Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
12,664 ratings
2,803 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,787 Reviews for Python Basics

By Chris S

Dec 29, 2019

Course format needs updating, particularly Runestone which has invalid dates, some grammar errors, and in some cases completed quiz questions. Overall the content is good.

By Piotr J Z

Feb 20, 2020

Too basic

By Victor B A

Jan 28, 2019

Great course to learn an important programming language like Python and to learn programming logic which is much more important for programmers than just the programming language. I truly recommend this course for anyone that is beginning their developer career, because Python's usage is increasing year by year because of Data Science, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence.

By Josh J

Jul 13, 2019

After finishing Dr. Chuck's course, this is the next one to take. It will take longer to complete, but you will have many more hands-on assignments to work on. All of the practice questions are useful (except some of the turtle program stuff). I feel more confident now with the basics of lists and for loops than I had. Overall, it was a great course for my skill level.

By Kennedy K W

Dec 27, 2018

Great course!. The numerous coding exercises, and the videos made me master a thorough firm grounding in Python 3 Programming fundamentals. Fully prepared to dive deep into intermediate Python programming modules. Thank you University of Michigan and Coursera.

5 stars!!!!

By Lizette G B

Feb 28, 2019

The course is very useful to get familiarized with Python's syntax and semantics. The materials are well designed so that students can learn the main concepts and practice their application. I highly recommend it.

By Adetola A

Oct 28, 2020

I have no reason to rate it a star less than 5! The practice exercises and modes of teaching were on point. Also enjoyed the jokes at the end of each section (lol). Sending love and light from here.

By pramod k y

May 31, 2020

This course is very good for beginners. The content and flow of the course is amazing. online practice tool to run our codes online without installing any software makes is even more user friendly.

By Akash B

Jan 23, 2019

Medium one, but needs to include some programming assignments

By Niroop H

Jan 20, 2019

Course is good but lots issues with browser cache. when grading it says answer is wrong even through answers is correct and when I restart the browser it says answer is correct. Most of the time I had to restart the browser. Please fix it. Also where is the phone number for the coursera technical support ? Thanks

By Armida J C

Apr 3, 2020

Overall, this course is very thorough and is a really great course. The instructors do a decent job at explaining the materials. I actually really like the interactive notebook/coursebook, much more than I like for example Jupyter Notebooks. But the Interactive Notebook, can lag behind on the practice questions, as well as be slow to upload the new question during daily practice, which discourages overall use. The end of section assessments are sometimes worded in ways that are not super clear making the problems a little harder to solve than they really should be. Sometimes the wording resulted in it taking 3x the predicted time on the schedule to complete the exam. Python has just been very hard for me to learn, this course has helped. I still need to keep going and maybe it will get better. Thanks for putting the class together, I wish I could have given it a higher score, but those hang-ups with the Interactive book and the wording of some problems did cause some unnecessary struggles. Otherwise, the overall content was great.

By Awdhoot K

Apr 12, 2020

course is too long and slow for no reason ...in 10 min video actual information is 2-3 min or so

By Octavio P

Apr 29, 2020

would rather program without the interactive text book

Thank you

By Antonio T

Oct 2, 2019

Very low level if you has some knowledges about programming.

By John H

Mar 11, 2019

Subject covered in lessons was very basic compared to the knowledge required to complete the final assessment. I suggest either modifying the final assessment to more closely resemble the practice questions given throughout the course or else to change the course content in order to give students the knowledge they need to complete the final assignment.

By Harsh T

Jan 6, 2020

you should must give 2 months for the course to complete it and charges alsoe that you taken is for 2months

By Mikel R

Oct 20, 2020

Being very technical, and having trained many people over my professional career, and having written thousands of pages of technical documentation and training materials, I was very surprised at how poorly this course is put together.

One of the key principles which is missing, is the gross lack of explanation of why the code does things they way it does. Maybe there is companion materials not available in this course, but when a search on Google to try to clarify something which was not explained in the lectures nor in the written portions returns no results, then there is something seriously missing.

Very disappointed. I expected better from a course created by a university. I purchased a course on a different site and within the first hour, that course clarified numerous questions that I had after spending multiple hours review the course work in this course and on the internet.

By henloy A

Feb 9, 2019

Great Course with excellent content and learning videos. Instructors and instructions are very concise and meaningful. The course is broken down into manageable portions and each portion has ample examples and practice. The tests and practice tests are helpful in testing your knowledge

By Youcef B M

Jul 30, 2020

#It's a very good course to start learning python I thank all the teachers

teachers = ["Paul Resnick", "Steve Oney", "Tianning Bai ", "Jaclyn Cohen"]

for teacher in teachers:

print("Thank you", teacher+"!")

By Yurii P

Dec 19, 2018

Great course! Python3 from Michigan University much better than previous! I was surprised. A lot of practical examples, tasks and tests about all casual but important things. Thank you a lot! 5 from 5 stars

By BOYU K

Dec 15, 2018

It's an amazing course, which utilizes lectures, online reading and assignments to help student understand all of knowledge points. I will strongly recommend this course to my friend. Thank you very much!!!

By Rashi R S

Jun 3, 2020

Amazing course. The ActiveCode and CodeLens helped me a lot with the problems in Python. The concepts were explained very well and I developed a great liking to Python! I can't wait to learn more!

By John H

May 27, 2020

The course teaching how to think as a programmer, not just the syntax of one language. The dedication and motivation of the teaching staff comes through in the delivery and content of the course!

By parth s

May 10, 2019

very nice explain of each and every topic in deeply nice textbook concepts with own e-notes its covered almost good content about basic python it is really good course for beginner in this :)

By Paul L

Jan 16, 2019

Great Course. The material was excellent and i only needed to take a small amount of notes. It was well explained that the information stuck in my head (at least for the time being)