Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
15,899 ratings
3,907 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

PG
Feb 9, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 3,894 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Rose B

Jan 23, 2018

This course boosts your emotional intelligence! I feel (and wish to be) more attentive to people's needs, more confident to listen, communicate effectively and provide more adequate support. RAPID model is a really useful tool. Enroll whether you work with people under great distress or not, this course is a gift to all of us. :)

By Farhana Y

Oct 17, 2020

An outstanding method of explaining on how to deal with distress. I think this course should be recommended to those suffering mild anxiety or stress disorders as it helps to build resiliency by relating some of the situations. It felt like a wonderful journey escaping from the darkness and cage in yourself! Thanks a million!!!

By Udbhav S

Jul 5, 2020

It was an extremely informative course. While people may feel this is a waste of time as it does not advance their professional careers, I feel it is an important life skill, especially the part about active and receptive listening, that everyone must have. I strongly recommend taking this course no matter what field you are in.

By Elizabeth J

Oct 15, 2020

A lot of instructors can be really boring to watch which distracts from the learning aspect of things. But the material was really interesting and was presented really well. Having videos showing what to do and what not to do was awesome. I learn by seeing and listening along with doing so this course worked out really well.

By Edmar T

Feb 15, 2021

This course is excellent! Very straightfoward, clear and instructive, with a focus really on the practice of PFA.

I'm in the last year of psychology, in training for becoming a therapist while the pandemic is in course, and it certainly is going to help me attend to people in acute distress, whether because of disasters or not.

By Jorge V G P

Sep 28, 2020

The concept is really simple, relatable and important. The delivery of topics were really clear and I appreciate the video. The video enhanced my understanding of the concept really well. Dr Everly is very professional and passionate in his approach on the topic. I'm looking forward for more similar topics to learn. Good luck!

By Manuela S

Aug 9, 2020

Excelente! Muy completo, especifico y detallado, una buena combinacion de la modalidad teorico-practico. Incluso para algunos que nos desarrollamos en el campo de las emergencias desde hace un tiempo, aporta de manera bastante significativa en cuanto a procedimientos mas eficaces para proceder, agradecida con esta oportunidad.

By Kenneth C

Jun 10, 2020

Having gotten a psychology degree seven years ago now, it's always refreshing to get both a refresher on that knowledge and to find a very practical application for all of that prior learning. The lectures are very explanatory, and the use of a simulation is very helpful to see how these concepts and this model can be applied.

By Fabiola C S

Aug 9, 2019

El curso me encanto. Me pareció muy útil para conocer el metodo Rapid. Mi parte favorita fueron los videos ya que me ayudaban a comprender la importancia de generar confianza y indagar sobre las emociones de la persona. Asimismo, me gustó conocer el proceso de triaje psicológico. No obstante no se como recibir mi certificado.

By Mohammad A

Jul 21, 2020

Finding exactly what you looking for is definitely interesting that what I do find through this course because I am always keen to help but to do it by the professional way that is the difference. everything is a perfect time, material, discussion forum. Thank you so much, Dr George Everly, we really appreciate your effort.

By Shivangi K

Oct 27, 2018

I think this course is ideal to learn about the basics on psychological first aid. RAPID is a neat model that helps individuals gauge in the best way possible how to help survivors of trauma in a meaningful and efficient manner. I am glad I took this course, even though I am a psychologist myself, this was a good refresher.

By Sandy G

Aug 24, 2020

I loved this course so much. It was so good I could not stop watching and listening so I finished the course within a day.

Psychological First Aid is a course everyone should take, especially given the fact that we currently live through a world wide pandemic which causes so many people to experience Psychological distress.

By Rishabh J

May 4, 2020

I haven't written a 5 Star review for any of the other courses I have taken, and I have undertaken quite a few. If that doesn't motivate you enough to learn more about PFA models like RAPID, from whatever source, then I don't know what would. This is a great resource to get started, and I'd definitely recommend it. Cheers!

By Martin W M F

Jul 31, 2019

The course is extremely clear in deconstructing the single parts of the RAPID-model and explaining them step by step. The instructor, Prof. Everly, has a wonderful style: calm, humble and with some very good advises hidden in each video. PFA is a useful sphere in disaster situations that everyone should at least encounter.

By Yi Z (

Jun 16, 2017

It's a great course! The RAPID model introduced by Dr. Everly is a very practical step-by-step guidance to provide the basic psychological intervention in a crisis situation. Very easy to learn and practice. PFA is a great personal skill to have which can not just help people in need but also enhance personal resilience.

By Teri S

Mar 11, 2021

This was a very informative course and learned lots and know that PFA is so important to aid individuals right after a traumatic event, so that they have someone to talk to. This helps them start to get support as soon as possible and any further supports set in place if needed. Really helps with Mental Health as well.

By Deepak K N

May 3, 2020

Hello i am Deepak, first of all thanks to sir George for this great course ! simple techniques, wonderful simulation and easy understandable explanation make this course fun and exciting ! As Sir told us that it is an intervention not a therapy or treatment ! So it is our duty to help people who are at risk ! Thank you !

By Ayudia S

May 2, 2020

It helped me a lot in understanding how to perform assessment, prioritisation, intervention, and disposition. Although in a sense the steps are actually similar with providing physical first aid's, the difference is that with psychological first aid you have to able to be present as a support instead of being the 'fixer'

By M. K

May 1, 2020

It has been an amazing journey to learn psychological first aid. It looks simple and yet it is very complex process and our course instructor taught us with ease. I really liked role play, it helped me learn more in real life and practical scenario. Thank you for amazing course that will help many souls around the globe.

By Teresa W N

Apr 23, 2020

The course was very relevant to my work. I have been teaching PFA in the past and I learned new things in the presentation. The simulations were great. I will add that to my trainings. The instructor is very efficient and able to capture the reader`s attention. I enjoyed the whole experience immensely. Thank you indeed.

By DR O H Z

May 29, 2020

why expensive certificate since i am working in primary mental health care in p h c c and i am working

in confrontation of covid 19 and iam trying to establish psychological first aid (P F A force)in my p h cc and it is very important to help for certificate to be free in this time

sincerely

DR OMAR HAMOUDY ZARZAR

By Kay S

Jul 28, 2019

Highly recomanded even if you are known to trauma care. Psychological First Aid were unknown to me, but I work and study part time within mental health (psychiatry and psychosomatics) as a physical therapist. There is always talks about active and reflective, but never showen/told or goten to experience it - until now!

By John N

Sep 13, 2017

This is a highly accessible and immensely valuable course for anyone who may be intervening in a crisis or natural disaster. It is geared toward first responders and public health workers, and it has the simple, noble aim of enlarging the body of people able to help in their community after a disaster. Excellent stuff.

By Maša P

Dec 1, 2020

I must add a comment, from this perspective and point of time. I have finished this course just in time. I had a hunch I will need it. I just couldn't predict how much. I have used things I l have earned here every single day since the pandemic started,

This should be thought in elementary schools.

Thank you so much!

By prerna

Jul 19, 2020

The course evaluates your understanding on levels of care for others and self too. Also, implies how different first aid is to the therapy with the help of their model. Over-all, the course is totally worthy. thanks for making this valuable course, Johns Hopkins university and main gratitude to Dr. George Everly Jr. .