Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,371 ratings
1,344 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

OA
Sep 8, 2017

This course is ideally designed for understanding, which tools you can use to do machine learning tasks in python. However, for deep understanding ML algorithms you should take more math based courses

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,323 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By T.V.S T

Sep 24, 2020

This course gives you a very good knowledge how to apply machine learning techniques (mostly supervised learning) and basic things, like how to preprocess the data and what are the pros and cons of various models and which models to be used based on the kind of data given, and many more basics which are required for a deeper understanding of Machine Learning

'

By xixicy

Apr 10, 2018

The content (slides, python scripts) is very structured. The lecturer explained very clearly. The reference articles were super inspiring. Also, the assignment is very well designed and relevant to what's covered (in comparison, some other courses might have very difficult assignments which need much more self-learning and cause frustration). Thank you!!

By Benjamin M L

Mar 14, 2018

Excellent course, easy to understand, useful and enjoyable to do! Two minor comments: it took me a longer than the estimated times to complete the Quizzes; I have Python programming proficiency and a small amount of background in Machine Learning. I would have preferred the final assessment to have an extension to it which required a more advanced model.

By Fabrice L

Jun 24, 2017

Great course!! And this field of science/technology is fascinating.

The only comment that I would do is that it might have been useful to include a whole pipeline on the creation of a simple machine learning software from the data collection to the end result. I guess that is the goal of the next course on text processing, so I'm looking forward to it.

By David V

Jul 28, 2017

Excellent course!

Machine Learning is today a buzzword and you do not really know what it is until you do it. The University of Michigan has put together a great program that takes you from the basics of Python to the latest Machine Learning techniques.

I started without knowing Python, and well, I cannot say that it has always been easy, but I DID IT!

By Alexander T

Jun 1, 2019

Thank you all for such an awesome series of courses.

I find these courses really challenging, especially the final assignment. But it is rewarding too, coz you feel, that you CAN solve such tasks in real life too.

Thank you Michigan team for such efforts. During the last 1.5 years I managed to progress from 0 programming knowledge to solving ML tasks

By Callum Z Y Y

Feb 11, 2020

It was a good introduction to machine learning. The assignments and quizzes were well designed to encourage self-learning, which in my opinion is one of the most valuable skills an aspiring data scientist could learn. All in all I am very satisfied with the course and I look forward to enrolling in the other courses in the specialization.

By Binil K

Jul 10, 2017

This is a very nice course in Applied Machine Learning. For getting the most out of it, it would be nice to have taken ML Specialization from Andrew Ng which will take a deep divce into the working of ML models or have good amount of knowledge in ML. Having familiar with ML concepts, you would find this course really useful.

Regards,

Binil

By Pranav S

Jul 2, 2020

It was great learning experience.This course exposed me to various parameters of machine learning using python programming and helped me to gather knowledge about the significant use of Pyhton Programming in the field of machine learnig.Pandas,Regression topics are rightly and deeply understood to me because of this course.

THANKYOU!!!

By Mustafa K

Sep 22, 2017

This is the most useful machine learning course in the internet. It helped me to understand machine learning algorithms very well that I never saw in other courses. This course covers most of the machine learning algorithms that needed nowadays. Thanks to Michigan University and Coursera to make this course to be available online.

By Zhao H

Jun 21, 2018

Highly recommended. Great practical overview of machine learning approaches.One shouldn't expect the underlying implementations from this course due to the time strain - only a few weeks, and should take Andrew Ng's machine learning class for that.To go even deeper for some methods, one should take more machine learning classes.

By Martyna S

Nov 16, 2017

Very interesting and engaging course. I liked graphical comparisons of different models and their params. Module notebooks were very handy while doing assignments. All homeworks were not trivial, developing and demand attention to detail. Big plus for teachers posts at forum - they help a lot while doing quizzes and assignments.

By WILVER S Y

May 1, 2021

It is a wonderful course that convers a basics of Machine Learning, the instructor provides an excellent explanation of the topics and the Jupyter Notebooks helps you understand and document all the concepts learned through the course. If you want to build some knowledge in ML this is a good option to start this great journey!

By Steve M

Apr 15, 2018

An excellent overview of current machine learning knowledge and practices. This course is very information dense and requires additional reading and time for the assignments. It is challenging for an 'intermediate' level course. Some prior knowledge of machine learning is recommended, and strong Python skills are required.

By Juan D

Jun 15, 2020

Very applied course, while still teaching you the basic concepts. You can start using machine learning solutions to your problems right away with confidence. The course covers a lot of ground, so expect some topics to be treated rather superficially. It provides a lot of material if you want to expand your knowledge though.

By Lewis M

Jan 13, 2019

Very good course for either an introduction to machine learning or to refresh old skills. It's also very good at putting emphasis on topics that data scientists may overlook / not pay much attention too, so having this as a reminder to look deeply into each algorithm and its application or limitations is incredibly helpful.

By Stephan K

May 19, 2019

excellent, practical introduction to (mainly) supervised machine learning in scikit learn. Next to Python specific handling of models, also conceptual issues like parameter tuning, feature pre-processing and - very nicely - data leakage are explained. examples can get tricky without solid grasp of numpy and pandas packages

By 王桢

Dec 3, 2017

this is an interesting machine learning course

can quickly understand the basic idea of machine learning and know how to build different models in python and select models based on different standards

it is a very good course to start with machine learning and can arouse the interests of learning more in this emerging field

By Davide P

May 11, 2019

The course covers a many topics of the ML world.

The exposition of the arguments is well organized.

The assignaments and quizzes are difficult enough to force you to really understand the lessons and learn the arguments but are not impossible to be accomplished.

The teacher are always ready to help you in the course forum.

By Gowri T

May 3, 2020

Good course, but take it with a theoretical course also, (I suggest Learning from Data, Caltech, the lectures are on youtube and assignments are put up online). This one goes well with it, because LFD teaches to code up classifiers and regressors without libraries and this one teaches us practical use of scikitlearn.

By lvbart

Apr 29, 2018

this course may be the most challenging one I have ever met, those concepts and examples I have never thought would met in my life. but after intense learning and excellent course arrangement, I may get a little sense of machine learning now.

Thanks for the great job, dear applied machine learning in Python team!

By Sahir N A

Jun 30, 2017

I did this course only from the entire specialization so it was a little hard to catch up but the difficulty made me even more excited to keep going and finish every bit of the course. I really appreciate the amount and quality of content, quizzes and assignments. Totally worth my time. Thanks UoM and Coursera!

By Praveen R

Oct 29, 2019

Lots of material to cover in this course. From supervised learning to the optional un-supervised learning schemes. A good introductory course to all theory there is to know on applied machine learning. The professor gives a glimpse of internal mathematics too. Interesting course, but lot of material to cover.

By Iver B

May 2, 2018

An ambitious but systematic overview of a wide range of machine learning techniques using scikit-learn and other Python libraries. Prof. Collins-Thompson is a steady and clear explainer of somewhat complex topics. The exercises and quizzes can be challenging, but are very worthwhile.

Overall, very well done.

By Andrew B

Nov 1, 2020

Good course. It's not heavy on math. This course is a good starting point for machine learning if you have basic python skills. I would recommend doing Assignment 4 in the online jupyter notebook that is part of the coursera course. The online jupyter notebook uses the same import versions as the autograder.