Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Public Speaking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Public Speaking by University of Washington

4.8
stars
1,454 ratings
489 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you a reliable model for preparing and delivering effective presentations. In business, in school, and in public life, we are often called upon to “make a few comments.” Often, people tasked with such speeches become flummoxed. They might not know what to talk about, or ramble without making a point, or simply be confusing to listen to. This course is designed to help you shine where others falter. We’ll learn how organize talks clearly, write them memorably, and deliver them confidently. By the end of the course, you should be able to significantly reduce your fear of public speaking, use rehearsal techniques to develop a strong, vibrant speaking voice, and perform speeches with dynamic movement and gestures. The speech model that we’ll practice is useful for briefings, elevator talks, interviews, and even as a structure for hour-long presentations. If you’re a beginner, this course will help you quickly master the fundamentals of speaking. If you’re a seasoned speaker, this course will help you better understand public speaking and push you to the next level....

Top reviews

AJ
Jun 5, 2020

Excellent course for who are starting to speak in public or who are already a public speaker, no matter you join this course to get more tools & ideas to make your speech interesting to the audience.

MS
Jul 15, 2020

This is indeed a very good course for a beginner since it discusses all the ways of preparing and delivering a proper speech with necessary theoretical as well as practical classes and assignments.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 490 Reviews for Introduction to Public Speaking

By Leopoldo P

Oct 19, 2020

It's a very good course and professionally designed. Too bad that there is no selection of candidates halfway through...some students can grade us (even very low without explaining why) and show little dedication overall in completing their tasks this undermining the image/reputation of online learning

By Michał B

Dec 23, 2019

The content is great and very useful. Videos are highly well prepared and organisation of the materials is top notch.

The grading process is flawed, because we're getting grades from random people and unfortunately many of them don't put much effort into it or leave senseless feedback.

By Santosh S

Jul 30, 2017

Very good course for beginners in Public speaking, particularly focusing on key-point or impromptu speech. I enjoyed the structure, course, assignments everything. I attend toastmasters, so this worked as a complementary or refresher to what I am practicing at Toastmasters. Thanks.

By Andrey

Dec 14, 2017

Overal good course for beginners. Also, if you even have a huge experience in public speaking it will help you to structure what you do well and what can be improved.

However, the delivery could have been better. Too many weird examples.

By Mohammad A R

May 31, 2020

Great course. I have learned so many things that will help me in future. I warmly thanks to our instructor. Indeed, i would strongly recommend the course for those who are very passionate about their career as a public speaker.

By Divya a

Sep 24, 2020

the public speaking concepts are very much clarified through this course, the speaker was able to explain each point clearly and concisely, and it turned out to be a very helpful and meaningful session.

By Sachin Y

May 19, 2017

I have a great fear of Public Speaking. After taking this course, I came to know various ways and methods of getting over them. Thanks to the team for creating such a wonderful course.

By Eric Z

Dec 22, 2020

This was great as this is an alternative to people who don't have access to a public speaking course at their school or just not at that point yet.

By Chananart V

Sep 13, 2019

Content is great. just on the peer-review session that sometimes have varied comments.

It's be great if there is at least a TA to help grading too.

By Mansi G

May 14, 2017

Taught simple and effectively. I enjoyed making the speech videos and highly recommend it to all who are trying to improve their public speaking.

By Rakesh k

Jun 26, 2020

Yes, introduction to public speaking is just the tip of iceberg, go further in other courses in this type to build your portfolio

By Probin T

Jul 11, 2019

This course is very useful and helpful for the students, professionals and teachers as well! I love this course!

By Prajakta S

Jul 20, 2020

A very good course for beginners! Teaches you how to prepare key point speeches as well as how to present them!

By Enrico D

Apr 16, 2017

It is a good introduction to public speaking, it gives you some practical pills.

By Aayush S

Aug 8, 2020

Good but ,I think the Course is too theoretical and becomes boring sometimes.

By Chappidi R S R

May 19, 2020

good professional teaching, but the technical issues of has to be resolved as

By Zahid R P

Jun 6, 2020

Wonderful course for those who have keen interest in public speaking

By Vidushi S

Apr 11, 2020

A nice course to opt for to sharpen your public speaking skills!

By Asha T

Jan 5, 2021

It was good to attend this course and it good was experience .

By Nguyen T N M

Aug 8, 2017

very good fundamental course for beginners!

By Ayesha R

Aug 12, 2020

Excellent course to enhance soft skills.

By Andres S

Feb 26, 2017

Great teahcer, has a lot of information.

By Kadam S D

Jun 8, 2020

Excellent teaching. i am satisfied.

By Mahmoud R E

Jun 13, 2017

this course is sample and uesfull.

By nithin k

Aug 25, 2020

very good course and challenging