Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,094 ratings
7,484 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 7,375 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Deividas T

Oct 9, 2017

Personally, this was the most useful course out of 3 (2 still pending). Great and simple explanation how to get the data using 'backdoor'. The only struggle was to understand tasks "Assignment: Following Links in HTML Using BeautifulSoup" requirements.

By Glen P

Aug 10, 2019

Overall a very well written course. As the third in the certificate series, this is where the difficulty starts to ramp up a bit and makes you really practice previously learned concepts and think through problems to implement them in an updated form.

By RAJPUT R G S

Mar 6, 2019

Accessing web data is a great course for a beginner to launch himself in a programming with python. The way Dr. Chunk designed the course is really awesome as it helps everyone to understand the underlying concept and grab it soon. Thank You Dr. Chunk!

By Amanie P

Nov 18, 2016

This was an excellent follow up on the first two courses in this specialization. So much useful information, and complex ideas broken down in more simple terms that are much easier to digest. Dr. Chuck is amazing! Can't wait to take the next course!

By Warija A

Nov 27, 2015

One of the best courses that I have taken! Thank you so much for this course. I was out of touch in coding, and wanted to get back to programming and learn a new language like Python. The step-by-step explanation, availability of sample code and the le

By Joshua C

Jan 20, 2018

Great intro to using python to pull and parse web data. Assignments are now laid out to not give you the answer but to ensure you have the skills to obtain the information you need to complete the task thus requiring additional self-learning. Love it.

By Ronald L C

Jan 23, 2017

I am taking this program to show that I am capable of working on a MS degree in Cybersecurity. My daughter loves Minecraft, so I hope to use Python with her in building Python worlds. Dr. Chuck is an excellent teacher and I am proud to be a student.

By Aneesh K

Nov 10, 2020

The course was an awesome one. This taught us on how we can use Python to manipulate XML files as well as the power of the 'import' statement. It also handled JSON quite well. APIs were good too. More importantly, the course instructor was engaging.

By KARAN R

Jul 5, 2020

Detailed explanation about Accessing web data using python. Teaching method of Dr.Chuck is really great. I have explored so many new things in python. Those who are really curious to explore new things i n python they can definitely join this class.

By Dhiraj N

May 16, 2020

Excellent course which gets into practical examples very quickly. The assignments are also great as a few of them are designed in a way where you have to revisit your notes / relook at videos which in my opinion is a great way of reinforcing learning

By Shubham K

Aug 6, 2018

All the assignments provided helped alot in upskilling my knowledge in python. Thanks to dr.chuck for the remarkable tutorial!!

Peer review assignments are pretty unfair though.I had provided proper screenshots still getting 40% grade. Grow up man..:(

By Po-Wen C

Nov 5, 2015

Very interesting. Thank you, Dr. Chuck. I am really enjoy this course.

Just a little suggestion. Each assignment can be a little extended. For example, after teaching Google geocoding api, the homework may be assigned to use other kinds of Google API.

By jose a c v

Sep 26, 2020

Me gusto este curso de python porque te enseña como comunicarse con los servicios web y las api, ademas de enseñarte sobre xml y json y la seguridad que tienen las api, todo muy importante a la hora de hacer estas aplicaciones enfocadas a servicios.

By Gerret

Apr 29, 2017

Dr. Chuck has done it again! Another excellent and highly entertaining course on the Python programming language. Highly recommend for anyone looking to look a little more deeply into this amazing programming tool for people in all manner of jobs.

By Hongtao M

Oct 4, 2016

The course is quite vivid and practical. Dr Chuck has always been humorous. Surprisingly I've learned a lot through this course.(Another thing to mention: the assignments concerning XML is quite hard, and perhaps need more illustration in lectures.)

By Louis-Delmont L

Jun 13, 2016

I learnt a lot with Python web data. I found it easy to assimilate the lectures. Chuck, the teacher insist that you follow the previous course but I found web data accessible to someone that barely used python. The mentors are helpful in the forums.

By Jestin P

May 5, 2020

More challenging than the previous 2 courses, but I have definitely learnt a lot more real world uses for Python such as web scraping which I had heard before but never knew HOW it worked. Dr Chuck has again made this course enjoyable and engaging!

By Shambhu D

Jan 8, 2017

Teaching style of Dr. Chuck us great, it's very interesting and make you come back to the classes. The program and assignments are designed to hole your interest and so you feel easy while learning. And, getting almost everything from the language.

By JMF

Aug 15, 2017

outstanding course-- learning to interact with APIs was really cool, and I feel like I have a much better understanding of the inner workings of the internet! Every course in this specialization has been great so far, and this was no exception :)

By Aishwariya S R

Jul 30, 2017

An amazing experience altogether with Sir Charles....Must say,I am in awe of your explanation skills.....Not even for a minute, did I get bored watching your videos! A heartfelt Thanks Sir! The first course which I successfully completed!! Pheww!

By Donald B

Jul 16, 2017

Great introduction for those without prior experience writing applications that interact with servers and website. The course does not go into advanced topics but does a very good introduction to communication and data retrieval through the web.

By Jerry E B J

Mar 24, 2016

I enjoyed the lectures, and the overall focus on understanding the information, not such rigidity in structure of class, testing, time limits. This seems to be a better innovative freedom based way of learning that I seem to learn better within.

By Steve P

Sep 10, 2017

From this course alone (little textbook help although that is a good read, no stack overflow or other aid) I am able to have thoughtful discussions with programming professionals and ask good questions about programming. I wasn't before. Thanks.

By Gaganpreet K K

Jun 11, 2020

Great course! Cleared many of my doubts in accessing web data, GET request and other stuff. Thank You!

And it was great to learn from a potter fan. The instructor has really made a lot of efforts to put things clearly. One of the best professor.

By Mohamed R

Aug 6, 2019

this course really helped me to start my career in web data scrapping using python really recommended only if you are still beginning your career in this field and thanks coursera for helping me taking this course using the fininace aid program