Chevron Left
Back to Python Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Data Structures by University of Michigan

4.9
stars
83,496 ratings
14,785 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the core data structures of the Python programming language. We will move past the basics of procedural programming and explore how we can use the Python built-in data structures such as lists, dictionaries, and tuples to perform increasingly complex data analysis. This course will cover Chapters 6-10 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Excellent instructor
(503 Reviews)
Helpful assignments
(254 Reviews)

Top reviews

AC
Jun 18, 2020

Great course for pyhton. Loved this course and enjoyed it. Thanks to Dr.Chuck. If anyone who want to take a course which is well explained and fun for python learning, then Hey!!! this is your course.

AD
Jul 23, 2020

Excellent explanation. Professor Charles kept the course from being monotonous. Learnt in depth about reading from file, sorting dictionaries and appending lists. Looking forward to learn more courses

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 10,000 Reviews for Python Data Structures

By Nickson O

May 17, 2020

The instructor has made learning Python structures more enjoyable and digestible. Each exercise is a buildup of the previous knowledge. Every concept is interconnected, and as we get deeper into Python, data structures are ever more important. They are the basic building blocks. As a learner, I have discovered Python isn't as simple as the instructor has made it to look. And this is a nice thing because it keeps me going and wanting to learn further. I like the way the lecturer has focused on imparting the basics upon which I can polish.

By Tuo K

Jan 24, 2018

Very good. Two suggestions from my point of view would be: First, it would be even better if some flashes/animated films be used to illustrate the logic behind python programming. The trace of the electronic pen seems a little bit hard to catch sometimes. Also, as a learner who doesn’t live in the US, I sometimes find a few “American English” words/slangs hard to understand, for example “blast off” and “histagram”? Although I can guess what they mean, but still it would be better if more “International English” can be used in the course.

By Rebecca E G

Apr 4, 2017

As the second course in the specialization, I continue to find the material covered to be useful and fairly easy to learn. Between the first and second course, I feel like both courses were able to lay and build upon a foundation of knowledge with each chapter covered. I did find the second course to be a little more difficult, but one would expect this with the addition of more code learned. However, I still felt like the graded exercises weren't too difficult to complete as a beginner to Python. Can't wait to enroll in the next course!

By Moataz A B

Apr 22, 2020

Before this course, I have had many bad experiences in learning coding, so I hated codingbut while I am surfing the internet and I read about image processing, machine learning, ...etcI found me interested in these fields but I found that I have to learn Pythonso I decided to take this coursenow,I love Python, the instructor (Dr. Chuck) teachs python in very simple way and he is amazingnow, I can say that I took the first step to start in my goal to learn more advanced application of Python

Thank you Dr. Chuck for this amazing experience

By Venkataraman N

May 11, 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. I had taken an introductory computer science course from MIT on EdX in 2018. Having retired, I dont use Python on a daily basis. I wanted to refresh my Python skills relating to data structures. This course was perfect! It is an excellent course for anyone who wants to learn Python. Assignments are very practical. Chuck, the teacher, is very friendly and enthusiastic. The textbook is affordable. All in all, it is an ideal course for beginners, who may be anxious about learning a programming language.

By Nicholas D

Sep 28, 2020

Chuck is an amazing professor. It's engaging and fun. I have had sooo many professors that make you fall asleep, but this guy is just amazing.

The course is easy if you have done anything with coding before and is a good simple starting point for everyone that hasn't done any coding yet and wants a first good introduction to it.

The course plus some googling helped me write a script to automate a pretty tedious task at work. And that's exactly what's so amazing about it. Python can be used for anything and any industry, job, etc.

By Mah F K

Apr 23, 2020

The professor explains very well, especially for beginners, to understand the concepts, and picks out on areas where we usually mess up the most. Areas that beginners wouldn't be able to notice if no one directly told us about, and will spend another few hours trying to debug the codes. The slides are also prepared very well, it helped visualise the output of the problem we are trying to solve. Overall, will definitely recommend this course to beginners or those that need a refresher on the basics and data structures of Python.

By Gautham G S

Aug 2, 2017

This course is amazing and teaches some really cool stuff that you can do with data structures. There are three basic data structures that the course touches on: lists, dictionaries, and tuples. In addition, the chapter on files puts together pieces of information that you learned in the previous course on getting started with Python. What makes this course fun is that it provides the right amount of theoretical information with contextual examples to help illustrate the concepts. Overall, I highly recommend taking this course.

By Stefan C

Oct 18, 2016

Short lectures, good notes, and the assignments and quiz ensure you understand the material very well. Although it was more difficult than part 1, I still found everything very easy to digest and understand. Would definitely recommend to beginners or someone looking to learn programming in Python. For a more in depth general understanding of Computer Science, Take CS50 on EDX. That course is very challenging. I'm taking both at the same time and although different languages (C and Python), they serve as a nice counter balance.

By Brian D H I

Sep 10, 2020

The course is great and Dr. Chuck is incredible. I started the course with high hopes, trying to learn something during the pandemic and completely fell in love with programming, I'm an undergrad physics student and although I love physics more than programming I feel like this is a path I want to keep pursuing, I'm sure that what I've learned and will learn will be extremely useful in my field, thanks Dr. Chuck, thanks for introducing me to the world of programming an giving the initial tools to finally get started.

By Dave K

Apr 16, 2019

Very clear. The thing that separated this from other python is that he shows non-trivial uses of the code, so when you learn about things, you understand how and why they are used, not just the syntax. For example, I've taken a couple intro courses that were not as good as this. I knew what a tupple was, but there was never a really good explanation of why they would be used, and that limited my understanding of them. There were concrete use cases for this and all other content. I can't recommend this course enough!

By Mingjing X

Dec 1, 2020

this course can expand your horizon after you finished the former course to get you started, and the Dr Chuck is still as fun as the started course. Thank you Prof Chuck and Coursera, I would continue to learn the series of courses and learn Python, the elegant and cool language all my life, thank you Dr Chuck for leading me to this interesting Python world! I hope i would be in your next bonus hours hhhh! Sure i would not forget to take my certification with me and am waiting for your signing on it. Thanks professor!

By Giriraj K

Oct 31, 2018

This is the second course in the Python for Everybody specialization. The course is really structured for beginning programmers, but programmers experienced in other languages will find it useful as well.Dr. Severance (Dr. Chuck) does an excellent job of making the concepts clear and understandable. The exercises included in the course are somewhat limited, however. I strongly recommend using outside activities (Dr. Chuck provides a few sources) to reinforce basic syntax and methods, as you will be using them often.

By Karen K

Nov 18, 2020

If you like to learn step by step python, do this course, I highly recommend.

I struggled A LOT with the assignments put I kept trying until I figured it out. I can't thank Dr. Chuck enough for making these courses. Although I still feel like I a newbie, which I guess you are after just two courses (and no programming experience before), the way he presents new topics makes me wish all professors would have a little Dr. Chuck in them. University life would be better in every way, if one has Dr. Chuck as a professor.

By Jean-Pierre F

Oct 24, 2020

Amazing course ! After I took the first course of this series ("Programming for everybody"), I felt a bit bored because I wasn't able to find the real efficacity of what I was learning. And like Dr.Charles Rusell said, this is the beginning of our Python journey, and I am really grateful for him and especially for the University of Michigan as well as to Coursera to let me have this opportunity. Now I feel that I've really learned something that will be useful for my future career and for my hobbies. Thanks Again !

By Brooke H

Jul 11, 2020

I learned a lot from this course. Between paying attention to indentations and understanding why certain lines of code need to exist to make the proper output happen. I absolutely love Dr. Chuck and the staff (specifically Tamara Brunnock). I really enjoy that the mentoring provided helps push your thought process to the extreme and allows you to actually learn and understand whatever it is you're struggling with. I love this course, I love the people and I'm super happy that I was able to accomplish what I did.

By Ariel M d A J

Jul 1, 2020

Great course! I've just finished it. I did the one before this as well, and I intend on keep going with the specialization in Coursera. I learned a lot in this course and already was able to apply what i learned in a "real world problem" (or rather a project of mine). It teaches the basics very well and has a lot of exercises in just the right complexity for being able to apply everything learned without feeling lost nor feeling like it's too simple. I highly recommend it if you want to get started with Python!

By Amanie P

Nov 14, 2016

A very wonderful follow up to the first course in this specialization. Each topic is presented in a way that is clear to understand. Assignments increase slightly in difficulty, but are still very do-able. And the graduation ceremony at the end is a nice touch as well. Overall, very satisfied with this specialization so far. Feel like I've got a good handle on fundamental programming concepts now, and am excited to continue on to the next course! Thanks so much to everyone who makes these courses possible!

By Sai H

Jun 23, 2020

To be very frank, I was dubious about concepts of python,which I gathered from many other python teaching platforms, when I was enrolling this course.I already had taken an introductory course of python before from the same course provider. Mr : Charles is indeed an excellent teacher. I find it relatively simple and easily understandable, when he explains the concepts . He is being crystal clear in his teachings and I would like to thank him for that. Very well explained and helped me a lot. Thanks a lot sir

By Mohd A

Oct 25, 2019

The Python Data Structures course run by Dr. Charles Severance has been informative, instructive and overall just great. Having tried to learn Python from a book before and had trouble with it I decided to start Dr. Chuck's course, which I can say has really paid off. Dr Chuck provides a casual yet very educational way of teaching and teaches/guides you through every step of learning the fundamentals of Python programming.Overall a fantastic course and I hope to do more of Dr. Chuck's courses in the future!

By Thomas H

Jun 23, 2019

Again, Dr. Chuck has given a fantastic extension of the introduction into Python. In this course we learn the basics of actually managing some simple data - the mind begins to tick over with possibilities. The course is delivered in a fun and lighthearted manner, with examples and anecdotes, and presented in a manner that is engaging and motivating for those who are taking this course online. Definitely a fantastic course and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to making the jump into coding and Python.

By SHITAL P

May 16, 2020

First of all I would like to thanks Dr chuck for such a wonderful graduation ceremony.

This course is wonderful. I am a mechanical engineer, doing phd. Machine learning is a part of my phd work,so i started learning python programming. Before joining the course i was thinking that python might very difficult and i was do not having any programming backgound, but Dr chuck made it so easy. Thank you coursera for this course. Its a wonderful opportunity to learn python on coursera by Dr chuck.

all the best

By Antonio S

Nov 17, 2016

This course is a little bit tougher and tedious than the first one within the specialization. This is due to the contents themselves, which are basic and a bit boring. However, they are quite important since are the building blocks for future tools and apps to be developed using Python. Luckily, Dr. Chuck makes it quite easy and bearable, as always. So it is not difficult at all to complete the course (Dr Chuck rules!). So, you should have already signed up for the course. Came on, you are running late!

By Bikash D

May 31, 2019

The course is very good for someone starting out Python programming. The course is well structured and the quizzes and programming assignment are based on what is taught in the class.

The course talks about inbuilt data structure in Python such as strings, lists, dictionary and tuples.

At the end of every week there is a Bonus Section, which is fun. The conversation with Rasmus Lerdorf (inventor of PHP), Brendan Eich (Javascript) , John Resig (JQuery) and Douglas Crockford (JSON) is simply awesome.

By Jiaxin W

Aug 30, 2016

The course is so awesome! As usual, concepts are very well explained by using good examples. I have also taken Dr.Chuck's Python for Everybody course. I am a beginner in learning Python and have some programming experience from my school's class. Honestly these two courses together have helped me most in understanding and using Python. I have also taken some other Python courses but these two really are the best for me. You can start from scratch and then build up step by step. Strongly recommend!