Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,425 ratings
701 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 706 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By Stenio W R d S

Aug 23, 2020

there was a problem in the last assignment, because my code was right but the runestone platform always showed a timelimiterror. I had to change the web browser twice so that it could be finished. Despite of that, I learnd a lot form that course. Thank you!

By Erickson S

Feb 9, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. I do feel however hat you need to do a lot of research and studying on your own as the test and check your understanding questions have some code and problems that isn't covered in the reading and videos.

By Jon L

Jan 28, 2021

This is a great course! To be fair, I (as a Python neophyte) did have some trouble for the Final Project of the course and would maybe recommend a bit more hand-holding in that section. But I would still recommend it :)

By KIWANS B K S

Oct 9, 2020

It was a nice course starting from basic topic to some of advanced topics clearing concepts as well as their application in practice environment is a perfect blend to help grasp things to its optimum level.

By Alfian T

Jul 2, 2020

Really good course, especially for the exercises and the problems provided for the student to solve. You can learn a lot. However, the readings are sometimes redundant with the explanation in the video.

By Vikas S

Jun 22, 2020

The overall course was easier than the basics I, however, the final project made me think and understand to finish it in time. I deferred the course for a long time but it was all worth it in learning.

By Cristian M P D

May 1, 2019

It is avery good course to take. Nevertheless, there are some things that I couldn't understand very well, like uses of the while loop. Maybe more exercises or another video would be useful.

By Bavan M Y

Nov 4, 2020

no doubt this is the best course n Coursera , but you have to raise the difficulty level of the assessments so that we can execute the project even more faster without cracking our heads.

By Wayne K

May 24, 2021

Very good course with excellent practice opportunities. The spaced repetition available in the digital textbook is a great way to reinforce understanding and the lecturers are top notch.

By Ramu G

Jan 6, 2020

I had wonderful experience learning Python from Coursera. The chapters and practice questions are well organized. It helps to apply concepts and I feel confident to write code in python

By nikith c s

Jul 16, 2020

Concept clarity provided by the amazing faculty is very good. The only areas of improvement would be in increasing the no of questions and also raising the difficulty of assessments.

By Motti S

Jul 13, 2019

Great course. Loved the dad jokes. Good pace. I'd recommend a little bit of extra practice before the final project as it deals with material that may already have been forgotten.

By Gabriel G

Jul 3, 2020

the project really only had to do with week 1 and some of 2. Week 5 exercise are a joke. Exactly identical to video. You do not get any opportunity to write code till the end.

By Samanth N

Oct 4, 2020

This is where the real python programming begins. You learn more structures and methods which you will use in the future to help streamline your work environment.

By Kin F

Jun 27, 2019

Good materials. Just that grading peer's assignments seems not so attractive. Not much one can learn from doing so. A simulated code review case will be more fun.

By Mike A

Sep 22, 2021

Sort of a long and tedious course with a handful of confusing assignments. Otherwise, another good Python course from UMichigan that I would recommend to others.

By Pankaj M N

Sep 9, 2020

It is a very useful well organized course...The interactive tool is really helpful in trying different things to clear the doubts & experimenting new things.

By James D C

Sep 9, 2020

The course was excellent!! Some parts of the assessments seemed to be outside of the material presented, but it was exciting and inspirational!! Thank you!

By Sai V

Jul 22, 2020

Peer graded assignments weren't clear had to struggle there a bit apart from that thing teaching is well and good

Happy Learning :)

By Zahid A

Dec 13, 2019

The course is well designed and whatever I have learned from this course is more than what I learned from my college teacher.

By Bharat B

Sep 4, 2019

Sometimes coding on roomstone bit of hassle, as it doesn't always give correct compiler error, so hard to debug at times.

By Saurabh P

Aug 27, 2020

I enjoyed the course overall but project was difficult though and file handling tutorials need to be updated more

By Нэля П

Oct 21, 2019

It's great, because it is detailed and gives deep understanding. But a little bit easy exercises.

By ANGARA N G

Nov 17, 2020

Its a really good course with amazing teachers and i really enjoyed it a lot. Thank you so much.

By Gautam M 1

Jul 14, 2020

the final assignment is not what the course teaches exactly, but still a really good course.