Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
26,862 ratings
4,507 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA

May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM

Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

3926 - 3950 of 4,552 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Mayur A

May 11, 2020

Initial topics in the course are well explained and cover the basics. In the later part, course rushes to complete the content rather than trying to explain it. Complex and important aspects required to solve practical problems are major missing.

By Steven B

May 26, 2020

Overall I felt that it could have been presented better. More interactive things while the training was playing in the background and allowing another pop up screen so that people could write some of the code while the course is being taught.

By Harshay S

Dec 6, 2019

There is No proper Guideline to setup IBM watson studio..It is very difficult for beginner to setup an IBM wastson studio account.The Guideline which is given in course is outdated.In the latest version The Interface has been totally changed.

By Форат Е В

Oct 24, 2021

Курс нужен для галочки. Реальные знания с него минимальные, пояснения скудные. Достаточно много рекламы собственных ненужных сложных сервисов, использовать которые не обязательно (гугл колаб привет). Проверочный материал составлен небрежно.

By George K

Apr 25, 2021

This is a solid course for beginners in programming. However the course was the fourth course in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate. The Certificate is addressed to people far from the beginner level. Bad curation of the courses

By Zheng J

Mar 26, 2022

The contents in the video most part ovelap with the hand-on tool.

Could add more pratical application/practice in the hand on tool.

The quiz is too easy.

Could put more alogotithm contents.

Don't like the machine voice of the video audio.

By Husam E A M I

May 18, 2021

I think the course is missing some of the detailed work on Python loop operations, which can be ignored if more practice afforded in the next few courses within the Profficional certificate program. and thank you for all the effort.

By Chris O

Sep 30, 2021

There were a few coding errors in the labs. It really detracted from the experience. However, I would imagine that a good amount of time will be spent fixing code for other people, so the experience was justified to that direction.

By Richard v R

Mar 3, 2021

The first half of the course was easy to follow but in the second half of the course it felt like there were several knowledge gaps. However, overall the course managed to impart the basics of Python and get me eager to learn more.

By Rajeev

May 31, 2022

A​ few items are very technical, those without prior coding knowledge will not understand it. I suggest reading some basic programming concepts to understand this.

I​ have a brief idea on linux and python, so i could scrape through

By ANKUSH T

Aug 25, 2020

it may be in more detail and informative pandas library are very difficult to understand in this lecture series try to do that it more easy way and do some example and all....

thank you so much....otherwise course is very much good

By Scott P

Apr 9, 2021

I don't think the hands on labs really helped due to the fact that the code was already entered in the input boxes. I think there needs to be blank input boxes and have students fill them in with the option to view the solution.

By Chinwe N

Mar 26, 2019

Please provide better instructions for graded assignments, and please include relevant video or tutorial sessions on topics presented in the homework (many topics were newly introduced and confusing for beginner programmers).

By Junfei Z

Mar 26, 2020

The final quiz doesn't pose data link in the assignment. Some people already have Studio account, don't need to follow the steps to open new account, had hard time to find data. Really cost me couple hours to find data....

By Brandy T L

Mar 4, 2022

V​ideos were way too fast and had to be watched mulitple times. The lab assignments didn't always align with the videos, were too complex for the knowledge of the course, and often had several instances that did not work.

By Ozge I

Jan 29, 2019

There are several typos in the slides of this course. I hoped the final assignment would be more meaningful in the sense that it would evaluate the knowledge of students on large set of concepts learned in the course.

By Kenneth K

Dec 20, 2018

Good and quick run-through of essential python. Not five stars for many errors on videos. Practice Notebooks on CC labs had usually correct info, but many videos had frequent errors which could hinder understanding.

By Josias B N

Feb 8, 2021

For someone with some experience in programming the course was light. But I have to admit if I didn't have any previous knowledge the labs would be somehow hard. It's a sudden jump. But overall a positive experience.

By Siddharth B

Jul 11, 2020

Although an adequate introduction to Python, this course needs improvement. The videos in particular need to be redone so that sufficient time is given to explain these concepts instead of moving at breakneck speed.

By Je G

Oct 26, 2020

The videos, labs and quizzes did not support one another. I feel like the material tested was not covered well. It would have been helpful to have examples in the labs that helped put into practice what was tested.

By Blair M B

Mar 20, 2019

Content was great. The way it was taught and tested was a bit choppy. Lots of errors in the video and beginner programmers would have a heck of a time completing the final assignment. You should tighten that up.

By Christine K

Mar 24, 2021

I found week 3 and onwards to be quite difficult and not at all at a beginner level. The explanations were too fast skimmed over the information, i had to go back and re-review and pause each video several times.

By Shikha K

Sep 7, 2018

'Python for data science' is best for beginner like me. I learned to work on basic tools of python like list, tuple, loop then pandas and numpy (1D & 2D). Cognitive Labs for these were great source of knowledge.

By David C

Mar 8, 2022

It would be a good course except for the IBM Watson tangent it takes. I was not able to sign-up for Watson and wasted a lot of time for no apparent reason. Otherwise good mix of theory/practice on Python basics

By Koray C C

Feb 2, 2020

Online videos are fine. But I wrote very little code and I am not satisfied with the active learning part. On top, TA's answers on my questions or other questions were inadequate or there were no replies at all.