Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
12,810 ratings
3,228 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 3,210 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Jenniffer V M

Jul 19, 2020

Eu estou realmente feliz em ter terminado esse curso e escolhido exatamente este para aprendizado. Tudo é muito didático e de fácil entendimento, além de o professor ser muito atencioso, mesmo online hahaha. Só tenho a agradecer pela oportunidade que vocês deram a mim e a tantas outras pessoas, de ajudar o próximo de uma maneira que as vezes nem consideramos fazer a diferença. Realmente, muito obrigada!

By Тополева Е А

Sep 24, 2020

Thak you very much for the course! A am counseling psychologist and new earlier about interventions, but the structure of information how to work with trauma all this "emergency" strategies are veru useful for me. Also now in pandemic whether a person is an employee of a psychological service or not, it is useful for anyone to take this course. Moreover, the material is presented clearly and in detail.

By Jamie L F T

Jul 2, 2020

very interesting and enlightening teachings on psychological first aid - the listening skills learnt can be applied to our everyday lives as well, not just when working with people who suffered trauma. Prof George is very engaging and the lectures were well-paced and well-explained. The videos of crises and the simulations were very helpful in aiding my understanding of what to do and what not to do.

By Edilberto B G J I

Jul 6, 2020

I would like to say thank you first to God for using me and for leading to this course inorder for me to help others inconnection with Covid19, Thank you to George Everly, Jr., PhD, Thank you to John Hopkins University, thank you Coursera and to staff behind Cousera, thnak you guyz for the unfailing love and dedication to help people like by giving a free course, thank you guyz, God bless you guys!.

By Aya

Jun 2, 2020

a lot of people are complaining about repeating the same scene, but I think that's the right way to see all of the aspects in the same situation!

the course was simple, easy to understand, and full of great information

what I have learned that these stips and techniques will help you deal with anybody's problems around you, you don't even have to be in a disaster place or inside a war

THANK YOU SO MUCH

By Jareth C

Apr 20, 2020

This course was a useful overview of the PFA process. If you've had similar training, e.g. MHFA, this makes for a good refresher of its paradigms as well. If I had to add some comment for improvement, I may suggest that the pre/post survey questions be scrubbed to coincide more with the material covered. Nevertheless, this was a great course I'd recommend to anyone with a passing interest or desire.

By Stephan L

Jul 25, 2020

This is an excellent and well-conducted course. The instructions are clear. The course is very practical in nature and takes users through best-practices and helps them understand the reasoning behind the best practices and risks, when psychological first aid is not properly carried out. I do recommend this course not only for professionals in the field, but literally everyone who cares for people.

By Vanessa P O

Jul 22, 2020

Un curso demasiado bueno!!. Estaba buscando formación complementaria entorno a este tema y este curso me ha abierto una puerta inmensa a muchas posibilidades con las cuales trabajar y ayudar a personas en situación de vulnerabilidad.

El docente George Everly me parece de una claridad y templanza extraordinaria. Muchas felicidades por el contenido del programa y el desarrollo del curso. Es excelente.

By Nikhil R

Aug 22, 2016

This course is an easy to follow introduction into the world of PFA based on a well constructed RAPID model and taught by an experienced professor. The nature of presentation using a clear introduction into the topic being taught, a lecture on the topic and clinical vignettes of the right or wrong way to implement what is being taught allow a variety of learners to come away with understanding.

By Yessica L

Jul 17, 2020

I enjoyed learning all about helping others in the crisis times. George was great! Super easy to understand and listen. The quizzes were fun challenging and very educative. I will definitely get the certificate. Another thing, is that RAPID can be used in daily life with friends and family. Resources are harder to find but is Definitely something I will look forward to. AMAZING COURSE!!!!!!!

By Natalia B V

May 20, 2020

Este curso me pareció muy útil, fácil de comprender y completo. Reforcé varios de los conocimientos que ya tenía y a la vez aprendí bastantes técnicas nuevas, especialmente para situaciones en las cuales no se busca realizar terapia, sino brindar una atención rápida y asertiva durante una crisis. El material fue apropiado y la simulación permitió ver con mucha claridad los conceptos teóricos.

By Esther E S

Jul 8, 2020

It is a very relevant course for the present day. What a delight it is to see communities help each other! However, not everyone is born into a supportive community. Taking this course, however, has helped me gain a community, even just virtually. This course has also ministered first aid, unknowingly, to me. I will always be grateful for finding out about the Psychological First Aid course.

By Nguyen H N

Jul 5, 2020

A really nice course, even if you cannot fully understand the lesson, the simulations will make sure you do. helpful advices in general, not just dealing with people in need (victims of disasters and traumas) but also normal people. In cases like you accidentally touch some of the painful memories, this course somehow help me not to freak out and say stupid stuff that may make things worse.

By Patricia A M P

May 13, 2020

This is a great and valuable experience! Dr. George Everly is a great instructor, with his expertise for over 40 years. This course is essential, most especially to the countries where countless disasters usually happen. As a public school teacher, a public servant, this made me prepared just in case my learners will need Psychological First Aid from me. Thank you so much for the knowledge.

By Ceren S

Apr 10, 2020

I must thank you for this opportunity. It was exciting for me to learn a new model and the instructor explained it very clearly so that I can remember what I have learned. A lot of things that were covered in the course can be applied to various situations, they are not limited to adversity so I thank you again for my personal development. I hope I got to take another course from you again.

By SASHA A M

May 6, 2020

I am a Psychology student at University of Trieste and before this course, no one ever taught me how to respond and help' people in a situation on emergency. Since this is one of the fields I'd very much like to work in, this course has been very helpful and has taught me so much. Also the lessons are very easy to follow, even for people who don't speak fluent english. Thank you very much.

By Sarah B

Apr 14, 2020

This course is a perfect introduction to Psychological First Aid. The overview of PFA is succinct and easy to follow. You will learn some basic skills for building rapport, assessment, prioritizing individuals, intervention, and disposition (including following-up). I would recommend this course for anyone who may be exposed to trauma in their lives (which is to say, anyone and everyone!).

By Azni H A

Aug 18, 2020

It's my first time learning this psychological first aid. Learning this course, has given me new knowledge in ways to handle when we meet people in need of psychological first aid. I feel that this is very helpful since I don't come from medical background. Now that I have learnt, I am feeling more confident if I am given opportunity or if I face similar situation as shown in the course.

By Cresha L M

Jul 29, 2020

I am an undergraduate student here in the Philippines and planning to pursue medical school after. I enrolled in this subject out of curiosity and also as an experience since this is my first ever online class and I enjoyed it to the point that I was able o finish the whole course in 2 days. The assessment videos really helped a lot to further understand the lectures provided. Thank you!

By Lyneth V R

Apr 20, 2020

I personally learned a lot in this course. More than Psychological First Aid and all its theories and components, I learned about its application, as a life skill that I believe will trully help me help others, not just during posttraumatic events, but in life as a whole as well. Thank you Sir George, the rest of Johns Hopkins and all those people behind for making all these possible. :)

By Isabelle T

Jul 27, 2020

I'm grateful to Dr. Everly for offering this free training! This course gives a fundamental understanding of psychological first aid in a very informative and engaging way. The simulation videos are great to facilitate understanding on what not to do and what can be done. Dr. Everly's knowledge and experiences make it easy to learn this topic from him without mental health training.

By The B M

Jul 9, 2020

Great course. Helped me learn a lot about Psychological First Aid and crisis intervention. I would try to use the techniques of the RAPID model taught in this course whenever I get an opportunity to help stabilize people suffering from acute distress and would try my best to mitigate their psychological distress. Thank you, DR. George Everly, for this wonderfully insightful course.

By Ashley W

Oct 19, 2018

The way Dr. Jorge Everly presents this course is incredible for a free online course. This is my second course from Coursera, I've taken and the first one is just one big lecture it sounds like - no stopping to break anything down, no slides, not much summary and review.

This course was incredibly easy to retain knowledge in and presented in such a warm way by the professor. Thanks!

By Adam C

Sep 7, 2020

Thank you Pr George, jhons Hopkins University and Coursera for this wonderful course, which i enjoyed and willing to put all the knowledge and skills/tools on practice. The only thing it's the course is free with free certificate but i cannot see it. I only see the option to purchase the certificate which is confusing.

I appreciate your help to get the free certificate. Thank you.

By Cristina G d l M

Nov 18, 2016

Un curso muy útil y bonito con el que aprender como actuar de forma correcta en situaciones de emergencia. Me será muy útil en mi formación como psicóloga y estoy segura de que en algún momento conocer estas técnicas me será de gran ayuda. Muy recomendable para cualquier persona del entorno de la sanidad o los servicios sociales y para cualquier persona interesada en este ámbito.