Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
23,955 ratings
3,959 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 3,985 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Jess M

Feb 5, 2019

A lot of passive exposure to basic structures of Python , but desperately needs more practice examples and more explicit exercises using code. The instructions for the final activity make a leap several steps past what is presented in the videos and asks that you figure out how to do multiple steps of code without any actual practice coding prior to that. Says its for beginners, but does not teach for beginners. Coursera needs something between Python for Everybody, which is super slow, and something like this, that assumes you intuitively get it.

By Luis D R S

Dec 5, 2020

Although I think the material is really good, I think the content of the quizzes in the videos and the quizzes in Coursera does not prepare you enough for the Lab works in the course. Those quizzes seem too simplistic and then the jump in difficulty in the labs can be frustrating for many. I suggest that the quizzes provide a little more comprehensive detail in a way that tests your understanding but also guides you to doing better jobs at the labs

By Vimal O P

Nov 9, 2021

On overall IBM data science professional certificate track: P​ros: Content is just good enough, instructors are good. Cons: IBM watson and the platform given to practise on is awful and has terrible performance and reliability issues, most often doesnt work and had an impact on my test deliverables. I personally overcame those issues to some extent with kaggle's and google colab jupyter notebook environments.

By Maria P

May 9, 2019

Weeks one to four are good. Week 5 is full of mistakes. You lose a lot of time for correcting stuff instead of actually learning them. The assignment takes double time just because of the corrections in the given instructions. The data that you have to load in order to complete the assignment are in the wrong address! More examples and coding should be included in week 5.

By Saubhagya S

Nov 10, 2021

It was said that the course will cover python from the basics. Yes basics were covered but they just flew through the basics without giving much in depth knowledge about it. Did not understand the basics much. python is an important language for data science and before we go on to the hard part we must clear the basics to build a strong base.

By Rebecca L

Nov 6, 2021

The course has so much content that is not well-organized, especially for newbies. I hope the lecturer can prepare better for the coding part and get more useful practice for us. Also, please just upload the jupyter file for us to download. That is a much more comfortable way to learn on our own devices.

By Carl-Michael E

Mar 4, 2021

This course wasn't bad exactly. The videos are very good, but the tutorials are a waste of time. One doesn't practice any of the skills learnt so it isn't reinforced.

It would be FAR more effective to have it as a semi-interactive course, where you learn something, then apply it immediately.

By Sivachandra V

Mar 9, 2019

The assignment is so bad that I had to waste at least 1 hour of time just to figure out why the picture was not changing despite me saving it correctly. I restarted the machine after an hour of research and then it got resolved. THe notebook also behaves weird.

By Kirran R M R

May 25, 2021

Course is not very well structured.

Using IBM cloud and Watson is a waste does not pertain to this course

You learn very little and its half baked.

Last week seems so rushed feels like a cut and paste. Missing a lot of details

Would not recommend this course

By Olivia V

Dec 3, 2020

Content is very uneven. Courses range from way too shallow to way too complicated, mistakes in the labs, quizzes questions about subjects that are part of the next chapter... A bit surprising coming from IBM.

By Brett O

Feb 18, 2021

Feel like this is beyond an intro course. A little disappointed, but some material was very helpful in learning about Python, but still thought it was at least a mid-level course.

By Juan F

Apr 3, 2021

The first part of the course is useful and well explained, the last one does not explain enough the contents and, although you will easily pass it, you will not learn much.

By Matthew D

Dec 6, 2020

The tutorial videos don't go as much into detail, I think you should watch/read some additional tutorials and materials to deepen your understanding

By Nathan D C

Dec 2, 2020

While I enjoyed the labs, the videos do not explain the concepts well. They assume you know certain aspects of python, such as syntax and structure.

By Mateus F

Mar 14, 2019

Really basic course.

In my opinion it should have more programming assignments and they should be harder.

By Karel H

Apr 11, 2019

The final exam had nothing to do with the course at all. Very poorly thought out.

By Divya

Feb 17, 2019

very basic .could be little advanced

By Nicole C

Dec 3, 2020

In general, the material is well presented in this course. If you already know Python programming, probably most notions and examples will seem trivial. The labs are really important to gain a deep understanding of the course material. But you won't get to actually write your own code with a very few exceptions (e.g. the urn problem). The multiple choice graded questions most of the time aren't multiple, aren't randomized (thing peculiar for instructors to omit, in an allegedly data science course), are trivial and don't get deep on the programming aspect. The instructors are almost absent with minimal presence in the forums & discussions. Last week's graded assignment is about compiling an already existing code in the jupyter notebook and you will waste a considerable amount of time trying to submit your work via IBM's cloud rather than actually working on the code itself or on understanding the underlying notions and concepts. In summary, this course certainly has a potential and can be improved on various levels (instructors availability, problem solving, etc.), but if you already know programming I believe this course will be of little to no use for you, except if you want to spend some time and money during lockdowns. If you do not, you will probably get a grasp of the basics of Python programming but, in any case, do not expect to improve your problem solving skills. Nevertheless, if you combine this course with a personal involvement in solving programming problems via Python it will could be beneficial, however I am not sure if it's worth the money.

By John G

Mar 9, 2021

I am a beginner in Python. This course covered a lot and I understand a lot more now. However, there were always steps and explanations missing. The labs were basically clear until some of the practice exercises which required a lot of things that were not included in the course. The labs in general, however, were very useful.

As many people wrote, there were so many mistakes in spelling and sometimes even in the code. Shame on IBM for not having someone proofread! Furthermore, this robotic woman never stops and never intonates when something changes on the slides. Presentations were so poor. Were they given to a student as homework to create? I don't have anything against Indians, but did the course really need to be outsourced to India to be created? I am sure that if IBM had run this course with its employees as a trial group, it never would have been released as it is. I'm sure that IBM would not offer this course to its employees. In any case, I am happy that I went through it, but am looking for other courses/resources to actually understand Python.

By Thierry C

Mar 3, 2021

Let's be honest, no one without any experience of programming is going to be an expert by the end of this course. I have learned a lot, yes, but I am far to be a Python programmer even less specialized in Data Science at the end of this. The lessons are very basics with a consistent frustrating exercise at the end of each and every lesson: for some reason, the author assumes that you already know how to program with Python, so the exercise is about something which never ever was even mentioned during the lesson. Some lab exercises are largely outdated as mentioned in one of them: "This lab describes the current version of Language Translator, 2018-05-01" in March 2021... Now, the final assignment was actually the most interesting part of the whole course as data science was actually involved with interesting data even though there was still that frustrating question about something never spoken during the course: finding a value greater than the other in a column.

By Divya G

Oct 11, 2021

This was the most disappointing of all the courses I've taken on Coursera so far. The learning curve has not been well-defined, it's riddled with errors and forum posts are met with standard replies (if at all) without ever correcting any errors or updating the course material.

Forum posts dating back to months ago can be found with the same errors that still exist today.

Rarely do the people replying to our complaints ever admit to the errors and in some cases, posts go unnoticed for over two weeks.

Thankfully, this wasn't my first exposure to Python. I shudder to think what someone who isn't well-versed with debugging or online documentation would go through.

I'm sorry I've had to use such harsh criticism to make my voice heard, but please, fix this course.

No doubt your burden is a heavy one and you do a great job in many ways, but this one just fell short.

By Anthony V

Dec 28, 2018

In my opinion, this course goes all over the place. The video lessons are thrown at you too fast, it's hard to grasp anything really, It's not well structured at all..

I was fortunate enough to have some basic Python knowledge before this, so I could get a thing or two.

The final assignment should be greatly rethought, even scrapped for something that actually lets people put their lessons to good use. The last two weeks are spent on methods and some basic data analysis functions, which is good and all of a sudden we are tasked with making faks album covers...

A good improvement would be to create an assignment which lets people practice a lot of things shown in the course, not copy pasting some code and rewriting a function...

By Deanna B

Apr 21, 2021

Disappointed. I started off enjoying this course and was taking the time to fully understand all the concepts of Python. By the second week, JupyterLab was not working and for 3 days I was trying to connect to it, to do my labs. Although I was continuing on the course work, not being able to do the labs was keeping me behind. Others in the discussion forum were concerned about the same issue but I do feel at this stage that someone should be able to notify the group of these issues instead of people wasting time trying to log onto something that has a technical problem. I eventually unsubscribed from my certification as this was not an efficient way for me to study, and was using up too much wasted time!

By Vasily A

Dec 24, 2019

The course is a brief whizz through Python and could be good on its own as a refresher for those who already know the basics of Python, however it is the final assessment that spoils the course - this assessment was probably written by different people who did not see the course itself. It does not test your Python skills, but rather your ability to set up IBM Watson Studio and IBM Cloud Object Storage, which is a pretty fiddly service for the uninitiated. Did I learn anything useful from this assessment? Probably not. There are far better Python courses out there, e.g. check out the one from the Higher School of Economics.

By Joanne C

Feb 17, 2021

Though I do feel like I learned some things from this course, I was not very happy with the way the material was presented. The first half of the labs were great, but the second half was way beyond what was being taught in this course and difficult to follow. I ended up skipping those sections and still did well on the quizzes. I think those portions need to be removed. There were also a few quizzes with answer errors. It took several times of answering the same thing for it to accept it as the correct answer. If I had it to do over again, I would learn Python somewhere else.