Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,094 ratings
7,484 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 7,376 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Suri S V S Y R

Jun 9, 2020

Lecture were easy to follow and intuitive. Assignments were well designed and challenging. Made the student think about how to solve it rather than just copying the structure of the sample code and change bits and pieces. Got a deeper understanding of the logical process of accessing the web.

By MAHENDRANATH V K

May 9, 2020

Learnt lot of stuffs on how python interacts with the outer world of internet, exchanging data of various formats through different web services approaches like REST ans SOAP. Retrieved information from Google and Twitter APIs. Our instructor's guidance was tremendous! Thanks a ton Dr.Chuck!

By Arun P

Apr 26, 2020

So Helpful!!!!!!!!

I learned a lot of Stuff and GeoJSON is awesome, all that API stuff is simply cool

I love PYTHON

and MR.Charles Severance(its better to be in Gryffindor, HAHAHAHa...) and Thank you Sir for such a wondeful instruction

and im looking forward to learn Databases too

Thank YOu Sir!!

By Vadim Y

Feb 21, 2016

Another great course taught by a master. This class is perfect for anyone who wants to learn how to retrieve and read data from the web with Python. If you are new to programming, take the previous Python courses in this series since this course builds on concepts learned in those courses.

By Cristóbal H J

May 2, 2021

Great course, learned a lot about how to use Python to access data on the internet, whether is plain text, html or some xml/json data. Not only how to get that data, but also how to parse it and do interesting things with it, I had a blast, thanks Dr. Chuck, can't wait for the next course.

By Atharv A

Aug 16, 2021

I have found this course very helpful in my journey toward mastering Python. Dr. Chuck is a very good teacher and he provided us with good course material with in-depth explanation. I would 100% recommend this specialization to anybody who wants to make their first step into programming.

By Johan V M

May 7, 2021

I learned very useful and interesting information in this course. I was always curious about how the internet worked and how data exchange across the web was performed, and this course fueled my curiosity to dive deeper into these topics. I totally encourage everyone to take this course!

By Mayank G

Nov 7, 2019

Dr. Chuck has made assignments very easy with his demonstrated examples. So much information packaged succinctly, my goodness only a True Teacher can do that. BTW, looking at the comparison of the Java books' thickness, I'm tempted to learn Java as well after Python. Thank you Dr. Chuck.

By SG

Feb 1, 2016

The whole Python for Everyone Sequence is Awesome.

Each of the individual sections has been exceptional.

Section 3 of 4 - This course Accessing Web Data and Section 4 of 4 ( DataBase ) were the main reasons for me taking the course.

I would highly recommend the Python for Everyone Series.

By Jesse C

May 5, 2019

Outstanding course! I began this course a week ago after completing the first 2 in the series coming in with just basic programming knowledge and I can't believe after this course I can now begin working with APIs, have an understanding of parsing/reading XML and JSON. Highly recommend!

By Annie F

Jan 28, 2019

The course was excellent and specifically admire the way Dr. Chuck teaches so effortlessly, that we understand the concepts very clearly. The assignments are also very helpful in practicing what we have learnt, and gives us the confidence to work on real-time projects. Thanks Dr. Chuck.

By Hongfei C

Aug 21, 2017

The third session of the Python course is more difficult than the first two sessions and is quite a great challenge! But the courses for Dr.Chuck and the help of every mentors give me more energy to dive into it to get to understand every details. Programming is really interesting area!

By Hanna A

Aug 29, 2020

This course is structured very well. The lessons are easy to follow and understand. Dr Chuck's lecture videos are very fun to watch. The book is pretty much self explanatory so you can use it as a reference or independently. Overall, the course and the specialization are pretty great!!

By Hossam G

Aug 22, 2019

This was a great course but i have one big problem that encountered me

Dr Chuck reads the code from power point sheets and even if there was a worked example he is only read the code and run yes he explain it but i need to learn how and why i write this code not just see it and run it

By Sinan

Jan 5, 2016

It was Amazing! Thousands thanks to Dr-Chuck, fellow classmates & of course all these great people in the bonus videos.

I have started my programming adventure with Dr-Chuck and now there is a burning desire to keep going. It is highly recommended to get this course.

All the best,

Sinan.

By David K

Feb 15, 2019

This is great course, and more difficult then previous . It introduces JSON , XML, and other modules which are very important in Python programming. This is intro in web programming, where students could explore other modules in Python. Thanks Dr. Chuck for well explained materials!

By Giselle d C S B

Dec 6, 2017

This was an excellent course. I really enjoyed to learn about "Using Python to Access Web Data". Although I didn't found the .zip with tha example codes in the PY4E web site, I did all the exercises and learnt very useful programming tools. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and thanks to Coursera.

By Vikas R

Sep 18, 2017

this is a fantastic course!!! i don't have words to say about it but i must say to those who are going to take this course that you guy's have a lot fun, knowledge in this course i must thank to dr. chuck and all the team members specially to Tamara Brunnock who cleared all my doubts

By Yonglei H

Dec 23, 2015

This session is the most interesting one since I enrolled this series of Python program studying. The technology I learned here opened the door of using Python to organize and catch data from web. There must be big land behind and I want to pay a visit, by additional work after this.

By Yusuf Y

Sep 8, 2020

This is a very demanding course packed with a lot of content. Think the effort is grossly underestimated here as it took much longer for me to complete the course. Most of the time spent was in trouble shooting and so would help if there is more guidance or resources made available.

By Jose B G

Jul 31, 2020

This course is great for people who want to learn web scrapng using Python, and Dr. Chuck is amazing in explaining basics related to Web. I would recommend anybody who is taking this course to take the Internet History course for better understanding(the pdf is freely available).

By Nguyen D H A

Jul 6, 2019

Great course! Dr Chuck explained the concepts very well, everything was easy to understand and the materials were just enough to get me hit the ground running but not overloaded with information. The assignments were well-thought to help me remember and understand course materials.

By Evaldas I

Nov 28, 2015

It appears, during this course I'm becoming hungry for Python programming. Somehow weird but also very attractive programming language. Especially when I succeed in doing something in so called "pythonic" way. And thanks to professor. It's a real pleasure to listen to his lecture.

By Drew C

May 18, 2020

I liked this course. It teaches useful skills and the coding tasks all seem appropriately pitched in difficulty. I am realizing that I'm now beginning to think about coding all the time. I worked on the class every day, and I feel like I'm building my mental "coding muscles" lol.

By Crystal A

Apr 4, 2017

It felt really neat to be able to call web data. It's starting to feel like what I'm learning will be useful in my job and life now. Dr. Chuck makes things easy to understand, but the assignments generally contain enough tricks to guarantee that you understand the subject matter.