Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
18,397 ratings
2,784 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 13, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG

Jun 17, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,700 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Mobeen A

Jun 04, 2020

Learned a lot in this course i.e OOP, databases fundamentals. That's enough foundation to go advance in this domain. Sir Charles is an amazing and coursera is a great platform to learn. Thanks both! 😊😊

By Michael L

Jun 17, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Data bases from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access

Databases.

By Basant S

Jan 16, 2016

It was a great journey, I learnt a lot in this course and I will continue to learn all of it, many many thanks to Dr. Chuck and the staff, It's a great course, I enjoyed a lot with python and Dr. Chuck.

By Yaman B

Aug 22, 2020

Again a good course from Dr.Chuck this course covered basics of SQL and Python using database, All the assignments are very good if you want to explore more there is some good videos in Bonus lectures.

By Tomasz K

Jan 24, 2016

Very good and easily accessible. Mostly about databases and how to use them through Python, less on Python itself. The assignments were too easy though. Usually one had to add one to few lines of code.

By frantisek.kysely@honeywell.com

Nov 22, 2017

the way this course is design is absolutely amiziong. just good amount of most important information is provided. task are not too complecated to finish (maybe coudl be little more dificult:)

love it!

By Alejandra P M

Aug 14, 2017

Buen curso para un repaso de las bases de datos relacionases. Además es una introducción rápida y sencilla de como hacer conexión con una aplicación de python. Además el Dr. Chuck es muy buen maestro

By Giselle d C S B

Jan 14, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

By AB. M F R

Sep 27, 2020

I learned how to create a database model and trying to create models for my own day to day data for practicing. It's a really great tool for sorting things out. Thanks Coursera, Thanks Dr. Chuck :)

By Carl W

Jan 20, 2020

Tied together many data transfer concepts that I had heard of but did not understand. Very interesting set of topics - makes a novice understand what other languages might be interesting to learn.

By Jesse R

May 23, 2020

Solid foundation course using python with databases. The instructor is good, keeps things simple at first while still teaching what is needed for a foundational course. Thanks for all the lessons!

By Stefan Y S

Nov 11, 2018

Amazing experience yet again... Dr Chuck makes it so seamless to connect python, with web data retrieval, json/xml parsing and then linking it all into building a database from scratch. Thank you!

By Chloe S

Jul 06, 2018

Well taught course, with material made easy to understand and discussed in an engaging way. The assignments really help to solidify your understanding and are like puzzles that I enjoy working at.

By Jean R C

Mar 02, 2020

one of the best course you can take. you'll learn a lot and not just about python but about database too, XML, Json, and is really a fun fun course to take, and the instructor is one of the best.

By Muhammad Z S L

Jul 06, 2018

this course is very helpful. It would be even more charming if the difficulty level increases slightly after several training videos to throw challenge at the programmer.Rest its worth 5 stars...

By Amit V

Jan 17, 2016

Excellent refresher for me; and a good basic level course for those new to programming and want to understand the basic concepts of writing code, connecting and parsing data in a much easier way.

By Brady R

Jan 03, 2016

I had a little bit of knowledge about Python coding before taking these courses, but it was very insightful and helpful in my quest to learn more and helped instill the things I did already know.

By Khadidja A

Sep 24, 2020

I love that this course builds on top of previous ones so you can see it all coming together.

I recommend this course for everyone who's willing to expand the scope of their skills in programming

By Екатерина Б

May 07, 2019

Some of the assignments were quite challenging, which is really great. The course is more difficult than the previous two but good explanations and guidance from mentors help a lot! Thanks a lot

By Roshni F

Jul 25, 2018

The course is simple and easy.Dr.Chuck takes you through databases,how to write SQL queries,execute them and so on.My advice is to do the other three courses first and then move on to this one.

By Ivan S

Dec 20, 2017

It was very interesting and usefel advature to the world of databases with Python. I learnt how to use SQLite and Python to build databases and knew about their design. Thank you Dr. Severance!

By Chao G

Apr 15, 2016

well designed class especially the homework. by going through all the homework, i have dramatically improved my python data extraction and database management skills. Great introduction course!

By Beeram L R

Dec 28, 2015

Hands down , This course will be taught by Dr chuck need I say more, One of the best professor on this coursera platform, who explains concepts in such a way that any one can understand them .

By Dawn L

Jul 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this module. It's been years since I coded in SQL, and it was nice to be reintroduced to it. Well done to the staff who does all the grading and answers all of our questions.

By Zoltan N

May 11, 2017

Great course! It's that simple. ☺ Dr.Chuck is a great teacher! If you want to understand and use SQLite database(and basically databases) with Python, take this course. It's fun and fast too.