Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,320 ratings
679 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 683 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By KAVIPRASATH V

May 25, 2020

useful

By Nahim O

Nov 20, 2019

great!

By Purple M

Feb 22, 2021

Great

By DANIEL A R R

Oct 27, 2020

great

By AMARA V V

Apr 27, 2020

Gud..

By PhenoMenon M

Sep 9, 2019

FBFBF

By Lukáš H

Feb 24, 2021

Neat

By SAMARTH P S

Nov 7, 2020

GOOD

By POOVITHA R

Sep 18, 2020

good

By Souhardya G

Sep 10, 2020

Good

By PRAWIN K P

Jul 28, 2020

good

By maligireddy l

Jul 3, 2020

good

By Li K

Jun 25, 2020

good

By A-011 S Y

Jun 1, 2020

cool

By Bhargavi V

May 14, 2020

good

By Rishita S

May 6, 2020

nice

By Dao X H

Jul 6, 2019

good

By Hongyi P

Apr 4, 2019

Nice

By Nguyen Q T ( H

May 6, 2021

ok

By Nurbol S

May 8, 2021

+

By Sourav C

Oct 6, 2019

I find this course very useful. Only one observation -

At the end of this course, it is asking for sentiment analysis, where you need to upload csv file to excel or google drive and then needs to generate scatter plot. How to do this is need explained anywhere in the course. Moreover, required libraries to perform this activity is not present in coursera and I have to install Python Anaconda and using Jupyter notebook, I could able to generate this scatter plot. How to process csv file to generate scatter plot, I have search in google and learn it outside this course.

By Hector A G

Mar 31, 2021

This was a good course, however, the exercises in the homework and on the graded tests could be more challenging -- not just for the sake of making them challenging, but in the spirit of letting learners developer their thinking and programming skills. The final homework was fine; the only problem with it is that the Runestone environment is buggy and it will leave you scratching your head sometimes. Overall, a good course and I would recommend it.

By MPD17I018 V S

Aug 31, 2020

I loved this course series, how it's going on. Everything taught is in a very easy way. Also, the last project part was very fascinating. Still, I was expected more from it, especially with CSV portion. However, I have learned the other perspective to deal with CSV file. Thanks a lot. This course has improved my knowledge.

By D. M

Jan 14, 2020

Giving ONLY 4 stars here because the auto-grade assignments were sometimes not described very well. But the main reason for the 4 and not 5 stars is the final course assignment, where there is not event explained what the Net value needs to be. Further than few sometimes annoying stuff, I think this course is solid.

By Kaminskaya S

Nov 18, 2020

Very good course, but final project was a little bit buggy and it took much time to deal with exel. Course programming environment doesn't support csv module, while it's the most natural way for processing csv files. Forum is silent and your questions aren't answered.