Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,094 ratings
7,484 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML
Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 7,376 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By krishnan s

Oct 7, 2018

very useful course. Dr. Chuck's way of teaching is exemplary. i would like to think of him as teacher of teachers. as usual the course materials are excellent and the quizzes and assignments test and reinforce the understanding of the concepts.

By Svetlana L

Apr 16, 2018

This is a very challenging course, you start to appreciate why programmers make so much money. However, the mentors are always available to give you hints to complete assignments. It may be one of the most difficult classes I have taken so far.

By zhenkai w

Oct 16, 2016

This Coursera need a little background in programming, and Dr Charles is fun boy! He teaches this class in a easy and vivid way! Getting basic skills from extracting data from internet! learn to deal with popular data structure in the web world

By Nikhil S

Mar 23, 2020

This was yet another one of Dr. Chuck's great course. He really explained the material, made sure the students absorbed everything, gave them decent homework, and covered a wide range of concepts, all of which have proven to be very important.

By Omkar D H

Mar 7, 2020

Gain Knowledge of Web services, API, Serialisation Formats : Xml & Json.

Must for those who are looking forward to make their career in Python Full Stack Software Development.

Great course content and challenging assignments.

Thank you Dr. Chuck

By Fiona R

Nov 1, 2018

Challenging. Outstanding TAs and Professor are the only reasons I finally cracked this. I found this to be the most challenging yet of the Python courses, in part because I began a new job role just after the holidays. Glad I stuck with it!

By RAHUL B

Jun 16, 2020

This course is more about networking. He taught us in a brilliant way. This is very helpful for those who want to learn basics in networking and some advance concept he can learn if try himself. Thank you, Dr. Chuck, for this amazing course.

By Marco M

Mar 26, 2020

I just finished this course, the third of a series of five.

I already knew some basis of the arguments, still I've learned a lot.

The approach is very practical, so you can experiment with actual cases of application of the skill you acquire.

By Arpit P

Jun 30, 2017

Awesome course it is and i would recommend this course to any programmer who want to start to learn python and programming and do something interesting while learning python programming. Again thank you chuck sir you are a very good teacher.

By Stefanos T

Mar 1, 2016

This Course was fascinating and introduces you smoothly to what happens behind the 'surfing the web' scenes as well as using Python to access and make use of web data (also demonstrates how cool Python is having all these built-in goodies).

By Nahid R

Jan 12, 2020

EXCELLENT instructor. He explains the material using theory, examples and articulation. He brings forth amazing enthusiasm to his material delivery. Examples and exercises help understand the nuances of Python language. Thank you Dr Chuck!

By Jack E

May 17, 2017

Pretty basic if you're somewhat familiar with Python already. Very thorough explanations. I personally found it slow, but it was review material for me. I think it was all explained well and the exercises and quizzes were constructed well.

By Derek H

Feb 28, 2017

Great course! Very challenging while using all of the knowledge conveyed in the previous courses. The assignments are interesting in getting the lessons topics across. Multiple ways to get the correct results and allows you to be creative.

By Xiaoyu l

Apr 13, 2016

Great lecturer! Quiz and assignments are very easy to follow and finish, which keeps student engaged. Hope the programming assignments could be a little more challenging. But I guess that is left for the final project for the whole series.

By Emmanuel A

Nov 5, 2015

I applied this knowledge that Doctor Chuck taught me to create a Django web application.

This course is a great source of python knowledge I use it in accord with various api's to customize content for viewing of my website /application.

By Galina K

Dec 20, 2019

Amazing course. Very easy to follow and understand. I have just finished my probation on a new job analyzing data using Python :))))) Great Thanks to Charles Russell Severance! Thank you for making it super easy and fun to learn Python :)

By Rehan K

Mar 26, 2021

that was a great experience for me. i've learned how to intract with internet using python in this course and much more about python. And Dr chuck is great teacher Thanks to him and thank you coursera to providing me such a great course.

By MARINA G

Jan 4, 2021

It was a great course, somewhat more difficult than the previous ones in Python for everybody, but this is what gives the feeling of making progress! Very helpful videos and challenging assignments. I totally recommend it for beginners!

By Christopher R

Feb 1, 2017

Such a great course! I've used BeautifulSoup an JSON a lot while scraping the web and this was a nice foundation refresher. It also taught me coding conventions and I didn't realize I needed! Like properly encoding URL parameters to APIs

By Raman K

Jan 22, 2016

Awesome!!! I cannot believe that only a few weeks ago, I was an absolute novice, and now I am able to dig deep into live websites, drill deep, and extract specific information! Dr. Chuck is one of the best instructors I have ever seen!!!

By AB. M F R

Sep 20, 2020

This course showed me how Python is very useful while surfing the internet. It really helped me to think outside the box. I didn't imagined a programming language could read web data so easily and shows me what I want. Thanks Dr. Chuck.

By YANG J

Jun 17, 2020

Great course and very inspiring on networking basics. Hope to learn more about Python. A little suggestion is that you can make week 1, which is about installing Python, optional since most of us have already had Python on our computer.

By Sarvjeet S

Jun 12, 2020

This was a great course, well structured , well explained as Dr Chuck is a self explained teacher with very effective methods. The Bonus material was fascinating. Assignments were also a bit simple and well guided. So, All the best !

By Abhishek J

Jul 11, 2020

I really admire and love the way Dr. Charles teaches this course. I can immediately sense that he loves teaching us and his way is very interesting and makes us like Python even more.

It is an honour to be able to learn from you Sir! :)

By Subham R

Feb 17, 2020

This course was simply amazing, I didn't know that python too has simple and powerful libraries like this to make rest call and access web data. Learned a lot of new things, thanks to Dr. Chuck. Highly recommended for python beginners.