, practical addition to my relatively general and basic psychology background (AP Psych in highschool, etc.). I feel like the promises made about what a student will learn in the course are generally kept, and the material is worth learning (for almost everyone).

By GABRIEL B

Jul 6, 2020

Thanks ever so much for all the shared knowledge about PFA. I've increased my skills significantly through every lesson, lecture, and video. You all have no how much I appreciate having had the opportunity to do this course, especially in these difficult days of COVID-19. Regards from this Chilean psychologist to George Everly and all his community.

By Legriv V I M

Apr 27, 2020

This course offers a basic framework for a very important and timely first aid tool. Taking this course will not disappoint you. You will learn the basics while not feeling information overload. The course is great, the instructor is knowledgeable, and the content is a balance of learning concepts and simulation to the application of these concepts.

By Syifa K

Apr 16, 2020

I speak as someone who already have an education background in the field of psychology and I ensure those who have the same background as I do that although the course material is similar to what we have learned and practiced, this course really highlight the difference between being a counselor and being a first responder in the wake of a disaster.

By Karyn F M

Jun 9, 2020

I am a mental health professional and volunteer with behavioral health corps. This course was a great refresher given our current climate - Pandemic and Protest/Riots. These skills will come in handy and I've recommended this course to non-mental health staff who also work with our young adults.

Thanks for this course offering.

Karyn

Baltimore, MD

By Rebecca W

May 10, 2021

George is an amazing and empathetic teacher. I learned so much during this course about the applicability of trauma training and the need for personalised medicine in the treatment. I would highly recommend this course to anyone that is a first responder (e.g. natural disaster, gun violence and/or domestic violence situations). Highly recommended.

By Lucy M

Oct 3, 2020

Desde la postura de educadora, el curso ha sido muy enriquecedor. Sobrepasó mis expectativas. El curso está muy bien estructurado y da la posibilidad de ponerse al día con técnicas de ayuda psicológicas de primeros auxilios sencillas y eficaces. Me encantaría tomar algún otro curso con el Dr. George Everly de nuevo y conocerlo en persona. Gracias.

By W. S N I

Jul 17, 2020

Dr. Everly present the lectures and modules very pleasantly. This course will help me to cause a positive difference in society, I'm very sure of that. Thank you for the well-planned materials and overall course. I highly recommend this course, even though you're not doing a profession related to this, you might find it very relevant to your life.

By Anna G

Apr 8, 2020

It is a short, though very interesting class. I study psychology, but I didn't have a class on this subject. Therefore, I am very thankful for the opportunity to take a look at psychological first aid and how to help people in general after a crisis. I recommend this class to anyone who wants to help people in any kind of hardship in their lives.

By Melandri C

Apr 20, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Even though I am a post-graduate student in Psychology this was my first encounter with the term Psychological First Aid and I feel I have learned a great deal about it and think it is something that should be implemented more even at a psychological education level at universities and amongst medical personnel.

By HINA Z

Dec 29, 2018

It was an awesome course that provided many useful skills and knowledge. The prof. Dr.Georg Everly gives the whole lectures in an outstanding and simple way which was easy to understand.i would also like to prefer this course to others also this university Johns Hopkins Bloomberg school of public health, because it was a nice experience for me.

By Turkina O

Dec 22, 2016

There's a lot of theory for a beginner like myself, but it's presented nicely. I found written out lists and terminology very helpful. The RAPID methodology is very clear-cut, I'm sure it will be helpful 'in the field'. The vignettes are really self-explanatory, and help to put a visual to the theory. Overall a very well done course. Thank you!

By Lara O

Oct 18, 2021

I enjoyed every bit of my course. Week after week, i look forward to what's next in the course. The facilitator Gorge Everly (PhD) did an excellent and exceptional job in making the online lecture fun and easy to learn. It didn't feel like i was taking the course online. One of my best online courses so far. Quite explanatory and easy to learn.

By Matt S

Mar 28, 2020

Easy to understand step by step process with great example aid with what to do and what NOT to do. However, it felt like the person in the example videos was too much of an ideal survivor. It would have been nice to see an additional example play out with someone experiencing significant dysfunction and how a responder utilizing PFA would help.

By Saadman K

Apr 24, 2020

I haven't personally been related in post disaster management but since I love to talk to people and share their thoughts and just listen to them. I HAVE to agree that this course has helped me really well and I would obviously suggest people to take this course. The first test is a bit bookish but the rest are really well thought and planned.