Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
3,414 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD

Jun 25, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG

Sep 16, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 516 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By Umesh K P

Jun 11, 2020

Everything is nice in this course, easy explanation, sufficient practice exercise and complete theory for better understanding

By sharath p

May 09, 2020

A great boost toward Python programming for beginners. Felt very much interactive while doing the course until its completion.

By Michael J C

Apr 25, 2020

Excellent course for anyone looking to learn the basics of Python and how to manipulate objects and files. Highly recommended.

By Waleed S M A

Aug 17, 2020

If any one wants to learn Python, this is the place. Excellent professors and innovative teaching and projects .

Thank you all

By Saurabh B

May 07, 2020

it is a really good course. Help me to understand python more than any other course I have done. Especially as a beginner.

By Konstantin I

Feb 09, 2020

Overall is great, but 5 weeks is way too long, finished the course in one week (that's fast, given that I work full-time)

By Alberto S D N

Nov 15, 2019

The course is well organized, the content is very consistent and the community at forum is great! Good place to learn.

By darshan j

Aug 15, 2020

Nice course for the beginner with nice explanation on function, dictionary, tuple, sorting, accumulation and so much.

By Simao C

May 03, 2020

This course is super!! I highly recommend everyone to take it! Many thanks to the instructors and my peer assessors!

By Juratė D

Aug 23, 2020

Very interesting course, cleverly prepared tools, it was hard at the end, but I really liked it, thank you very much

By Shubhangi

Jun 04, 2020

Very detailed course. The Last graded assignment was best and gives you a real taste of the kind of work one can do!

By Abdelhamid G I

Jan 04, 2020

A Great course, highly recommended , Never understood concepts that easy as i have with this course , High Quality

By debby

Jan 09, 2020

the interactive book is very useful to learn and practice the material. This course is short but very informative

By Srushti S

Jun 10, 2020

Runestone environment developed by UMich faculty helped my learning to great extent! easy to use and comprehend.

By RAMKUMAR R

Jun 08, 2020

This course was good and really i got better understand . Thank you sir and Thank you for Michigan University .

By Allen F

Apr 04, 2019

Very good course where I learned lots about dictionaries, tuples, functions and made my first project in Python.

By claudio c

Dec 23, 2019

Very good course. Lots of practice and exercises. Also the final assignment puts most of the material together.

By Arjun V

Aug 04, 2020

Great course. Go for it if u want to learn about Named & Anonymous Functions, Files, Dictionaries, Sorting etc

By Shivam S

Jul 24, 2020

Very Happy with completing this course, specially thanks to Paul Resnick sir for his teaching style and jokes.

By Oleksandr K

May 23, 2020

great courses: provide very useful knowledge about functions, dictionaries and basic skills for files creation

By Spiro H

Mar 20, 2020

A truly excellent course! I thouroughly enjoyed it, including the jokes!! Congratulations to the instructors!!

By David A G A

May 23, 2020

This is a very nice and practical course. I found the final assignment very challenging but I liked it a lot

By MD S H

May 19, 2020

Excellent course material and course instructor. Definitely I'll try to finish to finish the specialization.

By Евгений К

Aug 31, 2020

I like this course very much! Actually, I am from BY and I feel a great difference in education approaches!

By Aquib J T

Aug 03, 2020

superb superb superb.........................lots of love from india.....need more classes from steve oney