Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
24,008 ratings
3,972 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 3,998 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Jonathon M

Apr 24, 2019

The instructions for the last assignment are absolute garbage and the last project as a whole is mostly a waste of time when it comes to learning Python and data science. Despite errors and use of depreciated functions, the course was otherwise great but the last project's instructions and overall design is awful enough to undo the rest.

By Derek A

Apr 23, 2019

Horrible. Forced to use IBM Cloud and IBM Watson for assignments. Typos in instructions and not enough information in Week 5 material. Very poorly organized and i would not recommend this course because of how much time I had to spend trouble-shooting IBM Watson/Cloud which I have no intention on using.

By Facundo L

Jan 27, 2021

All I can say is that I passed this course knowing nothing about Python. Is too basic, and nothing is clear probably I'd have learned more in a $9.99 Udemy course. The half of it IBM try to sell you it's tools.

I hope next courses of the "IBM Data Analyst" certificate are better

By Jacob M

Jun 9, 2019

This course is awful. The information is pretty basic and really doesn't teach you python at all. At the end of the course they hand you an assignment with coding that is way over your head and when it error's out you don't know how to solve the issue.

By Ahmed N

May 19, 2019

The course content is very good until you get to the final peer graded assignment which is very unclear what to do and how to tackle and you're left alone to tackle a ton of errors that are mostly irrelevant to what you're learning

By Shamoon T

Apr 28, 2019

so many issues with Watson STudio and IBM storage. No help from the instructors or Coursera! wasted so much time on finding solutions . Please go to threads and you would get to know every student was facing the same issue

By mike g

Apr 25, 2019

Super fast and the examples don't help for the final lab. The final lab is extremely difficult and there is almost no support or guidance to help you with it. Waste of time. I could have paid for a better python course.

By Yaniv R

Apr 25, 2020

The exercises were few and mainly required copy-paste instead of understanding. Also, the course was full of ads for IBM. Finally, there were spelling mistakes throughout the text, which is just unprofessional.

By Mike

Mar 3, 2019

Do not waste you money. There is no even a place to ask question if you are not sure. They create a forum which is totally useless as nobody answers your questions when you stuck!

By Rishi R

May 22, 2019

I have wasted a lot of time in learning how to save and upload the data on ibm platform rather than actually learning python. There should be other methods to submit our work.

By Maxim Z

Apr 19, 2021

Weeks 4 & 5 are overwhelming for beginners. I stopped my whole Data Analyst Certification because that course is total waste of time. Wouldn't expect that from IBM.

By Jose M S

Apr 26, 2019

You take more time trying to get to work the IBM products than actually learning python. This is specially salient in the peer-graded assingment

By Jan D

Oct 5, 2018

Don't take it. No Course Instructors, no help. Not worth the money...

Even the Working Platform is always timing out or has a gateway error.

By Robin P

Oct 30, 2020

A course recommendation for the devs:

https://www.coursera.org/lecture/writing-for-children/introduction-to-editing-and-proofreading-qtC7p

By ronald w

May 14, 2020

Week 5 final project SUCKED .. searching forums for 3 days with a URL that works ubtil it gets to 99% and fails. Really poor

By Alessandra C

Apr 21, 2019

Too fast paced, not very in-depth. Final project is full of spelling mistakes and not coherent with the course. Terrible.

By Michael M

Mar 15, 2021

Worse course ever

Zero connection between the explained material and the quizzes or between the different course parts.

By Sean G

Apr 24, 2019

This course is terrible - multiple typos, no support. Final project makes no sense. A total waste of time and money

By Brendan M

Nov 4, 2018

The final project should have had more guidance and instructions in order to complete in a timely manner.

By Mark C

Feb 4, 2020

The final assignment is impossible to do due to lack of information. Where is the database?

By Denis T

Apr 14, 2020

This was Python for beginners, the exercises couldn't have been missed even by a child

By Wesley v W

Feb 6, 2020

No way someone without Python experience writes the final assignment code unassisted.

By Charles O

Apr 23, 2019

Not very good, course materials do not match final project deliverables.

By Piyush G

Dec 17, 2018

lacks rigor and the assignments were way tooo easy....!! thumbs down!!

By Lee R

Jul 12, 2020

I just paid money to let IBM market their cloud services to me.