Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
13,817 ratings
3,096 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 3,110 Reviews for Python Basics

By Alex B

Sep 13, 2019

I've been in the IT field for 20 years--doing infrastructure stuff.. Linux, Microsoft, AWS, NetApp, VMware, Splunk and etc.. I have never been able to REALLy learn a programming language until now.. This course methodology is driving Python programming home..

It's the method of teaching that works well.. I'm blown away! I feel like I have a new super power..

By Fahim R

May 28, 2020

I think this is the best beginners python course. For me they both help to develop the basic concepts of python as well as the debugging strategy and most importantly though it is a basic python course but it introduces the OOP concept very naturally and smoothly. Highly recommended for the beginners or whoever wants to develop a concrete basic in python.

By Debasish P

Aug 30, 2019

This course is a stepping stone to learn Python and believe me the material and the way of explanation is so simple that even a person with zero knowledge will be able to learn easily.

One small thing wanted to highlight that while doing this course please give all your concentartion into this.

Hope they keep on upgrading the course over the time period.

By Akshat P

May 30, 2021

Nothing less, it deserved 5 stars. The course was in a lucid manner with everything explained so' deeply' and in 'beautiful' manner. Mr. Steve Oney taught everything in great smplicity and Mr. Paul Resnki also explained it in "jokee" maner but also cared about simpicity. In the end your exercises and interrective notebook was great I cannot forget it.

By Punit K

May 29, 2019

This is one of the best beginner/intermediate courses on programming and python I have pursued. The course does it all to equip you with skills needed to start off as a programmer. Inspired by the engaging way the course brought python to me, I am planning on taking up the companion series of courses through Coursera which cover chapters section-wise.

By RAHUL K S

Sep 2, 2020

If you want to learn Python with interest and have the motivation to explore right from Scratch, it's for you. I had done some Python courses already but I was amazed seeing many new things to learn. The way Professors are teaching the courses here is totally amazing. I work in Corporates and I feel enthusiastic to learn and grow. Deeply inspired.

By John L G T

Apr 19, 2020

the class was really great. they explain to you the basics step by step, even though it takes some time, i understand this beacuse some people cannot grasp the concepts very fast. it was also helpful that there is this online book where you can read the topic again and try it in a virtual python IDE so i dont need to install python on my computer

By Jason J D

Jun 13, 2019

This is one of the best Python courses out there. The course instructors are very involving, and teach in a fantastic manner and at the right pace for a beginner. The course overall also has good reading material and other content for practice. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn Python.

By SANYAM C

Jul 26, 2020

The best course for your basics and introduction to programming. I loved Runestone the most among the resources provided in the program. It's constant evaluation, programming in between the textbook and Codelens were the main reason which forced me to move forward with the course. If possible I would love to continue and learn from it forever.

By Nahuel P

Oct 26, 2020

muy util, informativo, "facil" para alguien que no tiene idea sobre programar, con mucho feedback y en ingles lo cual es importante para ir practicando tus habilidades con el idioma en la programacion, ademas tiene mucho contenido y bien explicado junto con una herramienta de practica muy util como lo es el runestone book, 100% recomendado.

By Daniel O A

Sep 23, 2020

Any beginner who wants to be on a journey to be an advanced pythonister, I will recommend this course to you. As lecturers in this course provide individuals with solid foundation in python and ease in grasping what is being thought due to vivid explanation. Therefore you have a concrete foundation to build on more advanced python knowledge

By Shaik K M

Aug 5, 2020

This Course is Awesome and I Learnt a Lot which I didn't even after completing some other online courses on other platforms. This Course Specially The Course From University of Michigan is Much Better than anything I had before. I would Highly recommend This Course to Start Learning Python even if Someone is New to the World of Programming.

By Yvette W

Feb 23, 2020

The videos, readings (which reinstate the videos), the questions in the readings, and the optional questions-per-day are enough to nail down the concepts. The pacing is well done. Bits of information to help you learn without getting overwhelmed. People with lots of programming experience will be able to go through the lessons very quickly.

By Rahul B

Jul 19, 2021

T​his is an amazing course for understanding the basics of Python 3. While I have had some programming experience, the course is well-suited for someone who has no experience. It has a very good mix of course material, videos and practice exercises. I would highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to take up Python 3 programming.

By Marlowe J M

Oct 19, 2020

The learning experience is great, I se, C++, C, java, VB.Net, C#, PHP, javacript even action script, however phyton has its different shortcuts with list and strings making it even easier to deal with them, unlike with these programming languages and scripts i have to create my own class object to so I can have all my shortcut algorithms.

By Abhinay G

Jun 16, 2020

This course in Python is a must for everyone who wants to start learning python. The use and explanations provided by the professors are easy to understand. Runestone application acts as a great platform where the one can practice coding directly in the browser without needing to toggle to python interpreter installed on the computer.

By Syed A I

Mar 24, 2019

I am extremely thankful to the University of Michigan for your extremely detailed and influential course on the subject of Python Basics. I have learnt a lot from this course, and would be thankful to the Team University of Michigan and Team Coursera for the rest of my life for giving me this opportunity to learn from you. Thank you.

By Bruno C F P

Nov 20, 2020

The course is very good in general. It goes in deep on very details about the basics of the Python programming language and for that it make use of a good material very well prepared. I strongly recommend this course for everyone interested in learning python, but specially for those who do not have any knowledge about programming.

By Suraj B

May 23, 2021

The course was designed so well that even a student like me, who doesn't have programming background can easily understand the concepts. Coursera has always provided great courses and this course named 'Python Basics' was a teaching masterpiece by professors of the University of Michigan. Looking forward to learn more in Python.

By Ajay K S

Apr 9, 2021

I am new to programming almost fresh, but there method has been strikingly sticking. Bravo Professors

Excellent course design, Please allow students who completes access to complete the study and assignments in the external tool so one can practice a little more in the short time he /she might have.

Thanks to full team once again.

By ThaGamerGranny

Dec 14, 2020

I think this was an amazing course. I took the first course from Dr. Chuck so I had a little more background knowledge coming in, but I think this was perfect. The interactive book was such a HUGE help to my retention of information. Thank you so much for supplying such a well organized course. Looking forward to the next one.

By P P K

Jul 8, 2020

One of my dream is to learn python, for which I started working over an year ago. But I could not reach at-least a minimum level, until I found this course on Coursera. I am so fortunate and happy to share that now I am good at Python Programming. Thank you very much to the Professors of University of Michigan and Coursera.

By Abhishek D

Jun 10, 2019

It was a good course .Learnt a lot about loops,conditionals and yes graphics too ! Turtle graphics was fun.

Amazing instructors and syllabus covers all basic topics .

What makes this course different from other python courses is that interactive textbook provided by University of Michigan . That helped me a lot . Thank You.

By Ashwin G

Apr 25, 2020

Excellent course. Everything is taught from basics with well-developed exercises and quizzes. Easy to understand language and very well narrated videos. Though do not expect it to be very deep in programming, as it only a part of the complete python program. I would definitely recommend this for a complete beginner.

By Seif K

Mar 9, 2021

The brain behind the creation of this course is marvelous! The contents lets student keep reminded every time about the materials have been covered so far... THAT'S GREAT!!. The only thing I think the "reload history" button should be removed from assessment page so that the assessment could be look like real exam.