Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
23,890 ratings
5,360 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
Mar 15, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 5,283 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Yoann G

Nov 8, 2017

Among more than 20 MOOC followed, I guess this is the worst one. I won't repeat here the arguments of other learners.

By Jialie ( Y

Jul 9, 2017

Bad tutorial video, scattered teaching content, not corresponding homework, lack of material to review the lecture

By Yiming L

Oct 14, 2017

course too fast, they don't explain anything, just run through example. The worst course I have taken on coursera.

By Stephen B

Apr 11, 2017

Unorganized and not very useful. The main goal of the course is for you to use Stack Overflow.....SAVE YOURSELF $

By Ana O R

Mar 28, 2017

This course is a joke. Contents is very very poor. And you will have a lot of problems making the Assigments.

By Mayank J

Apr 11, 2020

The instructor was pathetic. He is simply reading the text and not putting in any efforts to explain things.

By Lulu L

Nov 21, 2016

The lectures are insufficient, the homework instructions are incorrect, the autograder is terrible.

By Suwandy W

May 31, 2020

the teaching materials provided by christopher is too brief. can be improve by more elaboration.

By Vikash K

Jun 22, 2018

pathetic course. Not for anyone who wants to learn python. Its for them who already know python

By SARTHAK S

Nov 28, 2020

Very tough question asked without proper teaching. Course should be made learning oriented.

By Madhubalini V

Nov 2, 2020

very hard assignment and confusing that i have to withdraw from doing :(

By Adeel J

Oct 29, 2017

Instructor is not interested in teaching but just reading out the script

By ROMASANTA, M J (

Oct 30, 2019

This course is not suited for beginners, who wanted to learn python.

By Sourav S

Jun 26, 2018

Horrible. Explains nothingJohns Hopkins data science is FAR superior

By SAFO E

Jan 12, 2021

i have been unable to follow the course and i want to exit

By Md I H

Aug 8, 2020

Poorly organised. No helpful resource. Really sad course.

By haozhen6

Aug 27, 2017

Vedio is useless, I only need to go through the code.

By José C V

Apr 28, 2021

too fast .... needed to pause the video constantly

By Alireza A

Nov 10, 2019

the teaching pace is very fast and not so clear.

By Brics C

Oct 27, 2019

Gap between lecture and assignment is too high.

By james c

Apr 30, 2019

Disconnected, too broad, could have been great.

By Justin.Sun

Nov 2, 2018

Worst class ever! The instructor sucks!

By Shivani A

Sep 24, 2019

Not exactly benefited.Too fast

By 许骐

Jan 30, 2019

autograding system is terrible

By Bugra S

Jan 2, 2018

assigments are not clear