Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,100 ratings
3,946 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

3651 - 3675 of 3,950 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Srikanth K

May 18, 2021

The course is interesting and is very useful in the current scenario where we are facing so many problems in this world. This will be helpful.

By tom e

Feb 17, 2021

course was great but navigation through the site was difficult.

stick with one description of each course, week or module or lecture. confusing

By Danny V

Jan 28, 2021

Fantastic!!!! This is a brilliant course to add to ones portfolio. It is a must have if you want help people and if you are a first responder.

By Charles C

Dec 15, 2020

Excellent Presentation. RAPID model an excellent learning and memory device, prompt. The videos and written content kept the course engaging

By Alka k

May 11, 2020

learnt a lot of new skills of responding correctly in times of distress,

Dr George was excellent, he explained extremely well, loved the course

By Bibí R

Aug 7, 2020

Excelente curso! la quinta estrella se la daría si los exámenes estuvieran en Español para los estudiantes hispano parlantes. Muchas Gracias!

By Erin M

May 20, 2020

Very comprehensive! I enjoyed it and feel more prepared to handle supporting individuals in psychological distress get to the help they need.

By malvika k

May 17, 2020

The course is engaging and useful. I particularly learnt from the vignette provided, especially the incorrect ways to respond to the client.

By Lisa G

Apr 13, 2020

This course is very well laid out.

I appreciated the various learning style modalities utilized in presenting the information in this course.

By Nathan C

May 6, 2020

Pacing is slow but very informational. I believe there is a need for more information and guidance when it comes to the self-care segment.

By Anandita G

Dec 31, 2020

This course was my first step into learning about Psychological first aid, and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn the basics!

By joni l

Aug 4, 2020

Reinforced some knowledge and learned a few things. Would like to a course more in depth however a great as a refresher or for a beginner.

By Ansuman M

Aug 8, 2020

PFA presented in a well structured manner, simple language, to the point. Some points may have suggested reading for depth understanding.

By Amarachi I E

May 1, 2020

The course materials were very engaging.

I got information and knowledge I had previously not been able to find so easily here.Thank you

By Michael T B

Aug 10, 2019

Was more challenging than expected, has been a while since a First responder type course & over 10 since took a Class online. Humbling TY

By Mohamed N

Sep 3, 2020

It was very beneficial and reaally skillfull. I have learnt some more practical skills and developed much more in my professional path !

By Geeta B

Aug 7, 2020

Thank you for this course content. Found it really useful to add it to my practice as a counsellor. really enjoyed the learning process.

By Hong S Y

Nov 18, 2020

Excellent basic course that will help first responders in giving psychological first aid based on John Hopkin University's RAPID model!

By Jimmy H

Feb 16, 2020

This course is intended to train people who want to work in that field. If you aim for daily life's use, the use will be a bit limited.

By Félix V

Oct 2, 2019

A mon sens , l'un des meilleurs cours de base sur le sujet, accessible, précis et motivant à poursuivre les recherches dans le domaine.

By Aisha H

Oct 2, 2019

As a non-familiar with the field , i found the course very simple to understand , and the professor have very powerful explaining style

By Rajiv S

May 17, 2020

Must to have for all who wish to help others during hard times or want to make self ready for any service during disasters. Thank you!

By Ellen m

Jun 14, 2021

This course was very helpful with many useful techniques. The simulations were very good. Easy to understand with every day language.

By Liau C Z

Jun 2, 2020

Course material was good. However, for a better learning experience, I recommend that participants watch the lectures at 1.25x speed.