Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,100 ratings
3,946 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

3551 - 3575 of 3,955 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Vani S

Apr 14, 2020

Well i think this course is really good. it helps you open up your views about to help people in distress. Before i wasn't even aware of the fact that there is a proper guidance for the helping people going through distress. but now not only know about it also have a knowledge about it as well.

By Selene r i

Aug 2, 2020

I like the structure and examples right vs wrong. However, I miss a bit practical parts, like in peers for example doing a PFA m.yself.

And what I did not like was that the slides were just read out. That felt a bit disturbing fto be honest. For that, I could also read them myself.

Thanks still!

By Aleandra V

Feb 4, 2021

i recommend this course for first year psyc students or individuals who are not in the psychology/social worker field. Anyone with previous knowledge on this topic, i would not suggest to take this because the level of difficulty is so low. but great course, super simple to follow along!

By Hwa H

Mar 5, 2017

This course is a good way to start anyone on learning more about how to help others in distress. You don't need to be a trained clinician or mental health expert to learn about psychological first aid. I think it would benefit communities tremendously if more people can learn about PFA.

By Tonima S

Jul 20, 2020

It was a significant learning experience and i surely did learn some new set of skills that would be really helpful in advancing my psychological skill set. the course is relevant in its content, syllabus, study material, and moreover the resources and insight offered by George Everly.

By Karen N M V

Feb 22, 2017

An excellent course at the hands of Ph.D. George S. Everly, Jr. Intended for those who are in the area of ​​education and social care with no or little knowledge about mental education. I recommend it for those who think that it could support them to face humanitarian crises.

Thank you!

By Thiranon T

Jun 6, 2021

I like the content in this course but stm. the speaker speaks in the mono-tone and make me bored. But this class is really helpful and also you need to be fluent in your English skills that will make you learn everything correctly. (Many words that I don't know and make me curious)

By Anoosha S Z

Sep 27, 2020

The course was easy and simple to follow. The simulations were quite helpful. However. the lecture videos were not interesting, it was just text on the screen. If you're using videos to teach, maybe actually have someone speak or make a comprehensive video that is useful to watch.

By marie r

May 6, 2016

i learned some valuable skills during this course. it was useful for reflection - remembering to look after yourself as well as others is very important. i will definitely be able to use the information and skills along with my medical training in my daily working life. thanks.

By Erika L K

Apr 13, 2020

Content was great. Lectures were dry, but to the point. Quiz questions could be tricky - referring to specific numbers. However, I believe the course met it's objectives in the end. Highly recommend to those looking to get a crash course in Psychological First Aid.

By Alexey A

Jul 19, 2021

A very well structured and understandable course providing not only theoretical basics, but also video-simulations of the first aid. Though it's clear that one cannot cover all possible situations, the course would still benefit if more simulations would be available.

By Joshua F

Jul 7, 2020

Good information for beginners. Great example through the simulations that were given. Would have liked a simulation of some other nature as well to help deal with a very different scenario. Loved the duration and the information learnt during that duration. Thank you

By Amelia L

Aug 1, 2017

Lessons were practical and easy to follow, the extra materials (e.g. simulation videos) were helpful in understanding concepts and putting them into context. The assessment quizzes can be improved as some of the questions were worded in a slightly confusing manner.

By Maria S K L

Jun 19, 2021

Dr. George Everly has produced this course with acute care and thought. The RAPID strategy is surely a successful model with him dealing with the several issues involved with PFA. The lectures and the simulation are extremely helpful in understanding the topics.

By Amy T H Y

Jul 20, 2020

Really enjoyed the lecture video format as it was very engaging! The course was also very easy to understand. The only thing I would have preferred more of are more real-life video examples and opportunities to practice the skills we learn in each step of RAPID.

By Nabanita G

Jun 16, 2020

Slides were very informative. But I learnt more by listening keenly to the course instructor. My humble suggestion is, if alongside wonderful narration, the slides could be more interactive and engaging, the course would be a more enjoyable learning experience.

By Nena

Feb 14, 2021

Πάρα πολύ διακρίσεις μάθημα και για ειδικές λεπτομέρειες ψυχολογία διάκριση και χρήση. Πιστεύεω Όπως έχω κεν κενά και διαφορές αποριές που δεν απαιτήθηκαν, που χρειάζονται σε γενικές γραμμές πολύ καλό! άριστα σχεδιασμένο και πολυδιαητός ο Κός George Everly!

By James F

Jan 8, 2021

Very well presentation. I feel some of the terminology used, and some abbreviations and acronyms were unclear and need to be explained and defined. Also, some of the wording of the test question were worded poorly, which made for uncertainty to the student.

By cesar n

Feb 17, 2019

its good but its kind of based on examples of big disasters, it would be nice to have something based on small disaster like car crashes a house fire or a minor accident to help people on health care industry address people in this acute and small accidents

By Marcello V

Apr 15, 2021

I enjoyed the course tremendously. It did help to reinforce some of what I have already learned in academia, but putting it in the context of crisis intervention was extremely helpful. The RAPID model is one I can add to my repertoire of skills. Thank you!

By Vafa M H

Jul 21, 2018

A very clear and engaging course which gives you the practical know-how and confidence to respond to survivors of emergencies. My only recommendation is for the course to become more global as opposed to Euro-centric in terms of the scenarios that it uses.

By M A M

May 15, 2020

A necessary and well-constructed course. Simulations could have been better. Lectures could have been more animated if the professor showed his face more often rather than just reading out from slides. Anyway, it was a great learning experience. Thanks!

By Brennan D

Nov 15, 2020

An eye-opening course that is a great step to learning how to help others in a disaster in an action-oriented way. A little short but if supplemented with the book and with a sincere approach to learning all you can this as a fantastic starting point.

By Antonio R C

May 3, 2021

Covers the topic well but may need to have a more updated/relevant version. This is helpful for natural calamities but was hoping to learn about situations more towards social media and the current pandemic. Already gives a great foundation still.