Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
12,474 ratings
2,763 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 2,744 Reviews for Python Basics

By Andrew M

Mar 8, 2019

I took programming courses over 20 years ago, this was a good reminder of fundamentals I had forgotten. Course is in-depth and reminded me of a university course. Great job re-creating the university experience.

By SURESH M

Feb 24, 2021

Good for the basics python course, the course was a very useful and easy way to understand, the instructor's information is very good clarity and won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

By Leonardo Q

Aug 21, 2020

Aunque ya tenía algo de conocimiento de Python con este curso entendí mucho mejor como se ejecuta Python paso a paso, como el trasfondo en el uso de sus métodos o funciones y como afecta realmente al programa.

By Oatsada C

Jun 7, 2020

This course is help me how to code with Python explain how to use for (loop) if else def

and more operations. I like Rune-stone textbooks so much this textbook help me to practice and explain how code working

By MEDABALIMI V

Mar 30, 2020

excellent course ! This course contained a very good pattern for the students who want to learn python programming language.The syllabus is awesome .The instructors are also very good with some sense of humour.

By ANKIT D

Jun 12, 2020

It was an amazing experience .throubgout the whole session of python basics

I was coming up with new ways to solve the codes this shows

how many efforts are put in this by the teachers to make the learning easy.

By Kar Y B

Jul 10, 2020

Good course for beginners, even for those who were non-programmers.

Explanations are clear and easy to understand. Thank you Profs Steve Oney and Paul Resnick!

This re-ignites my interest in programming again!

By Todd T

Jul 3, 2020

I enjoyed the interactive coding windows (Runestone Interactive) and the teaching style of the instructors. Highly recommended for beginners and cut+paste programmers who what to learn the basics correctly.

By ARNAV S

Apr 8, 2020

I am happy that i chose this course as it helped me with the basics of Python and though i got a basic knowledge but it has made mei interested in the language and i hope i can learn more from this platform.

By Semant J P

Apr 25, 2019

Loved the course! Everything was so clear, loved the spaced repetition tests, numerous quizzes, the online textbook. The faculty couldn't have done a better job! One of the best designed courses on Coursera.

By Akash N R

Jun 1, 2020

This course is exactly the one for a beginner who is interested in learning python. The course content was excellent and the way the instructors delivered it was fantastic. Looking ahead for the next course

By Stephen T

Oct 7, 2019

Very well structured and paced for the beginning programmer. Concepts are clearly introduced, walked-through, and then multiple exercises are provided for the student to develop hands-on coding experience.

By Nadia A

May 18, 2019

Amazing course that will teach you nuances of the language that you simply will never be able to grasp in a traditional class. Even if you know Python already, this course is absolutely worth going through.

By Ethel Y T

Aug 24, 2020

At the beginning I thought It was rather basic, but later on I realize how important was coming to the basics for having a solid foundation. I found out my foundations were weak. I really loved the course!

By Ahmed M A

Aug 20, 2020

I wish all other programming languages had courses on the same level of professionalism, love & dedication as what is put into this course. We need something like this for all other programming languages.

By Amrit K

Jul 6, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. The most powerful aspect of this course is its simplicity and Runestone Interactive. Now I am very well accustomed with strings, lists, tuples and various methods for them.

By Cheah J

Jul 3, 2020

For anyone who is interested to take up Python, this is the course for you. The CodeLens feature is especially helpful for students who have problems understanding the working processes of an interpreter.

By Sherwin B

Feb 17, 2021

Truly a fantastic learning experience! The material is presented in such a clear, easy to understand and fun way. It just makes learning enjoyable and addictive, in a way. The Runestone textbook is GOLD!

By PULKIT G

Aug 29, 2020

Great course! learned the basics of python very well. It helped in building the basics strong and build the confidence of learning more and more. Looking forward to the next course in the specialization!

By Wilson R V

Jan 9, 2021

An excelent course, thanks a lot, professors from the University of Michigan, for teaching Python and making it so easy to understand. Also thanks to Coursera for allowing this content on the platform.

By Nils W

Mar 22, 2019

Great course to start with Python. The additional digital book is great with the practise module in it. For me it was a little to basic, and some explained codes are strange. I can´t see the use of it.

By Gabriele M

Sep 18, 2020

Basic course, very well eplained. For those who are a little more experienced, in some situations it may seems boring, but a review never hurts. What hurts instead is the humor of a certain professor.

By Nick E

Nov 24, 2020

This is a great course for getting started in Python. If you have (even rusty) programming skills, it might seem a little slow in places. Trust me, pay attention - you will still learn new things.

By Kristian H

Jun 22, 2020

Great course which does not allow you to not learn python !! Highly recommended for anyone who wants to understand and learn useful programming, the interactions are well structured and well fitted

By Devnandan K

Aug 9, 2020

It was really a fantastic course, my first ever online course. I enjoyed taking this course and have learned almost all the basic concepts of Python. The lectures were so good through the course.