Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
3,718 ratings
574 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

551 - 572 of 572 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By julia5258027@gmail.com

Feb 27, 2019

Too simple

By Taraksa R

Jun 27, 2020

very good

By George S

Apr 2, 2019

very good

By alejandro o

Mar 27, 2019

I love it

By Amir S

Sep 5, 2020

Perfect

By ALBUQUERQUE A J

Jun 7, 2020

💯💯🙌

By Kharat P c

Aug 31, 2020

good

By Vineetha B

Jul 12, 2020

good

By Keerthivasan R

Mar 26, 2019

good

By Kristin J

Jul 25, 2020

The content is good, great even. I took one star off for the CONSTANT flipping back and forth between a short video (like 1-8 minutes) and their external resources. Give me an actual lecture, not a lecture tidbit. I took the second point off for the course ending with a "peer review" assignment that tested your ability to create a graph in excel (which is wholly outside the scope of this course) and seemed just plunked onto the end to ensure waiting time before you can "officially" finish the course because you're sitting around waiting for peer reviews on a project that required excel, not python, knowledge. I've got coursera pro so the delay didn't much hinder me, I just went to the next course - but I bet that peer review nonsense is a manufactured hurdle to thwart people trying to learn quickly on a 7 day trial. Pretty sleazy in my opinion.

By Raul C S

Aug 25, 2020

The final project explanation is not complete. The peer reviewed part of the final project shouldn't be there. I think the peer reviewed part of the final project is not necessary to prove the acquired knowledge in this course.

By Josh J

Aug 28, 2019

The course went well until the final. There was content that was not taught in the class, but you were expected to know how to do it. I think the curriculum was fine and was content was interesting to go through.

By Gabriel C

Jan 17, 2020

The course is good and the material is good too. The peer review is useless and doesn't make any sense due you have to wait until other decided to pick your work what can be ages.

By Swetha S

Nov 27, 2019

peer review takes lot of time and that was the only thing remaining for my course to be completed.

By Jeffrey B

May 27, 2020

Some more coverage on csv files especially practice would have been nice

By ASIF S

Aug 23, 2020

csv, break and continue were not so clear

By Youcef B M

Oct 30, 2020

this course is challenging

By Weerachai Y

Jun 20, 2020

thanks

By Riya B

Aug 17, 2020

tough

By D d g

Aug 27, 2020

Good

By Hanno H

Apr 20, 2020

In itself, a good course. If you want to take this course, I recommend it. If you are, however, taking this entire specialization I suggest you walk away. The final course (course 5) is a course by someone who has not been lecturing in the course, presenting something they obviously are very fond of. The course work is, and I quote, "a project with minimal scaffolding. Expect to use the the discussion forums to gain insights! It’s not cheating to ask others for opinions or perspectives". In other words, part of the learning target is to work through bad or incomplete documentation and to solve an exercise that is stated without providing the information you need to solve it. Unless someone else already went through the moves, the lecturer fully expects you to fail by yourself.

If I wanted to feel the pain of learning without help or instructions, I would have just worked with the online manuals ... which is what this exercise openly tells you they want you to do. Its a shame for the other 4 courses, which are well done and have passionate lecturers.

By Ashwin J

Jul 21, 2020

The assignment for the course is too lengthy too understand.