Chevron Left
Back to Python Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Basics by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
12,505 ratings
2,772 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of Python 3, including conditional execution and iteration as control structures, and strings and lists as data structures. You'll program an on-screen Turtle to draw pretty pictures. You'll also learn to draw reference diagrams as a way to reason about program executions, which will help to build up your debugging skills. The course has no prerequisites. It will cover Chapters 1-9 of the textbook "Fundamentals of Python Programming," which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is for you if you're a newcomer to Python programming, if you need a refresher on Python basics, or if you may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is the first of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

NR
Oct 17, 2019

It's a must join course for the people who want to deep dive into the world of Python. I really loving this course very much. I wanna explore more hence opting for other parts of this specialization.

DK
Dec 7, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 2,755 Reviews for Python Basics

By Abhishek K

Feb 8, 2021

Best insturctur and best teaching style.

They are very dedicated to teaching that's why i love to study here and this is gona be my 2nd cartificate. once again than you so much.

By Yash S

Aug 20, 2020

very good course for basic python learners. too deep understanding of each topic and its runestone interactive is very good. i recommend all who just getting start with python.

By Gunanithi S

Jan 15, 2020

Really Awesome Experience. I feel this course like video games, after completing each chapter, I feel to read the next chapter. Kind of urge to play next level in video games.

By Andres F O G

Feb 3, 2021

It is a very course for new and experienced programmers that want to learn the fundamentals of the programming language, it comes with tons of examples and practice questions

By GURU A S E

Nov 4, 2020

Great course for beginners (would suggest you guys have a rough idea about coding in any language before enrolling in this , because that way ur understanding is 2X better )

By André P G

Oct 5, 2020

Excellent course! It exceeded all my expectations. I would like to thank all the instructors for the exceptional work! I look forward to the rest of the courses. Thank you.

By Lari A

Aug 10, 2020

É um curso bom. Explicações são muito boas, assim como o material para acompanhamento, exercícios, etc.

A única coisa que senti falta foi de ter exercícios mais desafiadores.

By Sayan M

Aug 5, 2020

Great for beginners, or for anyone looking for a refresher. The runstone interactive makes sure you get through the concepts by actually coding the code. Great Initiative!!!

By nandu v

May 2, 2020

This has been a great introductory course to Python. The fact that instructors touched all the basic concepts without overwhelming the learners is particularly commendable.

By Samiha I

Apr 15, 2020

This is a great course, especially for beginners who have no previous experience with python or programming. It is a fun and effective way for learning the basics of python.

By Krasimir K

May 12, 2019

Great course, Great instructors and great structure. Would highly recommend to anyone who is just starting out with basics or just wants to brush up their current knowledge.

By David C

Mar 14, 2020

Overall well structures and helpful. Good review for someone with some basic knowledge but also good for people with no background. Can go at the pace that works for you.

By Sai V

Feb 22, 2020

Very simple yet elegant introduction to the basics of python. Thoroughly enjoyed the course, would recommend it to everyone who's looking to get into learning the language.

By Nitish T

Mar 8, 2021

This course helps me a lot to enhance my coding skills in python programming. This course provides several module in python where you can build your projects using python.

By Apoorva J

Mar 30, 2020

As a beginner to computer programming, Python Basics Course was rightly paced and easy to understand with the Runestone textbook being very helpful for practice exercises!

By Gleb E

Jul 24, 2020

This course was for me a big step on my path to AI mastery. I think there was an adequate amount of practice and theory what were the great basement for further learning.

By Rohith K K

May 11, 2020

The runestone textbook and the coding environment has helped me so much in learning Python. Kudos to the creators for helping the students learn in the best way possible.

By pavan m

Jul 31, 2020

This course is very helpfull for the phyton learners at beginning level.lecture vedios & reading material is very helpfull & easy understand.i really enjoyed the course.

By Maria d C S F

Jul 22, 2020

Excente curso, esta muy bien organizado, es fácil de entender y los ejercicios te ayudan a entender las sentencias y la lógica de las diferentes estructuras del programa

By Habtamu S

Jun 16, 2020

This was an interesting course. I have taken python course before, but this digs deeper and allowed me to understand the reason why the python code acts the way it does.

By Davies T

Jan 31, 2020

Well taught and explained course

Runestone and Codelens are wonderful tools and well integrated into the learning environment

A great way to learn any programming language

By Mike C

May 17, 2019

Very solid. I especially like the online textbook with the interactive problems. The lectures and the textbook covered the same material so I don't think you need both.

By Коновалов М С

Nov 29, 2020

Курс для начинающего программиста на Python сложный и увлекательный. Для проверки своего кода использовал IDLE Python 3.9

Большое спасибо команде University of Michigan!

By Moshiur R

Aug 5, 2020

Awesome course! I loved the instructors. The Way of the Programmer was very unique. Really loved Professor Resnick's jokes! Overall a really great course for beginners.

By Salma A

May 1, 2020

Excellent instructors, quite engaging and make the concepts easier to understand. After I took this course, I now plan to complete the specialization and apply to MADS.