Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,109 ratings
641 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 638 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By Varun P S

Aug 21, 2020

I've done two courses by now and this is just an awesome package. Instructors are good at what they do. They just put everything they know on the table. Thank you guys for creating such an awesome specialization.

By Rodrigo A C V

Sep 4, 2020

This is a great course for those learning Python for the first time, or for others (like me) that have learned Python through tutorials but never understood of the basics about dictionaries and lambda functions.

By Saiful I

Feb 26, 2020

This course has fulfilled my expectation and I've learned a lot from this course. I will refer to this course with my friends who want to learn python. Thanks a lot for providing such a well-planned course.

By RAKIBUL A

Jul 9, 2019

One of the best courses I have ever taken!

I very well organized, teach step by step. Only thing I would request to improve is to add even more exercise since wring code is the best way to learn programming.

By SUGANDH D N

May 26, 2020

Great course to develop on the fundamentals of Python Files , Functions and Dictionaries.

Course pacing is perfect.The practice tools and assignments provide great assistance in understanding the concepts.

By BALA A S

Jul 27, 2020

This course gave me an in-depth knowledge on Python using various concepts such as Functions, Files and Dictionaries. And I think this is the course which could be my first step into Data Science career.

By Pranay V

Apr 30, 2020

Excellent basics and very smooth transition from the easier to the slightly complex concepts. The way they were explained made this an excellent course and any beginner can be confident coding in Python.

By DEVIBALAN A

Sep 5, 2020

The Course was really great. Learnt a lot.

The final project was really challenging and took my whole brain (sarcasm), completed though after a great effort.

Liked those kind of challenging questions.

By Eloy P D

Jan 8, 2020

Very nice course, it could be a little bit challenging if you have no programming experience, but if you have done the past course and you put your attention you will definitely be able to pass it.

By Derek N

Jan 28, 2020

Great follow-on from the basics with essential information. Well constructed series, well presented lessons, with great practice questions. I feel a big step closer to writing useful python code.

By Jonathan F

Jan 3, 2020

Final project in this course though a bit difficult was satisfying to complete. University of Michigan has the best online teaching program for Python using the Runestone interactive textbook.

By Sherlyn H

Oct 15, 2020

The class is very basic. Excellent for people without a programming background. Slow for those who do, but you can skip through concepts you already understand. The exercises are very useful.

By Kuan-Chih W

Apr 8, 2020

A great course for learner not only to gain some basic python skills, but also learn to do some research whenever there are additional knowledge needed for completing exercises or project.

By Billy A

Nov 7, 2019

The course met all my expectations and went beyond. The instructors' explanations were easy to understand and the innovative method of having a digital textbook was undoubtedly convenient.

By ANCHAL J

Sep 18, 2020

Michigan University this course was very beneficial for me as an Electrical Engineering student .My coding skills was very bad but this course help me a lot and uplifted my coding skills.

By Amanullah S

May 13, 2020

Loved the course curriculum and lot of exercises to practice although it was tough during the project making . Any one should try this course to gain insights to Files , Dictionary .

By Oriana P P

Jul 12, 2020

Excelente curso, contiene material de muy buena calidad, la plataforma para practicar es una maravilla ademas que se cuenta con interacción con otros estudiantes, recomiendo el curso

By Muhammad A

Apr 12, 2020

Great introduction to functions and different data structures within Python! Gives you practical skills which you can use to make real-world (small) scripts to improve your workflow.

By VARUN S

Dec 16, 2020

It is a very organized course. The only problem is the limitation of the inbuilt python interface. I have been using Jupyter notebook.. New students may not be aware of that option.

By Aditya B

Dec 13, 2020

Great Course! Highly recommend this course. Runestone environment helped me so much in understanding the concepts and putting them to practice at the same time. Codelens is awesome.

By Sudeep K K V

Jul 13, 2020

Amazing course to be honest,learned a lot and also enjoyed along the way.The course material was perfectly structured. Looking forward to the further courses in this specialization.

By Manuel I S M

Jul 22, 2020

I really enjoy this course, the guidelines they put in for the final project were too useful, with that I was able to guide myself and have a better vision to carry out the program

By Ammar P

Aug 7, 2020

the runestone textbook is do good. i did not even think learnng coding could be actually so interactive. the codelens also helps alt to undertand how python actually sees our code

By Luis F R C

Apr 22, 2020

Great interactive course. The online coding platform makes learning easy and convenient. Teachers are very good as well, thoroughly explaining topics and giving lots of examples.

By Leonardo Q

Oct 6, 2020

Es de los mejores cursos que he tenido en Python en manejo Funciones y Diccionarios. Me llenó las expectativas en cuanto a poder practicar y entender el trasfondo. Lo recomiendo