Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
13,750 ratings
3,085 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

Filter by:

3051 - 3075 of 3,099 Reviews for Python Basics

By RAVI K M

Jul 22, 2020

no

By Swarupa M

May 3, 2020

.

By Vincent R

Aug 8, 2019

V

By Niels B

Sep 14, 2021

Q​uestion #4 on final exam kept hanging on various browsers/computers. Yes, it turned out to be my bad coding, but had to restart the exam multiple times as a result. Whatever, very bad on your part. The browser should not die, and I should not have to restart the exam five to six times!

C​lass simply needs more coding, more coding, and more coding. Got it! I've taught programming of three different languages at Texas A&M University and know that students learn by doing. More "doing" (aka coding) is needed in this class.

S​omehow in my career I missed out on Python, so am trying to learn the colloquilisims of the language, obviously not how to program. I expect more to come in the remainder of this course sequences with regards to that. Let's hope I am right!

By Timothy B

May 18, 2020

They are not kidding about basic. This module is great for anyone who has never seen any programming language before; for the rest of us, it's hours of tedious repetition on topics we can easily translate the knowledge too. Way too much time is lost with the instructors writing out every little thing and trying to teach their methodology of mapping out each code step; just show it with a print statement and be done with it. The notebook is a great idea but needs help - questions don't give you all the information needed to solve the problem the way the instructors want you to; instead, you have to decipher what they want/don't want by looking thru the failure messages

By Ashwin S

May 29, 2020

This course is quite slow-paced and unnecessarily stretched.It just teaches us the concepts but fails to invoke any creative ways in student's mind on the implementation of the concepts.Also,it's quite theoretical and doesn't have much assignment problems to practice the concepts with, just mcqs

By Yash T

Jul 24, 2020

Assignments included in this course are too easy. It kind of robs you of the satisfaction, which one gets after a steep learning curve. I must admit the instructors are good especially, the sir who cracks PJs at the end of every section.

By Parijat C

Aug 7, 2021

A satisfactory course overall, it is good for someone not acquainted with coding. However, since I had experience in coding with C and C++, many questions and explanations to things did seem very easy to be included in the course.

By NAMBIKE p

Oct 3, 2020

Excellent training some more than practically knowledge is required. Your tools are different python 3.4 tools is different.

By Shefali S

May 29, 2020

The course was awesome!!

the faculties, the video, and the assignments were amazing and just right for the course.

By Hester L

Jun 12, 2020

The interactive text book is a great tool, however, the course is quite simple and need more exercise

By Sirish K P

Aug 7, 2021

Though title is Basics, Its really very basic course and doesn't cover important concepts like OOP.

By CRISTHOPER J R A

Jul 29, 2020

I don't finish the course, but is very interesting and didactic. I want a oportunity to finish

By MD. A S

Jul 4, 2020

Their testing system was so week! It should not be that easy to complete the course.

By Débora D R d A

Aug 3, 2021

T​his is a really great course, but I think that they could make it more challenge

By Krystian G

Mar 25, 2021

some questions I felt really unprepared for and the textbook didn't always help

By Itamar A

Sep 27, 2020

Very very very basic, not only for python. Why can't I unenroll this course...

By Manan J

Jul 28, 2020

A nice course which covers the basics of python.

By SURAJ K

Jun 1, 2020

It is basic but I learnt graphics little bit

By N V

Apr 19, 2020

learned ,something from coursera

By Ajayi o J

Sep 24, 2020

It was a great learning process

By Nandan g P M

Aug 26, 2020

some concepts are missing

By chiranshu k

Jun 3, 2020

course is very low paced

By Tafadzwa S

Aug 25, 2020

got the basics right

By Reza R

May 28, 2020

very slow in teching