Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
12,961 ratings
2,864 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,847 Reviews for Python Basics

By Cheah J

Jul 3, 2020

For anyone who is interested to take up Python, this is the course for you. The CodeLens feature is especially helpful for students who have problems understanding the working processes of an interpreter.

By Sherwin B

Feb 17, 2021

Truly a fantastic learning experience! The material is presented in such a clear, easy to understand and fun way. It just makes learning enjoyable and addictive, in a way. The Runestone textbook is GOLD!

By PULKIT G

Aug 29, 2020

Great course! learned the basics of python very well. It helped in building the basics strong and build the confidence of learning more and more. Looking forward to the next course in the specialization!

By Wilson R V

Jan 9, 2021

An excelent course, thanks a lot, professors from the University of Michigan, for teaching Python and making it so easy to understand. Also thanks to Coursera for allowing this content on the platform.

By Nils W

Mar 22, 2019

Great course to start with Python. The additional digital book is great with the practise module in it. For me it was a little to basic, and some explained codes are strange. I can´t see the use of it.

By Gabriele M

Sep 18, 2020

Basic course, very well eplained. For those who are a little more experienced, in some situations it may seems boring, but a review never hurts. What hurts instead is the humor of a certain professor.

By Nick E

Nov 24, 2020

This is a great course for getting started in Python. If you have (even rusty) programming skills, it might seem a little slow in places. Trust me, pay attention - you will still learn new things.

By Kristian H

Jun 22, 2020

Great course which does not allow you to not learn python !! Highly recommended for anyone who wants to understand and learn useful programming, the interactions are well structured and well fitted

By Devnandan K

Aug 9, 2020

It was really a fantastic course, my first ever online course. I enjoyed taking this course and have learned almost all the basic concepts of Python. The lectures were so good through the course.

By Nestor L D F

Jun 23, 2020

This course teaches you not only the basics of programming in Python, but also teaches you the right way to approach problems by thinking analytically, both in programming and in everyday life.

By Silver C

Sep 19, 2020

I learned all the basic coding skills with this course! Strongly recommended. I had previous experience coding with python, but after this course, my knowledge and skills have increased a lot!

By Ankur B

Mar 15, 2020

It was wonder full course with world class facility. if you are keen to learn something new technology with full concept, this is the best platform. Learn and build a better world tomorrow !!!

By Sherlyn H

Oct 15, 2020

The class is very basic. Excellent for people without a programming background. Slow for those who do, but you can skip through concepts you already understand. The exercises are very useful.

By Dusan L

Jun 15, 2020

I really like this course. It's simple enough to be easy to follow, but serious enough to actually learn things. The e-book tool is of enormous help. I really liked it. Keep up the good work!

By Johnal D

May 13, 2020

Truely, an amazing learning experience; Paul Resnick and Steve Oney you made the concepts so easy to understand and the practice assignment made it very easy to understand the basic concepts.

By Nadine L

May 2, 2020

great for beginners but the textbook is good but i would like to have a PDF textbook for practice offline and need more exercises on debugging during the 4 week trail and the official course.

By Rohit D

Jul 5, 2019

Great course to learn the basics of Python. Loved the instructors and loved the detail-oriented lectures and learning material. Would highly recommend to anyone serious about learning Python.

By Aishwarya k

Apr 20, 2021

Very detailed explanation. Ideal for a beginner. The interactive textbook and exercises were very useful.

Just one feedback : I would love to have more practice exercises to solve and learn.

By Marvin M

Aug 18, 2020

Excellent course, being able to test your programming skills while you advance thru the class is really critical feature that distinguishes this course from other online programming courses.

By Dhiraj

Aug 2, 2020

The course covers the basics of python and can be taken by anyone comfortable in basics of any language. it helped me revise my knowledge and also learn strings and list operations in detail

By Lester J

Mar 11, 2020

The readings were awesome; recorded video sessions were a bonus to make it stick! The exercises really cemented the concepts. Will proceed to the next level. Thanks for an awesome course.

By Ralph P

May 3, 2019

The course provides different methods to learning - video, reading, and skills challenges. While the repetition of material slowed things down, it helps retain information for the beginner.

By Nikhil M

May 13, 2020

Excellent content, one of the finest and to the point teaching, just one thing is that it's kind of boring sometimes. just little that if that can be worked upon than thsi will be the best.

By Natalia M G

Sep 18, 2020

Es un curso increíble, las herramientas de práctica son muy útiles, las diferentes lecciones son bastante dinámicas y son muy buenas para alguien que no tenga ningún conocimiento en Python

By Jinal G

Aug 9, 2020

This course is so perfectly structured . It is very useful for all those who wanted to learn programming with no prior knowledge at all & also for those who want to brush up their basics.