Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,238 ratings
7,513 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 7,399 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Tatiana B

Nov 20, 2018

Really liked the course and Dr. Chuck - he is amazing ! cool to know a bit about how google is built up and how googlemaps work. I liked it a lot ! Super glad i signed up, only one course left - data visualization!

=^.^=

By Stefano G

Aug 15, 2018

Thank you, prof. Charles Severance.

You have made complex concepts simple and easy to understand. You have the great merit of presenting the essential parts of the subject, as Douglas Crockford teaches: "The Good Parts".

By Natalia L

Jan 20, 2017

Easy to understand yet very useful course. Each module starts with the basics making it look easy. The assignments are very useful and lets you play with the code to do more than what is asked. Really enjoyed this course!

By Marjan A

Dec 28, 2016

The best instructor I had my entire life. I have taken numerous Python courses BUT Dr. Chuck just blows away any other courses available anywhere with his quality, simplicity and clarity of teaching. His style is UNIQUE.

By Akshay A

Nov 3, 2015

Really amazing Teacher. Breaks down the concept so well even noobs can understand it.

Loved the course :) If you are an intermediate programmer still doing command line input output, you should definitely take this course.

By Giannis M

Jan 11, 2021

It is much more confusing than the previous courses, the asignments are a bit messy and I had to turn for help in the forums. But overall I learned a lot and I definetely recommend it, as dr Chuck is an excellent teacher

By Michael D

Dec 12, 2020

This class was excellent, but I had to take it two times to feel like I was approaching understanding what was going on. Maybe a few more lessons to break the information up a bit more. Overall, great. Thanks, Dr. Chuck.

By Shivam K

Jul 14, 2020

Great Course for clearing the basics of web scrapping. Its a must for beginners course. After completing this course you can clear your basics and can go for some other more detailed course on Web scrapping using python.

By Juan J C

Mar 3, 2016

Grateful about taking this course and getting familiar with the hows of accessing web data and using web APIs. Clear explanation about essentials of SOA and how Python easily manages data serialization with JSON and XML

By ANGEL A R V

Aug 3, 2020

Highly recommended for people that want to go deeper in Python, the test were a bit challenging for me, so Im happy of going throught them. Good class to keep learning how to program from the bottom. Thank you Dr Chuck.

By Kardam R J

Jul 12, 2020

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. i enjoy this course Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

By Arifin O

Oct 13, 2017

Dr Charles Severance gave me a good grounding in Python, and I still reference it even after I have completed the program.

Thank you Sir!

Do come around to Singapore and South East Asia, I am sure you many students there!

By Daniel A S E

Dec 31, 2016

Clear structured delivery of the content, good examples, including a necessary dive into the technical foundations of internet communication. Definitely an inspiring course to continue learning about this topic further,

By Eugenio M L

Mar 26, 2020

Great course. Dr. Chuck does an amazing job at teaching this course. A great follow up to the previous two courses from the Python for everybody specialization. Assignments in this course are very rewarding challenges.

By Arthur M

Oct 7, 2018

Dr Chuck presents the very essence of python and makes it easy to learn. The course covers a diverse breadth of topics such that I can write my own code to access web data of my choice.

Strongly recommend this course.

By Vincent A

Dec 13, 2017

The material presented here is simple and great for those with no prior programming knowledge. Dr Chuck also makes available some great codes which you could tweaK along as you see fit for your use.

Great work Dr Chuck.

By GloryTang

Aug 16, 2017

The contents are simple and clear enough for python beginners. Dr. Charles is a patient and gentle teacher with a low but comfortable voice. I've learned how to access internet data with python. Thank you, Mr. Charles.

By Mavis M

Aug 5, 2021

The course is delivered in a very clear and direct way, through useful example, so one can master related content very quickly. I am very appreciate for all the effort Dr. chuck and the school have made. Great Thanks!

By 김진환

Oct 18, 2020

Awesome to learn "Access Web Data with Python", However this course also contains little bit deep introduction for "Network / Web Systems" which is good to know but not necessary. Anyway I learned many wisdoms. Thanks

By PRATYASHA S

May 31, 2020

This course was very helpful for me to have a very good grasp over Python programming. Prof. Chuck is indeed a great teacher helping students to learn from scratch. I am glad I have successfully completed this course.

By Сетдеков К Р

Apr 20, 2020

Great class to further the knowledge about how to interact with the web using python. One negative is that there are still twitter examples that are not relevant now (twitter API is not open to join for simple users).

By Stefan Y S

Nov 1, 2018

Excellent course, teaches you the basics of communicating with the web, reading HTML and then parsing xml and json files (and of course what those files are to begin with). Amazing how well Dr Chuck explains it all...

By Гребенкин А Ю

Sep 8, 2017

Greate course! I enjoy it! It is course very adopted for beginner. I strongly recommend it. Hopefully next course will be similar interesting. P.S. dr.Chuck could you talk more slowly especially for foreign students )

By Christopher C

Apr 16, 2020

I love the course even if it's so hard. Notice for future learners: This course is a bit heavy for those who don't know HTML , or any web development like JSON, and sockets. This course was excellent , more detailed.

By Aman T

Mar 14, 2020

This is the best course to learn more about python programming as general. Also Assignments were very good and you will learn lots of things like web scraping,api,socket etc. I highly recommend this course to anyone.