Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,856 ratings
5,563 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 5,507 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Tianrong W

Aug 3, 2019

Please give us clearer instructions and definition of terms for each project. I don't want to waste time on understanding questions. Besides, it will be great if you can give us more hints on which functions to use, for each question. Because from my experience I find that reading hight quality codes is the best way to learn a language! Thank you.

By Jim L

Jan 29, 2019

For the non-programmer, this will take quite a bit longer than you would expect. Very detailed though and the forums provide a lot of help, fortunately since enough people are taking this course to make community feedback useful. A few of the instructors are helpful in discussion forums as well, although sadly not all of them are equally helpful.

By Alper K

Jul 22, 2020

Even though it was harder than what I expected for an introduction course (actually it says this course requires some previous knowledge and it is an intermediate level course, i just didn't see it), i really liked it. Assignments were very good and they made me learn a lot of things. However, course lecture could be a little bit more explanatory.

By Izabella J

Aug 21, 2017

Great course. Quite challenging, but the videos gives a lot of informations, so to solve assignments you need only a little of your own research. But you need a lot of your own work in understanding what's going on. Good course, it's not exactly the beginners level, rather beginners +, but after the course you are able to do something on yourself.

By Joseph F

Jun 27, 2021

Loved the course. If you are interested in data science and want to start from the basics, this is the course. The more you put into the course, the more you get out of it. Don't forget to go through the class exercises. Those are very critical for your learning process. I strongly recommend this course to anyone planning to take up Data Science.

By Jerry S

Mar 5, 2017

This course is very challenging but worthwhile. Having experiences in data analysis with python, I still feel the assignments are really hard to complete. BUT it is really worthwhile, and I improved my skills in python A LOT! The auto-graded system is AWESOME! I sincerely recommend this course and really appreciate the work of the teaching staff!

By Pawan P S

Apr 30, 2020

it was a exceptionally remarkable course for anyone who wishes to persue in the field of Data Science in Python Language. Got a headstart for myself also, and hope that it will lay the proper foundations for my career to become a sucessful one and will also grant me with knowlege in my field!

I WILL DEFINITELY COMPLETE THE WHOLE SPECIALIZATION!

By Timothy M

Mar 8, 2018

This was an outstanding course. It was a great introduction to pandas, and also some good exposure to data science. The homework via jupiter notebook was a great way to practice the new skills, and the auto grader is informative and helpful about submission mistakes. The forum is very well maintained by the staff. Thanks U-mich!

By Luo M

Jul 25, 2017

Very well constructed course. Admittedly, there is a pretty big gap between the content in the lecture and what is needed to finish the programming assignment. However, I think this is by design to help learners understand the content better and to seek solutions outside classroom. Highly recommended for anyone interested in data science.

By Harshit G

Apr 19, 2021

A great course to get a solid foundation of Data Science in Python. Course material, recommendations and discussion forums are very insightful. User-friendly tools and flexibility is a bonus. You'll surely get to level-up your programming and problem solving skills. Completing it will surely increase your appetite for Python programming.

By Ramya K

Jan 20, 2019

While this is not an easy course for beginners to python programming, I found it enormously helpful. You'll need to consult other resources to solve the assignments but that was the best part of the course. The assignments taught me much more than just the lectures. Dr. Brooks is a little too fast but you'll adapt tot he pace eventually.

By Tim W

Feb 6, 2017

Very rewarding course. As many others have mentioned, the learning curve in the assignments is steep and the time estimate of 4 hours/week is unrealistically short. It took me about three days of full-time work to finish the course. Great into to working with data structures in pandas, data cleaning and basic statistical tests in python.

By Anirban D

Feb 18, 2019

The explanation of the pandas library was a bit fast in my opinion, but apart from that, the instructor was clear in explaining the usage of the library and its application. A great course overall. I would suggest that a basic understanding of the pandas library would be useful before attempting this course although it is not necessary.

By Mohd F B A

Jan 25, 2018

I went into the course expecting the course would be a breeze. Boy! I was wrong. The course start easy on you in the beginning. Week 3 and i'm starting to feel the heat. Books and stackoverflow was my best friend going through this. Thanks for the great course. Teach me a lot of new tricks. Don't be fooled by the word "Introduction to".

By Juan R C C

Jun 20, 2017

It's a very interesting course. very recommended for who wants to acquire Data Science fundamentals using a powerful tool like Python. For who hasn't previous experience with Python it's required an additional time to review examples and docs in the python communities but all assignments are meaningful and the effort has a good payback.

By Ryan B

Feb 3, 2017

The duration of the course (4 weeks) was ideal. It was manageable as a part time course. The tests helped me a lot to practice and learn the concepts deeply. The forums were very helpful in clarifying the questions. The video quality was great.

Many thanks for this great course which is made available online for free for all the world.

By Hassaan S

Nov 17, 2020

Absolutely perfect course for learners who are very new and also for those who already have some experience in the field. A challenging path for students new to python and data science which helps improve the skills significantly, I would like to thank the instructors and the faculty which is actively available on discussion forums :)

By Jonathan B S

Jan 13, 2017

Great introduction to pandas and the basics of data cleaning and preparation. The video lectures are great and the optional readings are interesting. I had a blast working on the assignments and learned quite a bit. I would recommend this as a good starting point to anyone looking to learn how to use python for data analysis purposes!

By Frederik W

Jan 24, 2017

The course is well structured and clarity of teaching is impressive. The assignments have a good mix of easy and progressively tougher questions that build on the syllabus and challenge you to manipulate data in your own way. I can warmly recommend this course to anyone who wants to begin manipulating and analysing data using python.

By Donal O

Sep 30, 2020

Worthwhile course. Tougher than I expected and a good start for my Python learning. This course focuses on assignments which challenge your understanding with real world data.

Would definitely recommend to someone who is beginning their education in Python and Data Science, but has a general understanding of both before they begin.

By oubouzar

Dec 27, 2016

Thank you very much for this course. I really enjoyed the level of the course. In particular the fact that a decent amount of research was needed to work on the assignment.

A few issues with the programming assignment. Especially at the beginning. I am assuming this is because this is the first version that uses jupyter notebooks.

By Ardiansyah

Aug 16, 2020

The course is very useful and really brought me into the practical use of pandas. While following this course, I do my office work and research work using pandas, and it helped a lot. Knowing that I could use some pandas' feature (informed in the course) and extend the feature's knowledge by reading online forum is really excited

By Pierre C

Nov 26, 2016

I learned A LOT during this course. I was even able to apply some of this knowledge at work after week 2 (and I do not have a technical job - I do this on my own time).

It did feel a little complicated at some times. Some more detailed explanations in the assignments could help. We don't always know what the autograder expects...

By Michał S

Apr 10, 2020

I strongly recommend this course to people with zero knowledge of Data Science, but also to people with some experience that want to switch from R to Python or to freshen up their knowledge. Also I really liked the assessments, they were challenging enough to really learn something. I think they are the courses main strength.

By Lokshyn O

Nov 21, 2018

Great hands-on course on Python pandas. The assignments are from intermediate to hard and instructions are not rather clear, but everything could be solved using pandas documentation and discussions forum.

The biggest advantage of the course is that it makes one think, dig documentation and practice pandas real-world examples.