Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,288 ratings
3,974 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

GT
Dec 19, 2019

Great structure and interactive format. Clear expectations and excellent materials. Subject was explained in an effective manner that was easily understood and applied. Very useful for any profession!

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 3,977 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Pimpichaya T

Jun 17, 2020

I find this course very useful. Even if it is a method intended to help mostly people from crisis, I personally think that it can also be adopt into our daily life. The teacher makes each topics easier to understand. The situation vignettes also aid in the learning process.

By Marwa M

Jun 16, 2020

This course has been really helpful. Now is a time when I think PFA can be effectively applied to people after this pandemic or even during it. It is not a detailed course but I think it will help us enough to help us to be able to help others and make an effective change!!

By Dan

Apr 11, 2020

Great Course to get to know the basics of psychological first aid. with a very well designed structure and some good videos to get a deeper understanding and impression of the practical part.

More over it also gives some advice for selfcare which I consider as very important

By Bilge K

Apr 3, 2020

Thank you George for explaining each and every step in a simple but profound way. Simulations were really helpful to understand the essence of the first aid and I found myself several times stopping the video and thinking about the possible ways of supporting and listening.

By Aimee S

Aug 29, 2017

Extremely practical and helpful for those looking to work in disaster relief situations. As an RN dealing with people who have suffered from war and disaster related injuries, I think this course if very helpful in laying out a logical course of assessment and intervention.

By Ida G

Jan 3, 2021

The lectures and videos were engaging and easy to understand. The simulations were very useful in showing the proper way of conducting PFA. The Instructor was an expert, no doubt about that, and very generous in sharing his knowledge and experiences.

Thank you very much!

By Eduardo J K

Nov 29, 2020

Curso relevante e interessante. Ensinado por um dos maiores especialistas no assunto, este curso tem como objetivo ensinar as ferramentas básicas para ações na área. Há vídeos teóricos e de simulações de caso que ilustram bem o emprego dos conceitos ensinados em cada área.

By Tiffany

Aug 12, 2020

I easily understand the lectures, especially with the examples of what to do and what no to do in a psychological first aid. This course will definitely help me as a undergraduate student majoring in psychology and also others in need of psychological first aid. Thank you.

By AMANPREET G

Aug 2, 2020

I hope that someday, when I am sitting with the victims of harsh accidents that have shocked them, this course will allow me to be sensitive while I intervene and lend them a hand. Thank you Doctor and the team, for all your support and teachings. It was really insightful.

By Jason G

Jul 19, 2020

I really thank Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and especially Mr. George S. Everly Jr., PhD, ABPP for making this course available for everyone who are interested in supporting others after a tragic event. I hope I can use this skill to help others in need.

By SHESSY C

May 5, 2020

It was as an interesting surging course for the starters . I have learnt the RAPID model the skills required to handle the adversity .This course was simplified and the methods of teaching can be intervened from my perspective. Please introduce the next levels of the PFA.

By Roman A d L S

Nov 4, 2020

This just the right course for me to equip myself with history and basic concepts of Psychological First Aiding. Highly recommend taking this course for those mental health practitioners and advocates and those aspiring volunteers or you just want to acquire new skill. :)

By Zenne S L

Oct 17, 2020

It was fun and engaging. Well-organized; the pacing is good. I found this course very helpful in my career. There's no problem in this course, and I only hope this would be seen as an important facet in every psychology students not just those, but also all professionals.

By REBECA S O

Oct 9, 2020

Me gustó mucho este curso, creo que se tocan los temas necesario y se enseñan de una forma bastante buena, hablando desde el área de la salud me parece formativo y complementario además de útil en la practica, como bien se menciona su aplicación representa una diferencia.

By Nicolas O

Aug 2, 2020

I want to say thanks to Dr. George Everly for the excellent course. Through classes, I was able to learn a lot about psychological first aid and I am sure that this knowledge will be essential for my experience as a future health professional. Thanks to everyone involved!

By Nikki

May 21, 2020

Fantastic course, just the right length and useful video examples. Some very useful insights that can help me even outside disaster response scenarios - e.g. I have already noticed that I can respond better to friends and family who are facing distress in their daily life

By Bárbara I R R

Apr 14, 2021

Brilliant course! I had a great time doing it. I loved the way Dr. Everly guide us through the method and the simulations he gives. I hope to do such a good job as him when implementing what I learned here. Congratulations to the creators and participants of this course!

By Sergio A S

Aug 25, 2020

It is a very helpful course specially designed for people working in the areas of Public Health, Educators, emergency responders, or for people with little or no psychological background.

Very well done and spoke by the professor, with a lot of details easy to understand

By Myca R

May 30, 2020

Exceptionally, interactive, it kind of feels like a game sometimes with the situation. Psychological First Aid needs to be known and used through out the world to stabilize or minimize the acute stress of a person who has been through a traumatic event such as disasters.

By Geo H

Jun 29, 2021

Highly informative in regards to both personal and professional outlook towards individuals all across the spectrum.

Helps to further self in areas perhaps not recognized prior to being introduce to this course.

Recommended to all as a self starting road map to self help.

By Christy B

Jan 22, 2021

Wonderfully put together. I felt that it was the right amount of information and the interactions were great. Dr George Everly is a very engaging speaker and is able to keep your interest through it all. I will be using the subject learned in my role in our community

By LOH Y S

Dec 29, 2020

As a psychology student, I gained a lot of knowledge and better understanding by taking this module which I could apply in my daily activities and also my study. Not only for a psychology student, but this could also benefit all the people to understand one's behaviour.

By Saranne D

Jul 8, 2020

Very informative and enjoyable. Forced me to think more about the Who and the Why during and incident. Not everyone is the same and no two people will react the same way. It's made me think about how I shouldn't assume anything but truly LISTEN, empathize and assist.

By Beh B

May 10, 2020

The course is relatively easy to follow. Learners to grasp the content well with the video scenarios which helps us to better visualise & understand the concepts. This would definitely help in your life, whether in work or personal aspects. May the world be safe & well!

By Isabella o

May 9, 2020

The training was a mind opener! I discovered I actually did not know much about PFA. I feel knowledgeable and empowered. I will be using the notes regularly to to improve on my grasp of PFA. Thank you John Hopkin University for the fantastic delivery of this course.