Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
3,956 ratings
619 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 615 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By Pankaj M N

Sep 9, 2020

It is a very useful well organized course...The interactive tool is really helpful in trying different things to clear the doubts & experimenting new things.

By James D C

Sep 9, 2020

The course was excellent!! Some parts of the assessments seemed to be outside of the material presented, but it was exciting and inspirational!! Thank you!

By Sai V

Jul 22, 2020

Peer graded assignments weren't clear had to struggle there a bit apart from that thing teaching is well and good

Happy Learning :)

By Zahid A

Dec 13, 2019

The course is well designed and whatever I have learned from this course is more than what I learned from my college teacher.

By Bharat B

Sep 4, 2019

Sometimes coding on roomstone bit of hassle, as it doesn't always give correct compiler error, so hard to debug at times.

By Saurabh P

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed the course overall but project was difficult though and file handling tutorials need to be updated more

By Parfenova N

Oct 21, 2019

It's great, because it is detailed and gives deep understanding. But a little bit easy exercises.

By ANGARA N G

Nov 17, 2020

Its a really good course with amazing teachers and i really enjoyed it a lot. Thank you so much.

By GAUTAM

Jul 14, 2020

the final assignment is not what the course teaches exactly, but still a really good course.

By Abhishek J

Apr 14, 2020

very good course, i suggest to everyone try this course, you will get a lot from this course

By Mohini B

Jun 7, 2019

I liked the course. It helped me to understand the concept of python programming language

By Ricardo D

Aug 21, 2020

Overall -- good course. I know have a greater appreciation of the Dictionary algorithm.

By Gerson R

Sep 10, 2020

The course materials are good, but would have preferred a more ambitious final project.

By JABEER P

Sep 10, 2020

very helpful to learn little more details about python functions and very interesting.

By Saurabh C

Jul 7, 2020

It was great learning about file management and file processing in python programming

By Joseph R

Jun 3, 2020

Somewhat superficial. PY4E is NOT required prior to this course (in my opinion.)

By Nigel P

Nov 10, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. The practical elements really test you're learning.

By Sakif R

Aug 7, 2020

Great experience and good online platform to develop basic knowledge of python

By Amit k S

Jun 24, 2020

Good explanation and example level is amazing they are easily understandable.

By Bohdan K V

Aug 17, 2020

The last assignment is complete shit, it has nothing to do with python.

By Setiadi M

Jun 28, 2020

The course is quite good, especially for the final assignment, thanks.

By Zafar

Mar 1, 2020

the course is good for beginers wo want to start career in pyhton

By Aditi K

Oct 28, 2019

it was good ,but i would suggest please add more examples

By Ghulam M

May 29, 2020

I am very pleased to complete this python course. Thanks

By Saaz M

Aug 5, 2020

Good but could put in more projects and less reading