Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
6,731 ratings
1,210 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

OA

Sep 09, 2017

This course is ideally designed for understanding, which tools you can use to do machine learning tasks in python. However, for deep understanding ML algorithms you should take more math based courses

FL

Oct 14, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,191 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By Amber S

Jul 21, 2020

The guide could not explain the concepts well. He was just reading from the slides.

By Pei L

Jun 27, 2020

Bad teaching, unclear explanations.

I learned half of the material from Youtube.

By Nomthandazo T

Mar 03, 2020

this is the worst course ever. so bored and frustrated

By Edward G

Jan 25, 2018

Terrible quiz problems and grading mechanism

By Oliverio J S J

Feb 04, 2018

This course is an survey on how to implement many machine learning techniques using the SciKit Learn library. Following the course, you can learn several interesting details about how to work in the field, but it is important to take into account that it is not possible to learn the algorithms during the course, since a huge amount of material is covered during a short time; to make the most of the course you have to know them in advance. It bothered me to discover that the course was planned for five weeks but Coursera has reduced it to four, removing the possibility of practicing exercises on unsupervised learning.

By Raivis J

Jul 27, 2018

Since there are many theoretical concepts in this course, like model evaluation and tuning parameters, it would be much better if those are explained using real or semi-real life problem examples. Especially the quizzes needed more context as to why a particular situatrion might occur, and why that particular variable of interest is necessary.

By Choi H

Nov 23, 2018

어려웠어요 ㅠㅠ

By Justin F

Sep 27, 2017

The quality of this course in the series is a far cry from that of module 1 and 2, which is a shame because this is the one that I was really looking forward to. The professor does not seem comfortable and uses a lot of extra words in his lectures which can make them confusing and rambling. Many questions on the quizzes and assignments are not covered or well explained by the material. Many assignment questions have to be explained by teaching staff on the forums because the task is not clear.

By Martin M

Aug 10, 2020

Week 1 was great...and then it all went downhill.

Too much material cramped into 4 weeks. The lectures are monotonous and rarely go in detail and provide real world cases. yeah, the data is from the real world but just punching code without explaining it is not very instructive.

Oh yeah, and lets not forget the last time the course has been updated was in 2017 and none of the bugs that keep popping up with the code and the autograder have been fixed.

By KHADE R N

May 09, 2020

First two courses of specialization were so good, but I am disappointed by this one i.e. Machine leaning. I know this course is applied but then also advice for others, this is absolutely not for beginners, because there is too much rush in this one. I didn't understand 60% of things because new concepts are taught one after another without deep understanding and mathematical concepts that how it is working.

By ALONSO A R P D A

Jul 11, 2020

Sorry by bad writting, english is my second language, but:

Again, the videos and suggested reads are not sufficient to learn all that is needed in assingments or in real life application. Doing others courses in coursera like courses offered offered by University of Macquaire turn more clear that this course is so hard to learn because there's less things that what is actually the subject

By Gregory O

Sep 25, 2017

I was excited going into this course because the others in the series were taught well and I had learned a lot. Unfortunately, this course greatly disappointed. The lectures were dull, included a lot of mistakes, and did not cover most of what was expected during the assignments. All in all, this course was a waste of time versus just learning scikit-learn on your own.

By Shubham N

Aug 23, 2020

Not happy & satisfied with the assignments. Whenever I tried to submit, always error occurs, mostly files does not exist. Went to forums though, but files are kept elsewhere, especially for Assignment 4. Had to specially download the file and uploaded in the project directory just to work. Need to have proper file arrangements before starting the assignment.

By Nahuel V

Aug 04, 2020

I am not a big fan of this course. The assignments were too easy up to the last one that was too hard. There is no moderation in the forums, you can ask a question and nobody will answer.

By Subhadeep B

Aug 20, 2020

The instructor makes me sleepy. The autograder runs outdated versions of many packages and was last updated in 2018. Although the mentors are always active in the discussions forums.

By Thomas M S

Feb 09, 2018

I do not have the impression after this course that I have reached a level of familiarity that I will continue using the content of this course. Disappointing.

By Dror L

Nov 25, 2017

great topic, poorly presented. material not well divided among weeks. lots of repetitions. lack of hands on practice until the very last task.

By Kale H

May 31, 2020

Autograder is poor and professor is hard to listen to. You're better to just do a YouTube tutorial, like Codebasics.

By Stephen O

Aug 25, 2020

Desperately in need of an update as much of the code is no longer up to date/broken.

By Keshav B

Jan 02, 2020

Instructor tell the thing which are far beyond from asignments and quizes

By Mohamed R

Mar 28, 2020

one of the worst courses i ever had

By Frank A N

Nov 20, 2018

It was too easy

By Robert S

Jun 11, 2020

I had high hopes going into this course after the really well put together courses 1 and 2 in the specialisation, however the video material was dull and disengaging. Where the lecturer could have spend hours going into the ins and outs of how the different algorithms work, instead the course followed a structure of: 1 - Brief overview of an algorithm, 2 - whats the syntax in scikit-learn, 3 - what parameters does it take, 4 - what other commands are there

I was really disappointed, as most of the actual learning was done from reading other sources on the web and watching videos for free on YouTube. I guess the only positive is that because I paid for it I was forced to finish it?

By Sandeep S

Nov 24, 2019

I am not happy with the course material and the way teachers are teaching.

By kapish s

May 28, 2019

no teacher intraction