Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,271 ratings
3,971 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

Filter by:

3601 - 3625 of 3,975 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By MADHUMANTI S

May 3, 2020

It was a very nice graded course. But it's limited to some specific points. Although it is not possible to complete a whole season within a course, but according to my expectations it could be a bit more longer and more elaborated.

By Viktor D

Jun 28, 2017

Good course especially if you have no idea about psychology and related fields. I will probably (hopefully) never use it, but in case the need arises I believe I will be able to do at least something and will not be totally lost.

By Michail V

Feb 12, 2021

The outline of the course helps greatly into achieving the intended learning outcomes. Many examples and example cases of what to do and not to do. Simple language suitable for people with not relevant background as intended.

By Desanka M

Aug 1, 2020

Interesting, short course full of useful information and examples that can be used. It is easy to learn and it can be finished fast. Video lectures are somewhat average video quality and there are no peer graded assignments.

By Antonia d C B

Feb 2, 2017

Very good introductory course which will give you a solid basis to continue exploring the subject. The lectures are well structured and paced. It includes "real life" examples of how to implement the theory you just learned.

By Carolyn P

Jun 24, 2020

Good course. Great information available. Only down side is that the read along doesn't show the extra on screen. If you're reading do to need for quiet you lose context and some information. Need to offer read only option

By Sukeerti D

May 27, 2021

This course is so helpful for psychological counselor to do the counseling job properly, it provide insight and make us think what's we doing and how's we doing our job. Thank you entire team for this golden opportunities.

By Agathe R

Nov 17, 2020

This course was really valuable for me, french student in psychology. I would've like to learn more about psychological first aid especially for migration prolematics, but apart from that, it was interesting and concrete.

By Surajit M

Aug 9, 2020

It was really a nice experience. The course is well organized. Though it would have been better if there was one more simulation with completely different situation, with someone who is not that much optimistic like Gina.

By Mònica i

Apr 23, 2020

Although I realize that my english level make more difficult confronting test, I enjoyed a good learning about both PFA, crisis psycological first intervention and american english. Thanks for your great style of teaching

By Inka P

Dec 19, 2020

The biggest struggle here for me was what I refer to as "academical language" which made the assessments hard for me. Whilst I 100% understood the point and actions and reasons, the lingo used threw me on many occasions.

By Marcel L

Jul 13, 2020

This is a good first look into the topic and gives you the means to develop a deeper understanding. It prepares you for the basics and enables you to be an active, helping part in your community in the wake of adversity.

By Nendra N W

Dec 4, 2020

This course will be very helpful for people that respond to the psychological needs of people that are affected during disasters and is also good for people who just want to learn how to go about Psychological First Aid

By Masha

Aug 12, 2020

I found this course to be very interesting and definitely useful, though in some places it felt too vague and almost generic. As an introduction to this field, though, it is sufficient and made me excited to learn more.

By David N

Jan 7, 2020

The course was well constructed and very, very well presented. The material caused me to think, in some areas reinforce what I knew and in some areas learned new ideas. I am pleased with the course and the experience.

By Dodd M R

Mar 8, 2016

Great course a few problems, actually had problems with all video review during tests not playing and only having a blank screen so I wasn't able to review specefic videos through the tests. Loved the senarios though.

By Gianne I

May 5, 2020

Thank you for this course! I learned a lot, even if I am not a health or psychological practitioner. I am still a student yet the information I learned is very relevant in this time of crisis. Self care is important!

By kyawnay z

Aug 16, 2020

Psychological first aid is the essential basic measure that everyone should know, especially in time of global pandemic COVID-19 infection. The course meets my objectives to learn. It is very informative and useful.

By Tan h n

May 25, 2020

This is my first time to learn what is PFA?I am appreciate to our lecturer George, who is use a simple way to help me understand PFA.

This course help me to deep understand my mind. I hope can help others by use PFA.

By Wasitphon A

Feb 27, 2021

Great course. Easy to understand in short study time. The structure of material helps me remember the materials pretty well. The only drawback is that there is no answer or discussion from professor for lecture 3.

By Andreea A C

Jul 16, 2020

Very useful information! It teaches you also how to deal with people in your life that experience crisis moments. I recommend it! It has the potential to increase you compassion and empathy towards other people!

By Rosa M A

Aug 7, 2020

Loved how the information is presented, very well organized, wise, and eloquent. I found everything I was looking for, except I would've needed more simulations on how to intervene when the person is unstable.

By SUNNY S

Apr 19, 2016

It was a very good course - simple but had all essential components.... would have loved it if there were one more simulation for a different situation throughout the course.... Rest, it was a great learning..

By Shreya A

Jun 1, 2020

Very well structured course outline with great simulations that help in understanding of the subject. It is useful for any profession to be honest, and I am glad to have taken this course. Thanks Mr. Everly.

By Benjaporn N L

Feb 10, 2020

I appreciate the PPT and those mini videos. Makes it easier to understand and think along as you are listening. One thing i like to improve is actually the voice of a reader... makes me sleepy a little