Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
27,616 ratings

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA

May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.

From basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.

It's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM

Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

4026 - 4050 of 4,710 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Antonio M

Mar 15, 2020

Several spelling errors that get in the way of code and even the final project.

Directions not always clear, could use a little more refinement.

Overall not terrible, just did not feel to par with the prior courses in the certificate (granted, they are less technical.)

Hope this feedback helps improve the course!

By Kean T K

Mar 17, 2019

The content is well organised and presented in simple manner. The lab helps to enhance the understanding. However, the final peer review assignment is a disconnect from the course content, which requires students to google and look for the solution which is totally not related to the content of the course.

By Belachew A

Mar 22, 2020

While the course is not bad. I had a frustrating time.

Notes are too old, links are not working, Instruction are not clear and are not up to date. There were even times I was tempted to terminate my subscription. Please please make the notes up to date and improve the instruction, else shut the program.

By Linh T H

Aug 22, 2021

Although the labs and readings did not provide an adequate background for the final assignment, I enjoyed this class. However, I need more practice than just the Jupyter Lab​. Sometimes I can't even open the lab to practice. :( It was a very hard experience. I struggled a lot with the final assignments.

By Godi A G

Oct 16, 2021

good for learning basics of py, but there are several troubles.+, eg: all the lessons with quiz are truncated before starting the quiz, dr. watson version currently in use is different from the one used in the course, the hands on exercises present some errors or missing libraries with any suggestion.

By SAKSHAM A

Sep 5, 2021

This course should be a little bit more explanation and guide based for complete beginners who have no prioe knowledge of python. Many parts are skipped and are not properly explained. Most importantly the importing and installation of libraries part is not explained properly and should be improved

By Corrado R C

Jun 14, 2020

The process for learning in this course is throwing pieces of python at you with little context in how they would actually be used in the real world and leaving most of the practical labs to the very end. Doesn't seem this will actually help people retain more than 15% of what they've gone through.

By Manar M

Aug 18, 2020

The course generally explains concepts in a good and illustrative manner. The only thing I found hard to understand and wasn't demonstrated with examples is API. Furthermore, I suggest the quizzes and the lab exercises become more competitive and more advanced. The questions posed are very basic.

By Marie G

Mar 17, 2021

The exercices from week 3 to week 5 are too difficult. It would be really useful to have more exercices with a progression in it instead of one big exercises mixing everything.

The weeks 4 and 5 are really difficult to understand because there are a lot of new things explained really quickly.

By François J

Sep 24, 2019

Interesting introduction into Python, tools and some libraries. It's pretty easy though and i feel like once we reach the files management, Pandas and Numpy we should get some real exercice to practice and get confortable with those since they are super important for what are you aiming for.

By Timo N

Feb 12, 2022

In the course, some of the details were submerged too quickly without providing the basis. In other words, the structure and structure of the syntax was hardly dealt with, but they worked with it at the same time (at least in the videos). The course itself is suitable for the beginner level

By Jenna H

Apr 6, 2021

Ok course for understanding the basics of python. Some exercises (week 3-5) didn't always seem to match the basic nature of the videos and were a bit frustrating. Because it's pretty surface level and the exercises didn't reinforce my learning, I felt like I walked away not learning much.

By Elvira R

Jan 30, 2022

T​he videos are not nearly long enough for the labs. All the tools we need were not mentioned in the beginning, and the labs frequently are not complete or do not work.

T​his is not helpful for someone who is at the very beginning of learning Python because I dont know what to look for.

By Mirjan A S

May 11, 2020

All Content of this course is Very Good, But one things is irritated which is the project submission using 'IBM Watson Studio', this platform can't loading easily it is time consuming and Slow platform for data processing. For this course we need a lite platform which is loading fast.

By Chris L

Oct 15, 2019

it is a baby class for coding while it is not very challenging and practical. the code is sometimes outdated and is done in a time-wasting manner. one of the biggest problems is that the course refrains itself from using other libraries which are frequently used or common in practice.

By Myles A S

Aug 9, 2020

This course was frustrating because there were some issues with using the IBM cloud and they could not be solved quickly. As a result I comlpleted the course without completing all the practical exercises, so I missed out and did not get all the value I should have from this course.

By Florian P

Dec 6, 2018

This course does a good job of introducing the basics of python. However, the slides in the lecture videos are so atrociously formatted (and riddled with typos), that they have an annoying and distracting effect. Even in a high school presentation these slides would be embarrassing.

By Mykola K

Jun 19, 2020

Good structure, learning progressively helps. Labs are interesting and allow to learn to code. Two drawbacks: 1) very unequal distribution of work, Week 4 was too long, while Weeks 1 and 2 were light; 2) a lot of mistakes in the course, up to the point of sometimes being confusing.

By Marcus P

Dec 21, 2019

OK overall, but many links to external resources were not working and how-to screenshots often out-of-date for those services. The analysis side was a little light as too much time was spent on the intro to Python. It would have been better with Python knowledge as a prerequisite.

By Crystal W

May 20, 2020

Good course but there were large gaps in information, plentiful typos, and confusing explanations. As someone who educates for a living, I'd say this should likely be broken down into more than one course and the materials should be reviewed for grammar, errors, and readability.

By paul t

Sep 7, 2018

the material and movies were good, response from teachers to questions was terrible (takes a long time or no answers at all). the gap between the items learned and the week 5 project was too big. A lot of new things that were not mentioned or discussed in the first 4 weeks

By Elena E

Nov 12, 2021

First four weeks are excellent. Last week looks like a rushed scramble of three weeks worth of material jammed into one, multiple errors, final exam had three questions that had various problems with them starting with being unfinished to answers not fitting the question.

By Chow Y S

May 17, 2020

First 3 weeks was good and a very fast pace python lesson. When reach week 4 all goes down the rail if someone has no background on data science. Very hard to know what to do in week 4. Don't recommend you to take this course if you have no background in data science.

By parth g

Feb 8, 2020

This course was not great because the explaination was very less and the content was limited. The human touch is very necessary in any course. There was no difficulty level of quiz. It was very easy. The last assignment was moderate. Yep you can go for it if you want

By Don G M

Jun 7, 2019

The course itself explains well the content, but the final assignment is a nightmare, because proper and clear instructions aren't given on how to submit it/make it visible online. The assignment submission coding section is much tougher than the course material.