Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
26,801 ratings
4,496 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA

May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM

Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

3851 - 3875 of 4,543 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Vincent Z

Jan 20, 2019

An adequate python crash course. The level is good for complete beginners. People with computer science background will find this slow. Also, the labs and the lectures are completely redundant, they almost match 1:1, except that the labs often fix a few mistakes in the slides. Don't expect a great numpy intro: you will basically get array creation, indexing and slicing and basic vector/matrix operations.

By Radwan n

May 18, 2020

I am new to python I used it for the first time in this course. I found the course to be well organized. I liked the labs and how they are organized and well written. I found the course to be hands-on which I needed. I did have some background using MATLAB and found that to be useful, however, there are some differences in the syntax and the data structures.

There are not many self-learning assignments

By Anupama K

Jul 14, 2021

The videos are quite good though the pace is a bit fast. There is a disconnect between the labs and videos are concepts are introduced in the labs which are not covered in the videos. While the students are probably not expected to understand these advanced concepts and just perform the exercises in the labs, it does affect the learning experience. Suggestion is to try and make the labs friendlier.

By Varun V

Nov 23, 2018

I would have given this course a 4 star rating if they had created the final assignment which would have make some better sense in terms of what this course content and course it about.

The assignment had no concept which was explained and in the course and it gets very difficult to understand the assignment. Never been through such a poor one in my entire 15 years career. One of the worst course.

By Joan P M

Sep 15, 2020

Even it is a nice course to start at Python focus on Data analysis, I hink that the influance in IBM Cloud is too big and take te initial push of the first 3 chapters. Also, if they want to put the focus on that cloud, a more extense tutorials will be needed in that course (mostly, I had to search th "know how" of many elements, wasting time).

Overall, it is a good introductory course to Python.

By Bryce H

Oct 15, 2021

I wanted to rate this course more highly. It starts well with a general introduction to Python, which should be helpful for anyone who needs to learn the syntax. Unfortunately, the last week or so of content (related to APIs) is rushed and disorganized. Would recommend spending more time on how to build web scrapers, load/interpret data, etc. Maybe add another week of content to the course?

By Colleen O

Oct 19, 2021

This is a great course to get your feet wet with the concepts presented. But, the "hands on" labs are 95%+ done for you...not much coding on your part. Take it for what it is, take decent notes, and save the labs for future reference.

Advice to Creators:

Go thru the course, ESPECIALLY THE LABS, and update instructions, coding, and screenshots. Some things have changed since you put this up.

By Liaquat A A

Nov 16, 2021

The course was well planned however the pace of commentary in the videos was most of the time very fast which resulted in lack of understanding . In addition the Hands - On Lab was not available for a few days causing delay in completion of the course. I suggest that instead of making a commentary in the background while displaying videos the instructors should present the lecture.

By TOLGA O

Apr 9, 2021

I am taking this course as a part of IBM Data Analyst Certificate. The program became suddenly and irrelevantly challenging with this course. Why do i need all these stuff? And the things are passed so quick that it is impossible to catch up with the speed. Doesn't tell properly why sth is done in order to do what. It does not teach the logic but rather it enforces memorization.

By Dan D

Nov 17, 2020

This is course is a primer to Python and some libraries used for working with data. It covers some of basics of what certain tools can do for you, but doesn't really cover how to think or plan to do things in Python. If you're already a programmer maybe this will be sufficient, but if you're new to programming it may not give enough of a foundation about how to think in python.

By Sean H

Nov 24, 2021

T​here are some errors. Additionally, I couldnt get some of this code to work on PyCharm. It isnt much help to learn code in jupyter notebook, if I cant figure out how to install these libraries and use this code in PyCharm/Python. ALso, that Watson lab about language translation seemed to be more complicated than it should have been. I dont think I was prepared for that.

By Fabio A R

Apr 22, 2022

The course in general was quite good, but it is full of typos in the labs and to be so much time online and still have so many errors speaks very bad of the service that IBM/Coursera have contracted to moderate the course.

On the other hand, the fact that the videos and the labs say the same thing makes either the video unnecessary or the first part of the lab useless.

By Saman

Jul 10, 2020

Pros: Concise, Informative, to the Point, Hands-On

Cons: Videos narrations were linear and fast, but you could catch in the lab of course. Not for once, I did not interact with the instructor. Some content was just mentioned at the end which I believe was having much for weight and could elaborate more.

Thank you for the effort and time to bring education to the world.

By Adam S C

Apr 9, 2019

The course itself was good but the final assignment seemed inappropriate for this entry level course. Specifically, the final assignment relied too much on pre-prepared code that was not introduced in this course and did not test very much of the knowledge of the course. Overall, the learning materials are good but the assignment wasn't a great end to the course.

By Marwa A E K

Nov 28, 2019

This course is comprehensive, but so easy. I haven't found any challenge during studying it! The concepts are delivered in a good way, yet the labs are just repetition of the videos. There's not enough hands on exercises. Everything is with the answers and you got not to try by yourself enough. It would be much better if more challenging exercises were added.

By Eugene N

Mar 26, 2020

The quizes involving API seem to have technical problems after running the codes provided. Also, in the final assignment, the credentials to be used in the optional exercise don't have information on some of the important inputs for the json file such as access key. Also, the tutorial which was specified is this part of the assignment was hard to find

By Neal D

Jan 17, 2020

As a first time learner, I definitely got a fair amount of info from the course, for which I'm grateful. However, I found the production and editing of the course material extremely sloppy. In the videos, the material is presented at a breakneck pace and the slides are rife with typos, not a great thing for course focused on learning/memorizing syntax.

By Josh J

Dec 20, 2019

There are a lot of errors in the Notebooks in this course. Some grammar is so bad I can't understand what they mean, lots of typos and spelling errors. The notebooks also did not have quiz sections to apply my learning. Working out new problems using skills I learned is an important part of my learning process and was useful in previous courses.

By Robert H

Feb 28, 2021

Many of the functions and methods used in this course, especially those in pandas, have been deprecated since this course was written. The course should reallly be updated to reflect these changes. Also, the description of the final project describes analysing housing market data, but the project itself is on GDP data. This also should be updated.

By Derrick J

Oct 19, 2020

The hands on lab notebooks for python were not all that great. Some of them even having syntax errors without any input from me. As someone who is learning the skill it was at times frustrating that the lessons that were given to me in that state wasn’t a one time thing, and I was expected to learn from it when it was in itself not right at times.

By Mar G A

Jan 30, 2019

The course content is great but the peer review exam is confusing. You really have to bring a lot of patience and determination in answering the final quiz. The resources are not in the content, and you need to research outside. Which I think was the intention (?). So bring a lot patience and just focus on breaking down the steps and instructions.

By Marilyn C

Dec 1, 2019

You learn how to do a lot of functional stuff in Python, but without the context as to "why" you would want to do these things in this language, I often found myself a bit confused. The lectures were a bit fast paced sometimes. It was not well explained how to actually do the work in the labs, and it was often the same material as in the lecture.

By Kit B

Jul 28, 2020

Thorough course covering all the basics of Python. The labs were a great way to practice skills i had learnt in the videos, however I found the quizzes very short and of low difficulty. I also had to constantly stop and start the learning videos as they would often race through certain slides. I'd like to see a more challenging course.

By Sourom B

Jun 25, 2022

The course is concise and to the point, but I wish the topics were discussed more in depth. The material left me wanting for more and I had to use other sources (YT, Google, Stack Overflow etc) for better knowledge about the topics. This course would be well suited for someone who is looking to review their grasp on certain topics.

By Fayja H

Dec 6, 2020

The course videos were pretty easy to follow along until I reached weeks 3 and 4...some of those videos (loops, functions, API) were hard to follow and the correlating lab exercise questions were nearly impossible to answer with beginner level knowledge while the lesson quizzes were too easy. Please make this more beginner friendly.