Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,425 ratings
701 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 706 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By Luis v

Mar 31, 2021

I really loved so much this course, Its really useful when you want to study everything about tupples and sort method.

By Alberto S D N

Nov 15, 2019

The course is well organized, the content is very consistent and the community at forum is great! Good place to learn.

By Olga E

May 5, 2021

Very good course for beginners in Python. Detailed explanations, good practice examples. I would really recommend it.

By Darshan J

Aug 15, 2020

Nice course for the beginner with nice explanation on function, dictionary, tuple, sorting, accumulation and so much.

By Simao ' C

May 3, 2020

This course is super!! I highly recommend everyone to take it! Many thanks to the instructors and my peer assessors!

By RAHUL S

May 9, 2021

Thankyou for a giving me a chance to learn python. This course will definitely add an important skill to my profile.

By Mayank M

Mar 13, 2021

This is one of the best specialization. I have studied a lot of languages from a lot of places but this is the best.

By Juratė D

Aug 23, 2020

Very interesting course, cleverly prepared tools, it was hard at the end, but I really liked it, thank you very much

By Shubhangi

Jun 4, 2020

Very detailed course. The Last graded assignment was best and gives you a real taste of the kind of work one can do!

By Duc P A N

Mar 8, 2021

Honestly, I have to say this is one of the must-learn courses if we want to build a solid knowledge base in python.

By Vivekraja

Nov 18, 2020

Before starting the course i dont have the confidence in programming but now i gained the confidence!! Thank you!!

By Abdelhamid I

Jan 4, 2020

A Great course, highly recommended , Never understood concepts that easy as i have with this course , High Quality

By Debby A

Jan 9, 2020

the interactive book is very useful to learn and practice the material. This course is short but very informative

By SHEFFIELD C L

Nov 21, 2021

Comprehensive videos, lectures, activities and assessment that enables the student to deeply learn the concepts.

By Srushti S

Jun 10, 2020

Runestone environment developed by UMich faculty helped my learning to great extent! easy to use and comprehend.

By RAMKUMAR R

Jun 7, 2020

This course was good and really i got better understand . Thank you sir and Thank you for Michigan University .

By Allen F

Apr 4, 2019

Very good course where I learned lots about dictionaries, tuples, functions and made my first project in Python.

By claudio c

Dec 23, 2019

Very good course. Lots of practice and exercises. Also the final assignment puts most of the material together.

By Arjun V

Aug 4, 2020

Great course. Go for it if u want to learn about Named & Anonymous Functions, Files, Dictionaries, Sorting etc

By Shivam S

Jul 24, 2020

Very Happy with completing this course, specially thanks to Paul Resnick sir for his teaching style and jokes.

By Oleksandr K

May 23, 2020

great courses: provide very useful knowledge about functions, dictionaries and basic skills for files creation

By Spiro H

Mar 20, 2020

A truly excellent course! I thouroughly enjoyed it, including the jokes!! Congratulations to the instructors!!

By Federico R

Oct 7, 2020

Excelente material, se aprenden conceptos básicos fundamentales para programar, me parece un curso muy bueno.

By Maryam M

Oct 6, 2020

I really loved the course and deeply appreciate it for providing the opportunity to learn everything in depth

By VISHAL P

Jun 14, 2021

This course very helpful and suitable for beginner level learners. I learn a lot of things from this course.