Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,185 ratings
657 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 656 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By James M

Sep 21, 2020

Great course which begins to show some real life applications of the topics we are learning, looking forward to the next course.

By Angel R C S

Aug 28, 2020

Very well explained, good amount of excercises to apply the content. Final project very well developed and somewhat challenging.

By Lucas M B

May 4, 2021

Steve Oney and Paul Resnick are terrific as teachers! Thank you very much for your didatism, soft pace and your skill to teach!

By Malgorzata P

Aug 15, 2020

It is perfect for learning how to deal with python data. The materials are good and engaging. Really worth the time and effort.

By POUYA P N

Apr 3, 2021

The course was very well-paced, suitable for both beginners in programming and those who have previous programming background.

By Umesh K P

Jun 11, 2020

Everything is nice in this course, easy explanation, sufficient practice exercise and complete theory for better understanding

By sharath p

May 9, 2020

A great boost toward Python programming for beginners. Felt very much interactive while doing the course until its completion.

By Michael J C

Apr 25, 2020

Excellent course for anyone looking to learn the basics of Python and how to manipulate objects and files. Highly recommended.

By Walid S M A

Aug 17, 2020

If any one wants to learn Python, this is the place. Excellent professors and innovative teaching and projects .

Thank you all

By Saurabh B

May 7, 2020

it is a really good course. Help me to understand python more than any other course I have done. Especially as a beginner.

By Konstantin I

Feb 9, 2020

Overall is great, but 5 weeks is way too long, finished the course in one week (that's fast, given that I work full-time)

By Luis v

Mar 31, 2021

I really loved so much this course, Its really useful when you want to study everything about tupples and sort method.

By Alberto S D N

Nov 15, 2019

The course is well organized, the content is very consistent and the community at forum is great! Good place to learn.

By Olga E

May 5, 2021

Very good course for beginners in Python. Detailed explanations, good practice examples. I would really recommend it.

By Darshan J

Aug 15, 2020

Nice course for the beginner with nice explanation on function, dictionary, tuple, sorting, accumulation and so much.

By Simao ' C

May 3, 2020

This course is super!! I highly recommend everyone to take it! Many thanks to the instructors and my peer assessors!

By RAHUL S

May 9, 2021

Thankyou for a giving me a chance to learn python. This course will definitely add an important skill to my profile.

By Mayank M

Mar 13, 2021

This is one of the best specialization. I have studied a lot of languages from a lot of places but this is the best.

By Juratė D

Aug 23, 2020

Very interesting course, cleverly prepared tools, it was hard at the end, but I really liked it, thank you very much

By Shubhangi

Jun 4, 2020

Very detailed course. The Last graded assignment was best and gives you a real taste of the kind of work one can do!

By Duc P A N

Mar 8, 2021

Honestly, I have to say this is one of the must-learn courses if we want to build a solid knowledge base in python.

By Vivekraja

Nov 18, 2020

Before starting the course i dont have the confidence in programming but now i gained the confidence!! Thank you!!

By Abdelhamid I

Jan 4, 2020

A Great course, highly recommended , Never understood concepts that easy as i have with this course , High Quality

By Debby A

Jan 9, 2020

the interactive book is very useful to learn and practice the material. This course is short but very informative

By Srushti S

Jun 10, 2020

Runestone environment developed by UMich faculty helped my learning to great extent! easy to use and comprehend.