Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,100 ratings
3,946 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

3676 - 3700 of 3,948 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Olivia L

May 20, 2020

Very interesting course over all. Some of the quiz questions were difficult to interpret, but other than that, fascinating subject.

By Yudha S

Jun 5, 2021

I enjoyed the lecturing and the materials given during the course. The audio sounds clear and provided materials are also helpful.

By Phil B

Jan 21, 2021

Really good course but like all multiple choice based tests, the "best" answer isn't always one of the choices. Then you're stuck.

By Geetanjali M

Jul 24, 2020

The overall experience of learning was good. If there would've been some study material it would make the whole experience better.

By John E H

Jun 2, 2020

l believe this course was well put together and allows the general public to understand how they could help others in a crisis.

By Anna R M

Sep 19, 2016

Very helpful information. I could use more pointers on how, precisely, to do the "Intervention" phase - more practicals. Thanks!

By Marlo M

Jun 25, 2020

Very helpful course. The video examples are repetitive and a little outdated but you'll still benefit greatly from this course.

By Leona S

Jul 12, 2020

understanding that the initial compassion and reflecting in the correct way can help and don't have to have years of training

By Sunayana

May 24, 2021

I found the content to be brief and easy to understand. Also, RAPID is a good acronym to facilitate Psychological First Aid.

By Alexandra D

Nov 17, 2019

I loved the course ! The only thing I would change is I would give more techniques (spend more time on the I of the RAPID).

By Mon M A

Jun 30, 2021

This is very useful for us. I'd like to say "thanful for your kind support and providing the great opportunity"

Thanks,

Mon

By Maryanne A P

Mar 21, 2020

Very well structured. Provides valuable insights into how to provide psychological help in disaster and crisis situations.

By Juste E M

Nov 8, 2018

This course is very practical i started already to use it, thank to all those who made it possible. Juste Elysée MALANDILA

By Barbara D

Jun 17, 2020

Case vignettes were very helpful. I wish I had been able to get an answer to all questions from the Instructor or Mentor.

By Princess I

Aug 9, 2020

It will be really beneficial to learners if we are given more examples with various disasters and different characters.

By MARIVIC M

Jun 17, 2020

Repeating important topics over and over again makes it easier to understand. The simulation too was a very good help.

By Urvi S

Jul 15, 2020

It was a really interesting course and I actually learnt a lot about how to approach and talk to a person in distress.

By Katie M

May 20, 2020

I found this course very informative and enjoyed it. Hoping to be able to help in anyway I can in this field thank you

By Keera N

Sep 3, 2019

Really well done!! The simulations were a bit stilted but did show the basic techniques to use! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

By Ravindranath. B K

May 29, 2019

Good Course to understand how to be human in this World. And empathy and intimacy has been expressed in very manner.

By Cherry D T

Feb 15, 2021

The simulations really showed the right thing to do and the things to avoid when doing a psychological first aid.

By Eléonore I

Apr 16, 2020

This course is well structured and useful. It was my first online course and it made me want to try more! Thanks

By Coach D L

Jun 23, 2021

excelente información, demasiado valiosa. Para mejorar que sea mas concreta como en la lección 10. Mil gracias.

By Maria C B

Jun 30, 2020

El curso es excelente. La dificultad se me presentó con las evaluaciones ya que no tienen traducción disponible

By MD I

Apr 19, 2020

I want to thank coursera and john hopkins university to provide this valuable course.It is such a nice course .