Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,288 ratings
3,974 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

GT
Dec 19, 2019

Great structure and interactive format. Clear expectations and excellent materials. Subject was explained in an effective manner that was easily understood and applied. Very useful for any profession!

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 3,977 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Leander S

May 23, 2020

It was an excellent learning experience for me since I'm a nurse and an instructor of the school for jail officers here in the Philippines, I can use this new knowledge in teaching my students.

Thank You John Hopkins University...

Thank You COURSERA and

Thank You DR. GEORGE EVERLY... :)

By Anthony R

Apr 12, 2020

A great course! The structure is clear and linear and the course builds upon itself. It leaves us with a very good understanding of the topic, without learning pain. George's presentation is engaging and dynamic. One piece of constructive criticism: the slides could be a bit funkier.

By Alexis D

Sep 5, 2017

Excellent course. I don't intend to use the skills learned through this course for emergency situations, but who knows... I'm hoping that what I've learned will help me help former cult members. I especially appreciated the Rapport and active listening part of the course. Thank you !

By Maryam S A C

Feb 17, 2021

Before starting off I anticipated that this course will be good but I couldn't even imagine that this course will be that much amazing and I am just thankful to Gorge sir for being an amazing lecturer,for those of you guys who wants to take this course, I will suggest just start it.

By Ariadne N

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent course! The professor is very straightforward and puts everything into a context which is very helpful for the ones (like me) who don't have many experience with the subject. The simulations were also helpful and well-made. I have only good things to say about this course!

By Farah

Aug 14, 2021

It's practical and applicable knowledge. I love that it has situational scenarios for you to apply your understanding to. I'm an educator and a military volunteer so the course was really useful. Actually, it's the first course I paid for to get a certificate and I don't regret it.

By Douglas P

Oct 3, 2020

The information is so important and inspiring. The explanations are great and the quizzes are well-written. The obvious weak point is that the PowerPoint slides are cluttered and should be re-done or replaced. However, the rest of the course is so good that I didn't mind very much.

By Dr. U F F

Apr 16, 2020

This course has given me confidence to help people in distress. Also, I have learnt to be more resilient to personal disasters. It was a great experience. Coursera is doing a great job reaching out to learners at their own pace and catering to the curiosity of individual learners.

By Kinza J

Aug 31, 2020

The course was above my expectation. The instructor Dr. George Everley conveyed the lectures by making them interesting and there was not a single boring point during the lectures. Moreover, the simulations were great and it helped in clarifying the concept completely. Thank You!

By Anacleto C B

Aug 14, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, it is really timely because of the Pandemic. I could be able to help and apply PFA to those who are anxious about the current issue and help them ventilate what's on their own mind and somehow re-frame the threat and correct their mis-perception.

By Justine G A

May 27, 2020

I am more than ready to alleviate people’s feelings most especially my students’ should they experience adversities or difficult situations. Thank you so much Coursera, Johns Hopkins University and for the experts who helped me fully understand what Psychological First Aid means.

By Robert W

Mar 21, 2021

Excellent introduction to topic,, getting tasks and skills in most helpful order. Using well done interview as model of what to do (and not to do) provides practical examples. Seems to me these skills could be useful in many crisis situations from day-to-day to true disasters.

By Gerardus H P

Sep 29, 2020

The Course helps me to assist the person in need. I am working in the school which a lot of the students have their varieties of family background. Some of them experience bullying. The course helps me to create a compassionate and social support culture in the school community.

By Sara S

Jul 1, 2020

This was a wonderfully produced and a very engaging class; the course material is very applicable to our COVID-19 experience. I would love to take additional classes from this professor that dive more deeply into techniques and resources that were the overviewed in this course.

By Vladislav F

Apr 29, 2020

It was my first class linked with the first aid, and it was really fantastic. I'm an engineer and a manager, so I didn't knew nothing about PFA. Fortunately I applied for this course and it changed a lot. Many thanks to the professor George Everly and his team for their work!!!

By AB D

Apr 25, 2020

I learned practical skills of providing psychological first aid to my family, friends, and myself in addition to learning how the Psychological First Aid technique provides tools for volunteers without any help to cope with the surge of demand for care during a major disaster.

By Tripurari J

Mar 28, 2020

One of the best course for common man for building social resilience to be the first responders in case of a disaster or calamity. There is a great vision behind designing this course. It can help mankind in a big way.

Thank you so much for making this course available online.

By Muhammad B

Jul 1, 2020

Love you Dr. George Everly, i have never experienced the child like excitement of learning something new for almost 8 years. You broke that spell. Amazingly good structured course in which every word out of your mouth is priceless and full of wisdom. This course is priceless!

By Kiran B D

Apr 22, 2021

An excellent course for Volunteers, new learners, professionals seeking an innovative Model called RAPID model that provides easy to understand tools to help support Survivors of Crises/disasters and help them to bounce back through stabilisation and normalisation processes.

By Samuel M

Nov 17, 2020

I was able to learn a lot of Psychological First Aid in a very short amount of time. George does not waste any of your time, everything he says is succinct and understandable. I really enjoyed this class, and feel much more confident in being a first responder during crisis.

By Gladymae L

Oct 22, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course which I will get to use in the future in case something happened and need social support deployment. I'll be happy to volunteer myself not just to make use of the things I learned but for the main reason to help people in need.

Thank you

By Deleted A

May 31, 2017

This course give me the understanding how the counseling or empathizing should be like, especially dealing with the people who have a hard problem. But, being patient and calm when dealing this kind of situation is the root key in order to have a smooth flow of conversation.

By Alex F

Mar 22, 2021

As I enter the field of EMS, this course has really helped me become more confident in approaching patients experiencing severe stress or traumatic situations. I will always remember the lessons I have learned in this course and I am so glad I decided to take it. Thank you!

By Daphne B

Feb 5, 2021

Absolutely excellent course, I have learnt invaluable knowledge about how to apply Psychological First Aid. Dr. George Everly is a brilliant lecturer, not a single moment of boredom and totally interesting.

Additionally it is a privilege to study at John Hopkins University!

By Nur-Miko G

Oct 18, 2020

The course was presented in a very engaging way that's easy to understand with or without a background in psychology. I commend Dr. Everly and the Johns Hopkins university for developing the PFA RAPID model, as this is a skill that I think will benefit anyone who learns it.