Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,185 ratings
657 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 656 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By RAMKUMAR R

Jun 7, 2020

This course was good and really i got better understand . Thank you sir and Thank you for Michigan University .

By Allen F

Apr 4, 2019

Very good course where I learned lots about dictionaries, tuples, functions and made my first project in Python.

By claudio c

Dec 23, 2019

Very good course. Lots of practice and exercises. Also the final assignment puts most of the material together.

By Arjun V

Aug 4, 2020

Great course. Go for it if u want to learn about Named & Anonymous Functions, Files, Dictionaries, Sorting etc

By Shivam S

Jul 24, 2020

Very Happy with completing this course, specially thanks to Paul Resnick sir for his teaching style and jokes.

By Oleksandr K

May 23, 2020

great courses: provide very useful knowledge about functions, dictionaries and basic skills for files creation

By Spiro H

Mar 20, 2020

A truly excellent course! I thouroughly enjoyed it, including the jokes!! Congratulations to the instructors!!

By Federico R

Oct 7, 2020

Excelente material, se aprenden conceptos básicos fundamentales para programar, me parece un curso muy bueno.

By Maryam M

Oct 6, 2020

I really loved the course and deeply appreciate it for providing the opportunity to learn everything in depth

By VISHAL P

Jun 14, 2021

This course very helpful and suitable for beginner level learners. I learn a lot of things from this course.

By David A G A

May 23, 2020

This is a very nice and practical course. I found the final assignment very challenging but I liked it a lot

By Shahriar H F

May 18, 2020

Excellent course material and course instructor. Definitely I'll try to finish to finish the specialization.

By Евгений К

Aug 30, 2020

I like this course very much! Actually, I am from BY and I feel a great difference in education approaches!

By Gaurav T

Jun 10, 2021

This specialization is by far one of the best sources for learning a programming language on the internet.

By Aquib J T

Aug 2, 2020

superb superb superb.........................lots of love from india.....need more classes from steve oney

By yangxin m

Feb 28, 2019

i like the first part of the final course project. expect you can't donwload the CSV file that you created

By M P

Jun 9, 2021

T​his course is really awesome!!!..IN this course the lab sessions(Fopp tool) made me learn efficiently.

By Markus S

Jun 9, 2020

Great Course I've learned a lot. Good level on the assignments, some were very challenging but manageble

By Brij b M

May 2, 2020

it's a very good course with a good Explanation and gives a maintained time to Read and do the Exercise.

By A B R

Jul 31, 2020

Excellent course for beginners and for those with intermediate expertise in other programming languages

By Robert F

Jun 27, 2020

I had already taken two graduate school courses in Python, and yet I still learned a lot in this course

By Habib H S

May 3, 2019

I have already done course 1 & now starting this second one... Its really awesome course . I love this.

By henloy A

Feb 28, 2019

Great Course and materials. The instructors are great and easy to understand even for a newbie like me

By Chong L Y

Jul 19, 2020

This is a very excellent python course that have a very clear lecture video and a very good material.

By Aditya S

Feb 28, 2020

This leveled up my knowledge from basic python to intermediate, got to know about a lot of concepts