Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
12,944 ratings
2,861 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 2,842 Reviews for Python Basics

By Anmol G

Jun 8, 2020

This is one of the best online course,the instructor are very good and the content for practice is best.You can starts from very basic and becomes a master in solving the problems.

By Nutulapati S A

Sep 26, 2019

The course is absolutely fantastic! I have learnt all the basics of python language very efficiently. The instructors of this course have explained each and every point in detail .

By jonathan v s

Feb 18, 2021

The concepts were explained clearly and the examples given were insightful enough. The examples with the code lens/python tutor visualisation proved to be a clear and added value.

By 98_SAYAN G

Aug 23, 2020

that is an amazing course, i got a lot of knowledge from that course, the teachers are really well educated and good ,the always there for to help you. actually i love the course

By Patrick T

Jun 26, 2020

Good at what it's there for, teaching the basics of Python. As someone who already knew C#, it was pretty simple but useful to learn the syntax differences between the languages.

By Owais A K

Jun 5, 2020

The one who is thinking to start career in python from beginning, This is the best course with awesome content to clear your theory and practical knowledge with their strategies.

By Rahul B

May 14, 2020

I really enjoy this course of python programming and also thank you to University of Michigan to give me knowledge of python programming language and also thank you to COURSERA .

By nvspronsen

Apr 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, the assignments are fun to do and give a good hands on experience. The lectures and 'textbook' quite easy to follow. I am going for the next course!

By Luiz E d F M

May 7, 2021

Excelente curso, recomendo a todos pela alta qualidade dos professores (instrutores), assim como pela forma didática e dinâmica de se aprender a linguagem de programação Python.

By shabnam n

Nov 13, 2020

I think it is the best basic course for programming. The instructors explain everything and very precisely and make you love programming! I thought i will never learn but I did!

By sai r s v

Jun 19, 2020

This is my first certification. I got hands on experience on this course and really enjoyed....thank you university of Michigan and COURSERA. This is the best platform to learn.

By Prachuryya K

Mar 18, 2020

Extremely good course. I would recommend anyone to start with this course to start learning Python or even start learning programming as a whole. Great content, great exercises.

By Abhishek K

Feb 8, 2021

Best insturctur and best teaching style.

They are very dedicated to teaching that's why i love to study here and this is gona be my 2nd cartificate. once again than you so much.

By Yash S

Aug 20, 2020

very good course for basic python learners. too deep understanding of each topic and its runestone interactive is very good. i recommend all who just getting start with python.

By guna n

Jan 15, 2020

Really Awesome Experience. I feel this course like video games, after completing each chapter, I feel to read the next chapter. Kind of urge to play next level in video games.

By Andres F O G

Feb 3, 2021

It is a very course for new and experienced programmers that want to learn the fundamentals of the programming language, it comes with tons of examples and practice questions

By GURU A S E

Nov 4, 2020

Great course for beginners (would suggest you guys have a rough idea about coding in any language before enrolling in this , because that way ur understanding is 2X better )

By André P G

Oct 5, 2020

Excellent course! It exceeded all my expectations. I would like to thank all the instructors for the exceptional work! I look forward to the rest of the courses. Thank you.

By Lari A

Aug 10, 2020

É um curso bom. Explicações são muito boas, assim como o material para acompanhamento, exercícios, etc.

A única coisa que senti falta foi de ter exercícios mais desafiadores.

By Sayan M

Aug 5, 2020

Great for beginners, or for anyone looking for a refresher. The runstone interactive makes sure you get through the concepts by actually coding the code. Great Initiative!!!

By nandu v

May 2, 2020

This has been a great introductory course to Python. The fact that instructors touched all the basic concepts without overwhelming the learners is particularly commendable.

By Samiha I

Apr 15, 2020

This is a great course, especially for beginners who have no previous experience with python or programming. It is a fun and effective way for learning the basics of python.

By Krasimir K

May 12, 2019

Great course, Great instructors and great structure. Would highly recommend to anyone who is just starting out with basics or just wants to brush up their current knowledge.

By David C

Mar 14, 2020

Overall well structures and helpful. Good review for someone with some basic knowledge but also good for people with no background. Can go at the pace that works for you.

By Sai V

Feb 22, 2020

Very simple yet elegant introduction to the basics of python. Thoroughly enjoyed the course, would recommend it to everyone who's looking to get into learning the language.